R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-01-2011, 05:04 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Exclamation Wind up a stock TT01 motor info.



Okay, so I have a stock TT01 rc and I was
wondering if I tune up the stock motor to make it go faster,
will I have to change ESC as well?
andrewmarcelino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 06:20 PM   #2
Tech Adept
 
ERustler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to ERustler
Default

yes, i switched to a more torquey motor for mine and it blew the ESC within 2 runs.
__________________
HPI Hellfire SS
Losi Mini LST2
Losi Mini Raminator
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
There is no such thing as budget RC.
ERustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 08:50 AM   #3
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lakeland, Florida
Posts: 36
Default

What ESC are you using? That's the limiting factor for motor "turns"...

My TT-01 was kit form and I used a LRP w/ reverse. It works fine for the stock motor that came in the kit, but if I upgrade I might have to change out the ESC too.

Best to look up your ESC's specs online and see what it will handle.

HTH...
Mark
__________________
-Bashing R/Cs since 1996-
Current Stable:
HPI Savage S-25, Crawler King, MT2, RS4 Evo, and Sprint 2 Flux
Traxxas Summit, Mustang Boss 302, and Ken Block Fiesta
Tamiya TB-02
MustangMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 06:53 AM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Default

I'm using the stock TEU101BK ESC that came with the package.
thanks for the info, I'm gonna look it up
andrewmarcelino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 08:16 AM   #5
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 16
Default

I ran a 21x2T motor on the standard ESC for weeks without it blowing, a few on another forum I use have reported using 17-19T motors with it without problems.

Spend $20 and get a cheap HPI S15 ESC (15T limit) or something.
Fakirr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 09:03 AM   #6
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fakirr View Post
I ran a 21x2T motor on the standard ESC for weeks without it blowing, a few on another forum I use have reported using 17-19T motors with it without problems.

Spend $20 and get a cheap HPI S15 ESC (15T limit) or something.
I finally got my manuals from the box and it says that the ESC is limited to 25T.
I was wondering if I could just wind up the stock motor again, will I have to change ESC's?
andrewmarcelino is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
help with electrics


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:17 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net