R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-31-2002, 02:21 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default Too much motor burn in?

I've ran in my P2K for about an hour after new brushes/comm truing. That much time was needed, to get rid of most of the serration. Normally, I only run it in for about 3-6 minutes, but I thought it was the best that the brush surface was without serrations.

After only 13 runs/batts, the motor performs real bad and sometimes even wont run. Normally this motor runs 20-25 batts, and then it's not that worse.

Springs and brushes are the standard ones.

Is it because of too much motor burn in?
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2002, 09:52 AM   #2
Tech Regular
 
ausracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 276
Default

an hour of run in is way too long. the serations are there so you dont have to run in the motor for very long. another reason for the serrations is so the motor has more torque. i run a p2k and clean the comm and brushes after every run with a comm stick and true the comm and buy new brushes after 10 runs. you shouls true the comm and buy new brushes and this time run the motor in for a lot shorter time. you should also be running comm drops especialy whilst running it in.
ausracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2002, 10:00 AM   #3
Tech Champion
 
rayhuang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Posts: 6,511
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rayhuang
Arrow No-way!!!

Cole,

An hour??? Wow!! I think thats about 59 minutes and 30 seconds too long
At club races-I cut the Comm, put in new brushes, seat them for about 30 seconds at 1 amp, pour Zubie drops all over them and run them about two runs, then recut comm and run one or two times more!! At a big race I do a very lengthy motor rebuild and break in, but even thats ONLY 3 minutes at 3 amps break in. I'll run the motor twice with a set of brushes and thats it!! At last years champs-I built motors for one run!!!
Those serrations are a good thing. I usually replace brushes when they are gone!!

Hope that helps.
Ray
rayhuang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2002, 10:34 AM   #4
Super Moderator
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,498
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

The serrations were first marketed as a help in reducing the breakin time for the brushes. Then people found out that the motor actually performs better with them. So think of the serrations as your friend.
__________________
There is great need for a sarcasm font.

You never know when it will strike, but there comes a moment at work when you know that you just aren't going to do anything productive for the rest of the day.

Sometimes I post just to look at my avatar.
Kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2002, 09:44 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Kenyon, MN
Posts: 716
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

usually I cut my comm and change brushes in a stock motor every 10-12 runs or so. At big races I do it every 2-3 runs though. For breakin, I just run it at 2-3 amps for 3-4 minutes with a fan on it, to add a little load and to cool itself.
JeffC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2002, 12:36 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,117
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

at what volts do you break-in your motors? im not sure about the "amps" value, i usually break-in at 4 volts for about 2 minutes. is that ok?
marvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2002, 09:00 AM   #7
Tech Regular
 
ausracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 276
Default

i break my motor in with a 3 cell pack for 1 minute. i put two drops of comm drops on, run the motor for 30 secs then put 2 more drops on and run it for another 30 secs. this works well for me but everyone has there own way of doing things so some people might do it for more or less time.
ausracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2002, 10:51 AM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Kenyon, MN
Posts: 716
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

oops, meant to say I break mine in at 2-3 volts, not amps.
JeffC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2002, 10:52 AM   #9
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Kenyon, MN
Posts: 716
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Sometimes I don't do any break-in though, depends on if I have time or not. But, if I'm using 767 brushes, I hate not breaking it in because the brushes seem to hang up sometimes if they're not broken in somewhat, I haven't had that problem with any other brush.
JeffC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motor Burn Out B4Bandit Electric Off-Road 3 04-18-2007 09:42 AM
Motor Burn Out B4Bandit Electric On-Road 4 04-13-2007 07:13 AM
Burn Rubber? BayArea101 Electric On-Road 15 01-22-2007 05:22 PM
Almost burn myself BBSGS4 Electric On-Road 11 06-26-2004 06:40 PM
lrp v7.1 burn up monsooni1 Racing Forum 8 01-17-2002 03:40 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:57 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net