Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Battery discharge characteristics......

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2004, 12:28 AM
Tech Master

Battery discharge characteristics......

Ok I've started cycling my ni-cad batteries (sports packs) on a discharger and I've noticed something already that I'm curious about.

Most of the ones I've done so far reach a voltage of approx 6.5 then speed up the descent quite rapidly (but still steady pace) from there down to the 5 volts where I unplug them.

BUT one pack discharged down to 6.5 then dropped almost instantly (less than a second) down to 5.3 volts and spent the last 30 seconds getting down to 5v.

These are all new packs and as I'm new to the whole cycling side of things (I used to just charge and go so to speak) I wonder is this pack the odd one out in a good way or is it stuffed already?

Thanks in advance.
Old 11-15-2004, 01:51 AM
Tech Elite

This one pack, for how long was it discharged before it dropped? At which discharge rate? Souns like this pack contains a cell with mare capasity then the others, that is, the other 5 dump, and then the last cell keep up the voltage a little longer. That's not good, because this inconsistensy will get worse over time, since the lower capasity cells are overdischarged and the last cell probably is over-charged.

If you can discharge cells indivdually, you can identify this particular cell.
Old 11-15-2004, 02:00 AM
Tech Master

Default Lets see if I can fill in all the gaps....

Originally posted by Cole Trickle
This one pack, for how long was it discharged before it dropped? At which discharge rate? Souns like this pack contains a cell with mare capasity then the others, that is, the other 5 dump, and then the last cell keep up the voltage a little longer. That's not good, because this inconsistensy will get worse over time, since the lower capasity cells are overdischarged and the last cell probably is over-charged.