R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-25-2004, 05:44 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 188
Default Big blue capacitor of Quantum Competition 2 ESC

What does that big capacitor do?
raceblast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 05:53 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
killingtime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,658
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I wouldn't mind knowing the answer to that one!
__________________
Mike Webb

rD Squared-MW Designs-C and R racing

Final Thoughts RC club R.I.P.
killingtime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 06:00 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default

Your best bet is to do a search. i personally have posted about this in 3-4 different threads.
First off, it is not necessary on any LRP ESC. But, in short, the capacitor stores energy from the battery. This allows for more punch. The capaciter also keeps the temp of the ESC cooler and helps with interference problems as well.
You cannot use any capactor on any ESC. The capacitor you use must match the speed that the MOSFETS in the ESC open and close.
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 06:15 PM   #4
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Central N.C.
Posts: 56
Default

There are alot of theories surrounding capacitors. Most ESC companies use them to smooth out voltage spikes (which can be harmful) created by the high switching rates in most modern ESCs. This setup does offer a few side benefits (more mid-range punch, helps with glitching and helps the ESC run cooler). Most guys think they are used only for more punch, but that's a big misconception. When choosing one you should always use what a manufacturer recommends. Some guys think you can run down to the local Radio Shack and buy whatever to save money, but then wonder why their speedo is eventually toasted.
2BAD4ALL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 06:50 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
killingtime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,658
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

sounds like the $30 price tag would be worth picking up the cap. set.
__________________
Mike Webb

rD Squared-MW Designs-C and R racing

Final Thoughts RC club R.I.P.
killingtime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 07:57 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by killingtime
sounds like the $30 price tag would be worth picking up the cap. set.
e
Too be honest, YES!! You should be albe to pick up the LRP World's kit for around $25.00. It comes with 2 capacitors (1 large and 1 small depending on your need), plus a heatsink for the ESC. It looks better than the radio shack/Novak ones and there is no chance that you will fry your $180.00 ESC because you tried to save $5.00.

Remember, it is not even necessary to run a capacitor with LRP ESC's. The only reson i run one is to prevent glitching.
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 12:54 AM   #7
Tech Addict
 
Blakesrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grover Beach/Palm Desert, CA
Posts: 660
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Blakesrc
Default

I just wanted to add... I have misplaced my Quantum Comp worlds kit manual but i believe it said that running the power Caps will give you more punch, the batteries will run cooler, but you will lose some runtime.

Just FYI,

Blake
Blakesrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 12:12 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
killingtime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,658
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the info, also thanks to raceblast for posting a question I had for awhile
__________________
Mike Webb

rD Squared-MW Designs-C and R racing

Final Thoughts RC club R.I.P.
killingtime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 06:09 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
HK Racing Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ravinia, Il
Posts: 251
Send a message via AIM to HK Racing Joe
Default

What about running two capasitors? i have a GT7 and i'm about to get a GTX so would two capasitors give me more punch or is it a waste
HK Racing Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 06:22 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
mafiaracers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: West Linn, Oregon
Posts: 3,759
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to mafiaracers Send a message via MSN to mafiaracers
Default

You most likely won't be able to fill both capacitors. Caps work bets when you can fill them completely then dump them while you're running. If you can't fill one, you'll be wasting weight, room and possibly balance by runing a second. If you want to run two, just get two smaller ones than the one big one you've got.
__________________
Chris Woods

MAFIA MOTORSPORTS
http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-items-sale-trade/168239-pit-board.html

TEAM WAVE
www.teamwaveonline.com

TQ Racing Wire
www.tqracing.com
mafiaracers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2005, 12:12 AM   #11
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Au
Posts: 329
Default

anyone know if we can use the Novak Power Capacitor 8200mF #5673 on the QC2?

qwerty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2005, 03:40 AM   #12
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Iceland
Posts: 588
Default

My 2c in this hot subject . Trust me I'm electrician or was it politician .

Capacitors store and release little energy VERY fast.
If connected across the batteries the effect is that the voltage into the ESC is slightly higher under full throttle from dead stop, that can prevent glitching. I have no idea how it could improve midrange, but maybe it does by allowing some ESCs to work slightly differently.
If connected into the receiver it can prevent glitching and make your personal transponder more reliable, especially with some combinations of ESC and digital servos.
If you never get glitches and your PT counts perfectly you don't "need" capacitor.
Capacitors store very little energy so you'll need a big one.
Capacitors charge up to the voltage applied to them, no more. They charge fully in less than millisecond (1/1000 of a second).

There are hundreds of capacitor types with different parameters. What you'll "need" is the liquid type in a small bucket , (I don't remember the english name) that has high capacitance, usually >4700uF, low voltage <16V (6.4V is fine for receiver capacitor) and low ESR (that's the tricky part. Most personell at Radio Shack have no idea what this means. Lower ESR means it works faster. ). You don't need to buy the capacitors that your ESC manufacturer sells. Electronic equipment shops should have higher quality japanese capacitors at lower prices.
andsetinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2005, 04:09 AM   #13
Tech Addict
 
burito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 511
Default

Since everything is explained in detail and quite well already, I only want to add one thing which was wrong in here.

A power-capacitor will not make the speed-control run cooler, if any difference occurs the speedo and the motor will get slightly hotter when a capacitor is used due to the slightly higher average current.
Btw, the capacitor does "help" during the partial throttle operation of the speedo only! It basically smoothens out the battery voltage, lowers the batteries internal resistance slightly and therefore the pack should in theory stay slightly cooler!

The manual for the worlds-option-kit is available for download on our (LRP's) website.
__________________
Reto Koenig
burito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2005, 06:07 AM   #14
Tech Master
 
Dasupacat1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,372
Trader Rating: 25 (96%+)
Send a message via MSN to Dasupacat1
Default

So.....better to use or not to?
Dasupacat1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2005, 06:14 AM   #15
Tech Fanatic
 
RKeasler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: A step closer to where I need to be a step further from where I was
Posts: 810
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by qwerty
anyone know if we can use the Novak Power Capacitor 8200mF #5673 on the QC2?

Anyone know?
__________________
ClemsonTigers
USVTA # 224
ERC
RKeasler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LRP Quantum Competition 2 NIB miniczar R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 04-10-2007 09:08 AM
LRP Quantum or Quantum 2 competition Core Creations R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 10-03-2005 11:56 AM
LRP Quantum Competition ESC Randy Caster R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 07-17-2005 04:39 AM
LRP Quantum Competition Slotrc R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 06-21-2005 04:56 PM
quantum competition capacitor evaa Electric On-Road 3 05-08-2003 11:44 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:51 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net