Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya 1/12 R/C RM-01 "Racing Master" >

Tamiya 1/12 R/C RM-01 "Racing Master"

Like Tree6Likes

Tamiya 1/12 R/C RM-01 "Racing Master"

Old 07-22-2014, 10:37 PM
  #1051  
Tech Adept
 
Clawhammers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 192
Default

Hi

I just read the manual of RM01X and found out that Tamiya advised to create a very small hole (1mm) in the damper.






Is this mandatory to make such holes ?

Why would Tamiya suggested this for RM-01X ?

Because I couldn't find any additional reference / useful info in the manual.
Clawhammers is offline  
Old 07-23-2014, 12:16 AM
  #1052  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (34)
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Clawhammers View Post
Hi

I just read the manual of RM01X and found out that Tamiya advised to create a very small hole (1mm) in the damper.

Is this mandatory to make such holes ?

Why would Tamiya suggested this for RM-01X ?

Because I couldn't find any additional reference / useful info in the manual.
Yes, this is mandatory for the aluminum pitch damper, as the direction indicates
It is the same info you would have if you had purchased the damper as a hop-up
RedBullFiXX is offline  
Old 07-23-2014, 02:16 AM
  #1053  
Tech Apprentice
 
Paul Lomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Buxton UK
Posts: 51
Default

Originally Posted by Clawhammers View Post
Hi

I just read the manual of RM01X and found out that Tamiya advised to create a very small hole (1mm) in the damper.






Is this mandatory to make such holes ?

Why would Tamiya suggested this for RM-01X ?

Because I couldn't find any additional reference / useful info in the manual.
The hole is to allow the air to escape as the shock shaft pushes into the cap under compression. If you don't do this, then air pressure builds up and you have some rebound in the shock. If you are using it across the car to control roll, it will give uneven damping from side to side, unless you drill the hole.

I currently don't drill a hole for the pitch damper, but have found if I hit something hard, the cap blows off the top of the damper. I'm about to replace the cap, and will be drilling it to see if it was the sudden pressure build up that was blowing it off.
Paul Lomas is offline  
Old 07-23-2014, 07:14 AM
  #1054  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (34)
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Cool

For me, a damper does damping only
Springs hold the car up
If you don't drill as suggested, the damper becomes an uncontrolled spring
Not to mention, much more fragile from impacts
RedBullFiXX is offline  
Old 07-23-2014, 10:39 AM
  #1055  
Tech Adept
 
Clawhammers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 192
Default

Originally Posted by Paul Lomas View Post
The hole is to allow the air to escape as the shock shaft pushes into the cap under compression. If you don't do this, then air pressure builds up and you have some rebound in the shock. If you are using it across the car to control roll, it will give uneven damping from side to side, unless you drill the hole.

I currently don't drill a hole for the pitch damper, but have found if I hit something hard, the cap blows off the top of the damper. I'm about to replace the cap, and will be drilling it to see if it was the sudden pressure build up that was blowing it off.

Originally Posted by RedBullFiXX View Post
For me, a damper does damping only
Springs hold the car up
If you don't drill as suggested, the damper becomes an uncontrolled spring
Not to mention, much more fragile from impacts

@Paul Lomas and @RedBullFiXX

Thank you very much for your kind sharing and explanations

I am now understand the reasoning behind this tiny hole.

Guess I need to seek for 1mm pin vise then.
Clawhammers is offline  
Old 07-27-2014, 08:17 AM
  #1056  
Tech Adept
 
Clawhammers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 192
Default

My first ever 1/12th painting

Tamiya PS-2 Red
Tamiya PS-6 Yellow
Tamiya PS-31 Smoke
























Clawhammers is offline  
Old 07-29-2014, 11:28 AM
  #1057  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
rtypec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,978
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default RM-01X Hybrid

Got some new pieces for the RM01. It's already pretty competitive as it was, just hoping that these upgrades take it to another level and not poopify it


Temporary electronics and looking slim on Tamiya parts

Attached Thumbnails Tamiya 1/12 R/C RM-01 "Racing Master"-rc_rm01a.jpg   Tamiya 1/12 R/C RM-01 "Racing Master"-rc_rm01b.jpg  
rtypec is offline  
Old 07-29-2014, 12:35 PM
  #1058  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 876
Default

That looks great, what brand of parts did you mount on the chassis?
Is it an upgrade set?
addicted2blue is offline  
Old 07-29-2014, 12:50 PM
  #1059  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
rtypec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,978
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

The most recent upgrades were the Square dual damper tube conversion kit which incuded the center shock. Also added an aluminum shock mount and a Tuning Haus aluminum center pivot. Previous upgrades included the AE front end as well as TRG 5113 to get 3.5 offset ride height adapters to run small diameter tires.

Square also makes the RMS which is basically an entire car.
rtypec is offline  
Old 07-30-2014, 12:42 PM
  #1060  
Tech Adept
 
Clawhammers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 192
Default

@rtypec

where and how did u get Square products ?

Thanks
Clawhammers is offline  
Old 07-30-2014, 02:52 PM
  #1061  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
rtypec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,978
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Clawhammers View Post
@rtypec

where and how did u get Square products ?

Thanks
Pro-Shop Futaba
rtypec is offline  
Old 07-31-2014, 08:36 AM
  #1062  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (20)
 
AngryRog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 876
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rtypec View Post
How do we get to an ingrish translation to the site?
AngryRog is offline  
Old 07-31-2014, 09:00 AM
  #1063  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (34)
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AngryRog View Post
How do we get to an ingrish translation to the site?
All the cool kids use Google Chrome browser, with built-in translation tech

Then e-mail FPS for your order
They are very easy to deal with
RedBullFiXX is offline  
Old 07-31-2014, 09:11 AM
  #1064  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (22)
 
CraigMBA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Valley of the Dirt, CA
Posts: 2,832
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RedBullFiXX View Post
All the cool kids use Google Chrome browser, with built-in translation tech

Then e-mail FPS for your order
They are very easy to deal with
Plus, the translations can be an infinite source of entertainment.

It is the M chassis tires ride that seems to bite messed up.
Well, sign me up for some of that!
CraigMBA is offline  
Old 07-31-2014, 09:18 AM
  #1065  
Tech Adept
 
Clawhammers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 192
Default

Originally Posted by rtypec View Post
Thanks dude

But I have browsed the FPS, and found the Square's products to no avail...

Link for RM-01=
http://www.pro-s-futaba.co.jp/store/...ndex&cPath=298


Could you please share the direct link at FPS' website?
Clawhammers is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.