Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
What's the best way to break in a new motor??? >

What's the best way to break in a new motor???

What's the best way to break in a new motor???

Old 10-26-2004, 09:15 AM
  #16  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8,616
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

2volts for 15 minutes then let it cool off and run it
Bob Barry is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 09:45 AM
  #17  
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Default

Regardless of how long you break the motor in or how many volts you use, one of the most important things is that there should be no load on the motor! As stated earlier in this thread, it causes arching...this is not good for the brush or the com. This means no fan on the shaft, not in water, and not in a car.
koabich is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 01:16 PM
  #18  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CORONA , CALIF.
Posts: 4,074
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Post breaking in your motor ..

Put it in the car and RUN IT !!!!
mb racer is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 01:20 PM
  #19  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Maitland, FL
Posts: 2,190
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

i never broken in a motor. i think its worthless if a motor is built right you wouldnt have any problems . just my opion
Roberto Falcon is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 01:30 PM
  #20  
Tech Master
 
Speedie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,844
Default

Everyone has thier own method I have heard and seen em all. There are alot of variables to this question. I would say just ask your motor tunner or one you trust. Even with them you get alot of different answers. The most important thing is that you do it. If you dont you hurt performance and wear out your motors alot faster. Pick a method and go with it and refine it to your needs.

Heres what I do. I run it at 2-3 v for 2 minutes at a time till the brush face looks right. then cut the comm and break it in for 30 seconds more. At least I try to do it like that every time. I used to never use a fan but lately I have been it takes a little longer to break in that way I think because of heat not being as high.

Here is the place this question should be asked at.
http://www.rccars.com/forums/forumdi...?s=&forumid=19
Big Jims Forum
Speedie is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 04:40 PM
  #21  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (52)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,715
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

just get one from EA MOTORSPORTS, its already done!!!
Mo
Mo Denton is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 04:47 PM
  #22  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 76
Default

I dont break them in anymore cuz a lot of fast guys here told me they dont. A lot of guys like to cut motors every 3-6 runs, breaking them in seems like a waste of good run time.
T-Money86mcss is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.