Like Tree1Likes

Xray T3 2012

Old 09-07-2012, 04:40 PM
  #3676  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
mikel33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,597
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Default

Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
That mount is a piece of s***. Save your money for the T3'13 where they got it right with two inner holes.
May I politely ask why it is a POS? I have had no issues whatsoever with mine.
mikel33 is offline  
Old 09-07-2012, 04:45 PM
  #3677  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,271
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

It pretty easily moves by several mm even when it's tight. The single hole for the inside mount isn't adequate, which is why you see the T3'13 prototypes and other companies going with two holes along the centerline for the mount.

I've gone back to using the inside mount and shoe goo which has been great.
syndr0me is offline  
Old 09-07-2012, 04:47 PM
  #3678  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Jon Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,753
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
It pretty easily moves by several mm even when it's tight. The single hole for the inside mount isn't adequate, which is why you see the T3'13 prototypes and other companies going with two holes along the centerline for the mount.

I've gone back to using the inside mount and shoe goo which has been great.
^^This.
Jon Williams is offline  
Old 09-09-2012, 07:10 PM
  #3679  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (49)
 
haywood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,871
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default Spool vs. Gear Diff

Anyone running a gear diff in the front on carpet in blinkey 17.5? I'm guessing the spool is the most popular choice. If so what are you running in it?
haywood is offline  
Old 09-09-2012, 07:26 PM
  #3680  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
mikel33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,597
Trader Rating: 2 (75%+)
Default

Originally Posted by haywood View Post
Anyone running a gear diff in the front on carpet in blinkey 17.5? I'm guessing the spool is the most popular choice. If so what are you running in it?
600K. After a fair bit of back and forth, the spool works better for me. Others may feel differently.
mikel33 is offline  
Old 09-09-2012, 07:29 PM
  #3681  
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,664
Default

Originally Posted by haywood View Post
Anyone running a gear diff in the front on carpet in blinkey 17.5? I'm guessing the spool is the most popular choice. If so what are you running in it?
Traxxas 500K diff lube (easiest to find for me). You almost need to fill the diff completely, otherwise the diff action won't be consistent. Some guys use gray cleaning putty, while others use a foam earplug.
CarbonJoe is offline  
Old 09-09-2012, 08:34 PM
  #3682  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (20)
 
stro3579's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Chicago/Alabama
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
That mount is a piece of s***. Save your money for the T3'13 where they got it right with two inner holes.

I didn't want to say that, that's why I said Shoe Goo it. I wish I never cut my tab.
stro3579 is offline  
Old 09-09-2012, 08:35 PM
  #3683  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (20)
 
stro3579's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Chicago/Alabama
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
It pretty easily moves by several mm even when it's tight. The single hole for the inside mount isn't adequate, which is why you see the T3'13 prototypes and other companies going with two holes along the centerline for the mount.

I've gone back to using the inside mount and shoe goo which has been great.
I agree.
stro3579 is offline  
Old 09-09-2012, 09:23 PM
  #3684  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
B00t13g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,041
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Servo tape is working just fine for me and all of the abuse I dished out this weekend, the rest of the car didn't fair as well...
B00t13g is offline  
Old 09-09-2012, 09:24 PM
  #3685  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
B00t13g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,041
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by haywood View Post
Anyone running a gear diff in the front on carpet in blinkey 17.5? I'm guessing the spool is the most popular choice. If so what are you running in it?
On carpet a spool works better. I ran a gear diff up front with putty.
B00t13g is offline  
Old 09-10-2012, 11:24 AM
  #3686  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 421
Default

Originally Posted by B00t13g View Post
On carpet a spool works better. I ran a gear diff up front with putty.
I would agree with this most of the time.

I was a big advocate of the gear diff in the front, the mechanics behind it just make so much more sense than a spool.

However, on most tracks a spool still is slightly quicker and slightly easier to drive.

I do find it is track specific though, if you need more initial steering on a very tight track, a gear diff will be quicker.

Bare in mind that i run either 13.5t or 10.5t boosted. In 17.5t blinky, a gear diff may give even more benefits.
Mb3195 is offline  
Old 09-10-2012, 04:03 PM
  #3687  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 282
Default

Originally Posted by FLAT OUT View Post
Are they any shock pistons from other manufactures that fit the alloy shock body, Also has any one tried using different shock o rings for the bottom of the shocks. I just tried some much more shock o rings and they were to small and let air in.
Anyone ???
FLAT OUT is offline  
Old 09-10-2012, 04:12 PM
  #3688  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
NolanP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Westmont
Posts: 2,433
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by FLAT OUT View Post
Anyone ???
Why if you don't mind me asking are you trying to change the piston's? I have heard of people adding holes or making them bigger etc. But most people just run the 3 hole piston.

Same concept are you refering to the price of said product or just cause you don't want to run Xray o-rings?
NolanP is offline  
Old 09-10-2012, 04:25 PM
  #3689  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 282
Default

Originally Posted by NolanP View Post
Why if you don't mind me asking are you trying to change the piston's? I have heard of people adding holes or making them bigger etc. But most people just run the 3 hole piston.

Same concept are you refering to the price of said product or just cause you don't want to run Xray o-rings?
The xray pistons come attached to a plastic frame, you have to use a sharp blade to remove them which generally leaves the edge of the piston a bit rough. this effects how the piston moves in the shock body. Im after a piston that comes loose and does not need to be removed from a plastic frame. I know alot of xray team drivers where I race change the o rings, personal choice I guess.
FLAT OUT is offline  
Old 09-10-2012, 04:27 PM
  #3690  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
NolanP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Westmont
Posts: 2,433
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by FLAT OUT View Post
The xray pistons come attached to a plastic frame, you have to use a sharp blade to remove them which generally leaves the edge of the piston a bit rough. this effects how the piston moves in the shock body. Im after a piston that comes loose and does not need to be removed from a plastic frame. I know alot of xray team drivers where I race change the o rings, personal choice I guess.
Most people I have known just use a little sand paper.

As for the o-rings I used the stock ones thats what Paul told me to use.
NolanP is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.