R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-15-2011, 01:12 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 217
Default Anything wrong with using 14AWG wire for 13.5t?

I see speedos that will run all the way down to a 3.5t motor with 12awg gauge wire and was wondering if i would be losing anything noticeable running 13.5t with 14awg gauge? Its just so much easier to route around belts and bend tidily.
YZFAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 01:48 PM   #2
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Suffolk, England
Posts: 184
Default

Nope
scoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 04:52 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,760
Default

I ran 16awg when I was using a 10.5.

The wire never got warm so i know it wasn't creating any extra resistance.
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 06:33 PM   #4
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,240
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The Novak Gtb comes with 14Awg wires and runs my 3.5t without any issues at all !!!
bertrandsv87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 06:52 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
Infinite 12th's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: California
Posts: 877
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bertrandsv87 View Post
The Novak Gtb comes with 14Awg wires and runs my 3.5t without any issues at all !!!
Yea why dudes run that big ass wire with brushless 12th especially?

Are they underweight...lol
__________________
12th scale - The Jedi class...
Infinite 12th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 10:00 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 276
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infinite 12th View Post
Yea why dudes run that big ass wire with brushless 12th especially?

Are they underweight...lol
Haha, yes. I use 14awg in my 1/12 with 3.5T motor. No problem and much smoother rear end. lol
__________________
http://www.gpm-parts.com
gpm-parts.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 10:07 PM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
ohh EPiC FAiL's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: KCMO
Posts: 983
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

i have a 1/8 e-truggy that i run strictly on 6s, i'm using 14 AWG wires with no problems
__________________
TEAM FEARLESS RACING
I Race: Losi 8ight-E 2.0
I Crawl: XR10(almost VP10)
I Support: Futaba--Holmes Hobbies--Savox--Castle Creations--Tekin
ohh EPiC FAiL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 10:14 PM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
Infinite 12th's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: California
Posts: 877
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpm-parts.com View Post
Haha, yes. I use 14awg in my 1/12 with 3.5T motor. No problem and much smoother rear end. lol
lol...He said smooth rear end *Beavis*
__________________
12th scale - The Jedi class...
Infinite 12th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 10:22 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,935
Default

It is probably not noticeable but low-resistance wiring (short as possible, wire size, etc) is one of the the long list of little things that when added together can make a big difference in the limited motor classes. For me big = .1/lap.
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:02 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net