R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-24-2011, 06:44 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Exclamation upgrading motor from 27T to 15T

Hey im new to this world and need a little advice. i have just bought a

HPI hot bodies Cyclone s RTR

comes with a 27T motor but i fancy upgrading it as

Will a 15T run ok in this or will it cause problems... i hope not because one is on the way now and will probaly turn into a paperweight lol
heavyg123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 06:50 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
A Ilievski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A.C.T (Australia)
Posts: 2,652
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

The car is capable of holding the power, how ever your esc (speed controller) might not be able to handle the 15t.
__________________
Alex Ilievski
*INFINITY * R1 WURKS * PLAIG BEARINGS* SPEEDY RC
A Ilievski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 07:08 PM   #3
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the fast reply. How can I check what the esc can take? Or what will happen if I just put it in. Would it just blow the esc?
heavyg123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 07:20 AM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Also how much is a new esc that would run the motor?
heavyg123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 07:49 AM   #5
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,240
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I know 19t motors are safe with most Esc's , but 15t might be too much . If you're going to change the speedo anyways, you can give it a try .........
bertrandsv87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 09:44 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
ta04evah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,614
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Done a little googling and found this. http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/archi...p/t-63513.html

Talks about a different car but it has the HPI Jolt+R esc in it which is what is in the Cyclone S RTR I believe.

Somebody did run a 15t motor with it but again in a different car, you could try running it for short amounts of time stopping to check the temps of the esc.

Cheers
Rob.
__________________
Castle Hill RC On Road Facebook https://www.facebook.com/groups/121817254587521/
FatBear RC Videos https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjiAhwa-rk5Vas2rv5IBD4A
ta04evah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 09:48 AM   #7
Tech Initiate
 
tsan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Mississauga ON, Canada
Posts: 41
Default

Maybe upgrade to a 19t instead of a 15t. The 19t will still be way faster than a 27t stock motor. Although, it's probably best to make sure your ESC can handle that, too. What is the model number of your esc?
__________________
Tim Sanderson / tsanrc.com / I ♥ KYOSHO

Last edited by tsan; 08-26-2011 at 09:27 AM.
tsan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 09:53 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Remember that you should gear down a mod motor by using a smaller pinion or larger spur gear. Using a "stock" motor gearing with a mod motor is a sure recipe for overheating the motor and ESC.
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 11:11 AM   #9
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Default

I have not actually received it yet sp can't get the model number at the moment. Wanted to get all the bits together ready. Should have it by Monday. Couldn't let it go. Got it for 60 so was a good base for hop ups.

SO overheating will be the main issue. I understand now.

I will post more info when it comes to try and pick your brains a bit more.

Thanks again guys.
heavyg123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 11:17 AM   #10
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,240
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

If you can find a KOMODO DRAGON 19t motor, you can go as fast as 12t motors........
bertrandsv87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 01:33 PM   #11
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Default

so how do i know what size pinion and spur gear to buy to try and keep the stress on the components down but not compromising too much performance?

also can you add a heat sink to the esc to help with the cooling?
heavyg123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 04:38 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: NY/FL
Posts: 3,376
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavyg123 View Post
so how do i know what size pinion and spur gear to buy to try and keep the stress on the components down but not compromising too much performance?

also can you add a heat sink to the esc to help with the cooling?
First things first....Find out if that esc can handle a 15t motor. Many rtr brushed esc's are only meant for 20,23,27 turn can motors.
You really shouldn't have to add a heatsink to the esc and with such a basic unit it's doubtful you could place one on it anyway.
As for gear ratio....if others are using the 15t, check with them and see what ratios they're using. That will help. If you're not used to doing the math for gear ratios, www.gearchart.com might help.
The internal ratio for the Cyclone S is 2.4375. The car comes with a 96t 64p spur. 7.0-7.2 final drive ratio was pretty normal for 27t brushed motors. I never ran mod motors so maybe someone can use the basic numbers to suggest a pinion. 2.4375 internal. 96t 64p spur is factory stock.
Evoracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 07:18 AM   #13
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Suffolk, England
Posts: 184
Default

I think the first thing to do is learn to walk before you try to run.
If you are new to rc the 27 is a great way to get used to things and if geared right will be more than quick enough for you. After a while i would then jump straight to brushless and you wont have to mess about cutting the com and changing the brushes all the time to maintain the performance. Treat yourself to a Hobbywing 13.5 or something sismilar. It will last for ages and no messing about
scoop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
cyclone s, hpi, motor, upgrade


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:42 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net