R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-17-2004, 11:28 PM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
MO3 TRF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Victoria
Posts: 38
Default amb transponders

Does anyone know the weight of the amb transponders?(not the personal one)
MO3 TRF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 09:33 AM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Iceland
Posts: 588
Default

This is from the Amb website.

AMBrc Rechargeable Transponder
Dimensions: 35 x 31 x 12 mm,
1.4 x 1.2 x 0.5 in
Weight : 22 g, .08 oz
Temperature range: 0-50 C, 32-122 F
Battery life: min. 18 hours when fully charged
Charge indicator: LED
Humidity: max. 100% relative
Signal transfer: magnetic induction

AMBrc Direct Powered Transponder
Dimensions: 22 x 28 x 7 mm,
0.9 x 1.0 x 0.3 in
Weight: 6 g, 0.2 oz
Temperature range: 0-50 C, 32-122 F
Humidity: max. 100% relative
Signal transfer: magnetic induction
Power feed: from a free receiver channel (ch3 or batt)
Connection Plug: Standard servo plug
Operating Time: Active while external power applied
Power consumption: < 10mA
Operating voltage: 4-8 VDC
andsetinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 11:01 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

LOL...there must be a typo, the handout transponder is heavier in grams, but lighter in imperial units.

I guess it's better to use the track transponders in the US or UK...not so good in Japan, eh?
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 12:37 PM   #4
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: GV
Posts: 62
Default

Are they still imperial in the UK??

It says AMBrc direct powered transponder operating voltage is 4-8 VDC what happens if it falls below this when batts dump etc? I was thinking of buying one but heard there can be problems???
ProMaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 12:45 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,859
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to brians11
Default

Well, if your battery dumps, you prolly aren't going fast enough to be too worried about it counting... atleast thats my experience... when you dump, its a wasted run..
__________________
Team Tekin | Superiorhobbies.com
brians11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 01:48 PM   #6
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: GV
Posts: 62
Default

oh i guess yur right or was it the ESC BEC/acceleration = v.drop? somethin g like that
ProMaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 03:37 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 238
Send a message via AIM to galway
Default

I have never seen anyone have problems with counting in cars that are dumping. I have seen many 4 cell 1/12th scales limp across the line and it counted just fine.
galway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 04:19 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
timmay70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,701
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Partially O.T... My local track owners t4 will start intermittantly counting at the 2 mintue mark. We figured out that the loop is placed so close to the last turn onto the straight that he is at full accelleration. The transponder at that point has so little voltage that it will not operate. He is solving that problem by expanding the track about 25' further... He sent back one transponder because he thought it was faulty. Nobody else seems to have that problem.
__________________
Speed Merchant Rev7, Tekin, TQ Racing (wire), Team Tamale
RC Excitement - Buy where you race, support your local tracks.
ROAR #105242
timmay70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 04:42 PM   #9
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: GV
Posts: 62
Default

Seems like theres some problems with personal transponders, or the some ESC/servo issues etc

found it here

http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthre...uantum+problem

guess its what I was told about.
ProMaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 10:36 PM   #10
Tech Initiate
 
MO3 TRF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Victoria
Posts: 38
Default

Thanks guys for the help!
MO3 TRF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for (2) AMB Transponders BSchorr R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 9 09-22-2008 01:55 AM
WTS : 2 AMB Transponders! PoLsKiE R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 06-29-2008 12:09 PM
@@@ Transponders @@@ B4 Australia For Sale/Trade 1 03-04-2008 03:13 AM
WTB:AMB Transponders PeterR Australia Wanted to Buy 0 01-04-2008 09:19 PM
transponders kh15 Racing Forum 9 10-20-2004 09:35 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:36 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net