Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Motor Question

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2004, 08:11 AM
Tech Apprentice

Default Motor Question

Hey guys...yep, Im a newbie (but have lurked these boards for a very long time). Got a motor question for you guys...

Me and some friends club race out of our garage. We built a short bullring tri-oval on smooth, flat concrete. We all run 4WD cars and I have a TC3. (we have 5 TC3s, 2 XXX-S, and 2 T-Specs). I am still running the original stock Power19 motor with Epic3000 mhz packs. Im up against two Chameleon2's , a Reedy Quad Mag, a Trinity 19T Outlaw and ---get this---one of those old Parental Advisory Trinity Spec Motors from about '95. The rest of the guys run stock motors too. We have a 19 turn motor rule with about a $35 dolloar limit. (no more than $40 with a good argument lol)

Im running a 78T/15T spur/pinion setup on stock tires. Im ready to scrap the Power19, and im looking at the Orion Element. Have any of you run this motor and is it any good ? Ive read alot about it and the price/spec wise its just what I need. Im assuming it would have more punch than the Power19...Any info would help. Thanks guys.
Old 11-18-2004, 09:15 AM
Tech Apprentice

bump
Old 11-18-2004, 10:12 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

Get Reedy Quad mag....and if you can sneak over that limit, get one with a handwound armature....

I sell the quad mags for $40 and upgrade the armature to a handwound for an additional $15...

Later EddieO
Old 11-18-2004, 10:19 AM
Tech Fanatic

Why are you trying to get the guy to cheat?

The Element is a good motor. I don't know the size of your track so I can't tell you how to gear it. Start with the gear you have but I think you will need to go bigger.
Old 11-18-2004, 10:51 AM
Tech Master

yeah seriously dont ask people to sneak things in and cheat thats just dumb, they put a cap on how much motors can cost for a reason
Old 11-18-2004, 11:32 AM
Tech Apprentice

Default Track/Gear