Like Tree1Likes

Xray T3 2012

Old 04-26-2012, 05:41 PM
  #2311  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (20)
 
stro3579's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Chicago/Alabama
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by EAMotorsports View Post
I think the new design that is coming out is great. I think more will be doing something similar too.

To me the serpent one sucks because you cant even use a servo saver for those that want one. Just my opinion.

The new Yokomo only comes with one servo mount for the inside and servo tape as your using. So there is nothing wrong with that method either as it allows flex too.

EA

Why wouldn't you use both mounting post on servo? What happens when using servo tape and just using one post?
stro3579 is offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 05:57 PM
  #2312  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,271
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

The nub drags on the ground and makes cars unstable in the sweeper if you don't take a perfect line. I cut mine off after arguing against this for a while and it was true. The car is better without it. I'm using shoe goo and the inside mount until XRay releases the new piece.
syndr0me is offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 05:57 PM
  #2313  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (77)
 
artwork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Thornton, CO
Posts: 3,310
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by stro3579 View Post
Why wouldn't you use both mounting post on servo? What happens when using servo tape and just using one post?
If you cut off the nub you cannot use the other post. Servo tape works well to keep the servo from twisting.
artwork is offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 06:38 PM
  #2314  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (20)
 
stro3579's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Chicago/Alabama
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
The nub drags on the ground and makes cars unstable in the sweeper if you don't take a perfect line. I cut mine off after arguing against this for a while and it was true. The car is better without it. I'm using shoe goo and the inside mount until XRay releases the new piece.
Thanks, after observing my car really good. I can see where it has touch the carpet. I will cut mines as well. How are you gonna get the shoe goo off your chassis?
stro3579 is offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 06:45 PM
  #2315  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,271
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by stro3579 View Post
Thanks, after observing my car really good. I can see where it has touch the carpet. I will cut mines as well. How are you gonna get the shoe goo off your chassis?
Kung-fu grip.
syndr0me is offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 06:46 PM
  #2316  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,271
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

I wouldn't say cutting it is crucial, it's not a life changing difference, and it may very well not be a big deal on your track.
syndr0me is offline  
Old 04-26-2012, 06:50 PM
  #2317  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (28)
 
hanulec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: @ the post office
Posts: 9,725
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
I wouldn't say cutting it is crucial, it's not a life changing difference, and it may very well not be a big deal on your track.
BUT you won't know until you try
hanulec is offline  
Old 04-27-2012, 12:06 PM
  #2318  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (91)
 
dr_hfuhuhurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,787
Trader Rating: 91 (100%+)
Default

Can someone post some pics of their anti-tuck solutions? Rebuilding my T3 '12 after the season here ended and have changed a few things around. Want to make sure I put something in place to prevent tuckage...Lost a TON of time in my last main with a body tuck (and a marshall that wasn't paying attention).
dr_hfuhuhurr is offline  
Old 04-27-2012, 12:55 PM
  #2319  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (29)
 
R3VoLuTiOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2,705
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

cut the wheel wells so there's 3-5 mm body clearance to the left and right of the tire.

then put your body clips 1 hole above where they would be snug on the body.

lastly, don't hit anything
R3VoLuTiOn is offline  
Old 04-27-2012, 07:44 PM
  #2320  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (91)
 
dr_hfuhuhurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,787
Trader Rating: 91 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by R3VoLuTiOn View Post
cut the wheel wells so there's 3-5 mm body clearance to the left and right of the tire.

then put your body clips 1 hole above where they would be snug on the body.

lastly, don't hit anything
I have the wheel wells trimmed properly. Will try the loose body posts. I didn't hit anything. Got tagged in the rear by another racer.
dr_hfuhuhurr is offline  
Old 04-29-2012, 03:45 AM
  #2321  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (65)
 
Jamison R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: VA Beach
Posts: 3,589
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

Will the 50mm ecs driveshafts work on the stock spool? Or do I need to shim the outdrives? I have read people buying different outdrives and using a shim.
Jamison R is offline  
Old 04-29-2012, 06:13 AM
  #2322  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (23)
 
Bigz84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 996
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jamison R View Post
Will the 50mm ecs driveshafts work on the stock spool? Or do I need to shim the outdrives? I have read people buying different outdrives and using a shim.
Yes it will work, but w/ the composite outdrives, they tend to break in a heavy hit because the shaft is not far enough in the outdrive. I did shim the outdrive 1mm out and that helped solve that issue. Hope that helps.
Bigz84 is offline  
Old 04-29-2012, 06:15 AM
  #2323  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
ByteStream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 1,146
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jamison R View Post
Will the 50mm ecs driveshafts work on the stock spool? Or do I need to shim the outdrives? I have read people buying different outdrives and using a shim.
You need to shim out the plastic outdrives, or you can get aftermarket ones that are a direct replacement i.e Nikita Outdrives.
ByteStream is offline  
Old 04-29-2012, 07:07 AM
  #2324  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (65)
 
Jamison R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: VA Beach
Posts: 3,589
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ByteStream View Post
You need to shim out the plastic outdrives, or you can get aftermarket ones that are a direct replacement i.e Nikita Outdrives.
You have to use the plastic driveshaft pieces when you switch to aftermarket correct?
Jamison R is offline  
Old 04-29-2012, 08:00 AM
  #2325  
Tech Elite
 
R Dodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,860
Default

Originally Posted by Jamison R View Post
You have to use the plastic driveshaft pieces when you switch to aftermarket correct?
Correct
R Dodge is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.