Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Issues with LRP SXX TC Spec V2 >

Issues with LRP SXX TC Spec V2

Issues with LRP SXX TC Spec V2

Old 07-04-2011, 01:26 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 15
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Unhappy Issues with LRP SXX TC Spec V2

Hello guys! I bought my sxx tc spec v2 about a month ago and i've only run it 5 times, but yesterday as I connected my battery it just puffed. I didn't connect the battery again because I thaught that the problem would get worse. So today I went to my LRP dealer with the car and the controller on it as it was. He said it is possible and it happens. Then he connected a battery to the controller and it worked . So he said he cannot send it to LRP as it works and i should drive it till it does not work. Also adviced me to open the controller and spray it with WD40 to remove probable dust which may have caused the defect.
Tonight I opened the speedo and I saw good quantity of dust in it. I was not realy expecting it to be so durty inside. The second thing i noticed was an SMD resistor or capacitor which was completely blown. So guys what do i do now? The controller is not in perfect health that's obvious (see the pictures). Do I force my dealer to change the speedo or i run it till it is completely blown?

Cheers and thaks for your advices!

Here you can see the board from the bottom. On the left in the center of the board is the blown smd element.
i1112.photobucket.com/albums/k489/vi4o/DSC06006.jpg

The cover molten from the smd element.
i1112.photobucket.com/albums/k489/vi4o/DSC06008.jpg

The upper part of the speedo full of dust. Is it normal for this high class speedo to let so much dust in its box ?i1112.photobucket.com/albums/k489/vi4o/DSC06007.jpg
vi4o is offline  
Old 07-04-2011, 01:38 PM
  #2  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 30
Default

Wow. Its a surprise to see that ESC is in such a bad shape and still working. But I think it is also a surprise to see soooooo much dust in it. Are you playing at a very dusty place? I don't think the dust cost the ESC to not work. Anyway, try to get it replaced since there is certainly a malfunction from the ESC.

Good luck with it.
newb1 is offline  
Old 07-04-2011, 01:48 PM
  #3  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 15
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Well my place is an asphalt track but on the sides there is grass and as a newbie i often go there, but i did not think that it is sooo easy to get so much dust in this speedo .
vi4o is offline  
Old 07-14-2011, 11:49 PM
  #4  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 15
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Already got it replaced. Put the new one and works flawlessly.
Can you offer a way to protect the controller from dust? The dealer told me to clean it often, but i should remove it from the chasis every time i want to clean it.
vi4o is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.