R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-25-2004, 09:47 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
LosiRacerX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Pierce, Ne
Posts: 712
Default Never Buyin A P2k2 again

for the 2nd time in a row with a p2k2 the magnet has broke lose in my car, my monsters never had this problem, so im switchin back 2 them, because i coulda atleast did a lil better in my 1/12 scale race yesturday, im disapointed in these motors
LosiRacerX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 10:00 PM   #2
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 10
Default

P2K2 are decent motors. I think your magnet issue was just coincidence, but if your bad experiences keep you away from P2K2 motors, I don't blame you. I have used both the P2K2 and Monster, and have found the Monster to be a better motor.
Genem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 10:34 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
RedRocketRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Woodinville,Wa
Posts: 646
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

why are you runnig a P2K2 in a 12th scale anyway? Is it a really tight slow track? Not many people in our area make it near the top with one of those. I see them loose to MVP'S. Gotta be a monster or a green machine 3 and maybe a bianary but, probably not. Good luckwith that thought.

The Red Rocket
RedRocketRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 10:37 PM   #4
Tech Initiate
 
Brent Wookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wyong
Posts: 21
Default

i find the magnets go soft heaps easier than the monsters
Brent Wookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 10:39 PM   #5
Tech Apprentice
 
EVOIIIM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 63
Default

Mine did the same thing! The magnets came loose and locked the armature.

TOTALLY SUCKED!

Yes, so far no problem with the Monster.
EVOIIIM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 11:03 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 352
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I had one pop the magnets also. Trinity has a problem with this motor and they won't admit it. This has been a know problem at our track for a 1 1/2 years.
hobbyman_7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 03:49 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
Team Duratrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NSW, Albury/Wodonga
Posts: 1,674
Send a message via MSN to Team Duratrax
Default

YES i had this friggin problem with mine! so i just glued it back on and now the motor has lost so much power i dont know why,maybe because of this magnet coming lose not sure,its a crap motor i can never never get it running good.BRUSHLESS FOR ME!
Team Duratrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 04:37 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
dontfeelcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where there's smoke there's a tyre
Posts: 1,721
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

For those who dont know, the Monster and the P2K2 both have very similar maxx wattage. The magnet problem isnt Trinity's fault, its Sagami, the people who stick the magnets in the cans. They use a cheap glue. You can put some JB Weld around the magnets and this will hold the magnets in for good.


go to the message forum at www.rccars.com and look at Big Jims Motor Forum. Very informative.
dontfeelcold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 04:49 AM   #9
Tech Champion
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dontfeelcold
The magnet problem isnt Trinity's fault, its Sagami, the people who stick the magnets in the cans. They use a cheap glue.
Man if thats the case then 80% of the motors out there should have this problem too.....since Sagami Micro does stuff for Yokomo/Reedy...Kawada,ECHO ect ect
__________________
Ȼ4.5 Centro+α ◊ TRF 501ӽ ◊ TRF 502ӽs ◊ TRF 503 ◊ TRF 511 ◊ TRF 201ӽr ◊ TRF 211ӽ
B5m ◊ T5m ◊SC5m ◊ B64deez nutz
Speedway PAL ◊ SDRC ◊ Shop UFO ◊ SMC
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 05:24 AM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England (UK)
Posts: 440
Default

I don't know how long the p2k2 has ben out for but i'v got quiet an old one and it's still going strong , there must have bee a bad batch some where along the line

Chazz
Chazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 05:37 AM   #11
Tech Adept
 
lastplace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Va. Beach, VA
Posts: 237
Send a message via Yahoo to lastplace
Default

Pack it up along with a note and send it back to Trinity. They may just send you a new can... You can download a RA off Trinity's web site.
lastplace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 06:15 AM   #12
Tech Addict
 
Patriiick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: France, Land of the French Fries.
Posts: 587
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

tech support from trinity...
where did that come from ??
Patriiick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 08:52 AM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 373
Default

Trinity and Epic motors are made by Tokyomec. Sagami make Yokomo, Top,etc.
caveman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 08:58 AM   #14
Tech Master
 
dontfeelcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where there's smoke there's a tyre
Posts: 1,721
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JDM_DOHC_SiR
Man if thats the case then 80% of the motors out there should have this problem too.....since Sagami Micro does stuff for Yokomo/Reedy...Kawada,ECHO ect ect
Sorry, not Sagami (woops), there is another motor company in Japan called Motor Tech? something like that, they are ones who make the trinity teardowns.
dontfeelcold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 02:21 PM   #15
PaZ
Tech Master
 
PaZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cornwall (England)
Posts: 1,262
Default Pk2k Pro

I was running the Monster pro and i could not get it to gear, i ran the same gearing as my mates and it still had no punch or top end speed. So i moved to the P2K2 Pro and now i have 2 they are the best stock motor i have run so far, lots of punch, now i can easly out run a Monster pro for a untuned motor like the Fantoms etc they are a great motor!!!! no problems at all just it eats up brushes quickly
PaZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
P2K2 Pro and P2K2 motors - CHEAP! bbking9 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-03-2006 04:35 PM
Like new Novak Dually, P2K2 and P2K2 Pro - CHEAP !! bbking9 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 07-02-2006 04:20 PM
not sellin just buyin MiniGun R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 26 07-18-2004 11:51 PM
not sellin just buyin MiniGun Other Items: For Sale/Trade or Wanted to Buy 0 07-16-2004 06:29 PM
P2K arm in a P2K2 can? dux Electric On-Road 21 05-06-2003 11:23 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:27 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net