Like Tree1Likes

Xray T3 2012

Old 03-16-2012, 11:34 AM
  #1861  
Tech Master
iTrader: (39)
 
gonzo416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,938
Trader Rating: 39 (98%+)
Default

Thanks
gonzo416 is offline  
Old 03-16-2012, 11:45 AM
  #1862  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (85)
 
entitymugenmtx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northridge ca
Posts: 2,248
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by DOTMAN View Post
speedtechrc sells it and servo connectors and pins
If you can't wait there is always ebay.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Hobby-Connec...item20ba67bd47
entitymugenmtx is offline  
Old 03-16-2012, 01:43 PM
  #1863  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 388
Default Drive shaft replacement plastic caps #305241

On page 17 of the manual it says:"DO NOT use the plastic caps with composite solid axle included in the kit. The new #305241 3.5mm plastic caps are for use ONLY with GEAR diffs, ALU ball diffs, or the XRAY Multi-Diff."

How weard is that?! So in the kit are plastic caps that you can't use!
So which plastic caps do you have to use, what is the partnumber and why are they not in the kit?!
Kensei is offline  
Old 03-16-2012, 01:49 PM
  #1864  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
Xpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Onroad Bermuda Triangle...
Posts: 1,747
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kensei View Post
On page 17 of the manual it says:"DO NOT use the plastic caps with composite solid axle included in the kit. The new #305241 3.5mm plastic caps are for use ONLY with GEAR diffs, ALU ball diffs, or the XRAY Multi-Diff."

How weard is that?! So in the kit are plastic caps that you can't use!
So which plastic caps do you have to use, what is the partnumber and why are they not in the kit?!
The factory spool cups accept the axle drive pin without a blade.
Xpress is offline  
Old 03-16-2012, 02:09 PM
  #1865  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 388
Default

Another question:
is "308019 Set of Shock Shims & Nuts" in the kit?

Any preferences as to what servo to use in T3'12 in combo with Sanwa MT-4?
Was thinking of Futaba BLS551.
Kensei is offline  
Old 03-16-2012, 02:12 PM
  #1866  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 388
Default

Originally Posted by Xpress View Post
The factory spool cups accept the axle drive pin without a blade.
Okidoki.

Also when using optional ECS Drive Shafts?
Kensei is offline  
Old 03-16-2012, 02:34 PM
  #1867  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wollongong Australia
Posts: 209
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

.

Last edited by Team_Krusty; 03-16-2012 at 03:59 PM. Reason: misunderstood the question being asked
Team_Krusty is offline  
Old 03-16-2012, 02:44 PM
  #1868  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
Xpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Onroad Bermuda Triangle...
Posts: 1,747
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kensei View Post
Okidoki.

Also when using optional ECS Drive Shafts?
Yes. With the stock spool outdrives you do not use driveshaft "blades." If you would prefer to use blades on the front driveshafts you will need to purchase the optional alloy or steel spool outdrives.
Xpress is offline  
Old 03-16-2012, 04:53 PM
  #1869  
Tech Fanatic
 
UrabusDenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 983
Default

Originally Posted by Xpress View Post
Yes. With the stock spool outdrives you do not use driveshaft "blades." If you would prefer to use blades on the front driveshafts you will need to purchase the optional alloy or steel spool outdrives.
Do blades have to be used with alloy outdrive spool?
UrabusDenis is offline  
Old 03-16-2012, 05:24 PM
  #1870  
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,917
Default

Originally Posted by UrabusDenis View Post
Do blades have to be used with alloy outdrive spool?
Yes, all the other outdrives use the blades.
Skiddins is offline  
Old 03-16-2012, 05:25 PM
  #1871  
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,917
Default

Originally Posted by Kensei View Post
How weard is that?! So in the kit are plastic caps that you can't use!
The same blades are used on the rear driveshafts for the gear diff
Skiddins is offline  
Old 03-17-2012, 01:29 AM
  #1872  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (85)
 
entitymugenmtx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northridge ca
Posts: 2,248
Trader Rating: 85 (100%+)
Default

New wire job

Last edited by entitymugenmtx; 03-18-2012 at 09:39 PM.
entitymugenmtx is offline  
Old 03-17-2012, 11:16 AM
  #1873  
Tech Fanatic
 
UrabusDenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 983
Default

Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
Yes, all the other outdrives use the blades.
I have my shafts without blades on alloy R1wurks spool outdrives and they are working without problems. However I respect you very much as a poster on this thread so I will put blades (I received a replacement set today) . My question is, why do they have to be used? Is it because of metal/metal contact or too much play?

Also, I'd like some simple set up changes to increase on-throttle control? Softer springs maybe?
UrabusDenis is offline  
Old 03-17-2012, 12:06 PM
  #1874  
Tech Master
 
Essnowyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Somewhere Strange Wisconsin!
Posts: 1,676
Default

Originally Posted by UrabusDenis View Post
My question is, why do they have to be used? Is it because of metal/metal contact or too much play?
The blades are used to protect the expensive turned steel/aluminum parts. You can drive with out them, but you are slowing going to wear the metal out drive cups. The plastic blade acts as shock/buffer in the drive line. They are, "Consumable" as they do wear. Replacing a $5.00 set of plastic blades is much better then sloppy worn out steel/aluminum drive cups.

In the past I had a hot bodies cyclone hara edition and it had the V2 steel front out drives on the one way. The cyclone did not use blades. After a year of racing they were shoot. You would hear honorable noises from the front of the car. This was not the CVDs, but the drive cups. Handling was significantly effected too. When I tried to replace the drive cups, no US distributor had the V2 drives in their inventory or even their parts id. No body knew about the V2 drives parts.

Moral of my story; If you can use blades, do so!

Snowy.
Essnowyt is offline  
Old 03-17-2012, 05:07 PM
  #1875  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,621
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

How often do you guys rebuild your ECS shafts?
theatriks is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.