R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-19-2011, 07:37 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
Monteman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 1,279
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default Servo Recommendation

Looking for a servo to replace the stock servo in my TC4. Without going insane on it (trying to keep it under $70) what would be the ideal servo for me as an upgrade. Doesn't need to be the best of the best obviously, just a little more response and torque than the stock unit. Not going to be racing anytime soon.
__________________
Cameron - Edmonton Canada

** Every time see someone use their first post to necro-bump a 4 year old thread all I can think is "at least they used the search function" **
Monteman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 08:01 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
ewashburnaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 469
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Savox SC-1251MG

It's low profile so it's smaller and it's high-speed metal-gear so it'll last you.

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...tal-Gear-Servo
__________________
Fishhook
ewashburnaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 08:43 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,512
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ewashburnaf View Post
Savox SC-1251MG

It's low profile so it's smaller and it's high-speed metal-gear so it'll last you.

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...tal-Gear-Servo
+1

Cheap, small, light, fast, torquey enough for TC, cheap replacement gear sets... I've got two and haven't noticed any perf difference when compared with my BLS551. I did strip one when running without a servo saver, but that was a cheap fix.

-Mike
grippgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 09:13 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Monteman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 1,279
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Does the Associated servo arm assembly match up with the Futaba spline, or do i have to swap out more parts than just the servo?
__________________
Cameron - Edmonton Canada

** Every time see someone use their first post to necro-bump a 4 year old thread all I can think is "at least they used the search function" **
Monteman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 10:18 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
rc_square24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

The kit only came with one servo arm?

If you order from savoxusa shipping is free and you also get a tshirt
rc_square24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 10:32 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Monteman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 1,279
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

if by kit you mean the car it was RTR and there are no alternate servo parts in the box. i haven't bought a servo yet, there's nothing i dislike more than making return trips to the LHS for small extras that i didn't ask about ahead of time.

Should there be more servo horns that came with the car? Or are you talking about horns that are included with the savox?
__________________
Cameron - Edmonton Canada

** Every time see someone use their first post to necro-bump a 4 year old thread all I can think is "at least they used the search function" **
Monteman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 10:57 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
Monteman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 1,279
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

and just to add, the stock horn in the car is not marked either way as they are in the kit from AE #9180
__________________
Cameron - Edmonton Canada

** Every time see someone use their first post to necro-bump a 4 year old thread all I can think is "at least they used the search function" **
Monteman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 01:01 AM   #8
Tech Addict
 
rc_square24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I just looked up 9180 and it says its got horns to fit all servos.

If you have that part tree then you're good, if not you'll have to buy it.

But if you have the RTR which I believe is Asso's XP brand radio, they should be Futaba spline count already, which is the same as Savox.

Best to check if your servo is 25 spline (which fits Futaba, Savox).

** Actually here u go: http://www.rctech.net/forum/radio-el...ba-thanks.html
rc_square24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 07:02 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
Monteman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 1,279
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

sweet thank you
__________________
Cameron - Edmonton Canada

** Every time see someone use their first post to necro-bump a 4 year old thread all I can think is "at least they used the search function" **
Monteman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 07:31 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
ewashburnaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 469
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

you might want to try using a medium sized "servo saver" instead of a servo horn as well... just another option that will help preserve the life of your servo
__________________
Fishhook
ewashburnaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 08:10 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
Monteman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 1,279
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

isn't there a servo saver built in with the steering linkage under the shock tower?

or am i just too familiar with Traxxas lol.

Do you have a link or anything for what you are recommending?
__________________
Cameron - Edmonton Canada

** Every time see someone use their first post to necro-bump a 4 year old thread all I can think is "at least they used the search function" **
Monteman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 10:12 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
ewashburnaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 469
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

yep... it looks like this and this is the actual one I use.. it comes with three different adapters so it'll work with any servo out there...

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...tec-Airtronics
__________________
Fishhook
ewashburnaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 10:15 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
Monteman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 1,279
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

crap, i just put an order into amain this afternoon. d'oh!

but LHS to the rescue, they actually have stock. nice.
__________________
Cameron - Edmonton Canada

** Every time see someone use their first post to necro-bump a 4 year old thread all I can think is "at least they used the search function" **
Monteman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 11:03 PM   #14
Tech Addict
 
rc_square24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Extra safety is good, but in the seven years ive had my KO 2143 i've never had a problem with using just the chassis saver on any car its been in. (knock knock knock)
rc_square24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throttle Servo Recommendation for an RC8 Captpete Nitro Off-Road 15 08-08-2008 06:18 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:30 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net