R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-14-2004, 01:48 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
crACkeD ChaSsiS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Getting practice 1/10 stock onroad
Posts: 632
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to crACkeD ChaSsiS Send a message via Yahoo to crACkeD ChaSsiS
Default trying to make my own carbon fiber tc3 chassis

im in a machining class and i wan to know will i be able to make a carbon fiber tc3 chassis.because we have all the machines they are needed.how hard would it be, could i just cut the carbon fiber out the exact same shape as the ft. tc3 chassis, an put the exact same holes in it?ny info will be helpful

steven

Last edited by crACkeD ChaSsiS; 10-15-2004 at 10:32 PM.
crACkeD ChaSsiS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 01:50 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3stocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: TN, America
Posts: 869
Send a message via AIM to tc3stocker Send a message via Yahoo to tc3stocker
Default

you could do that, but the advantage in making your own chassis is to change thing to make the car perform better, like adding a center brace, or changing the steering to NTC3, you would not reall have a gain in making it just like the stock chassis, you could just buy a IRS conversion
tc3stocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 02:04 PM   #3
X2
Tech Regular
 
X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England
Posts: 340
Default

Making your own out of just Carbon would be a silly idea, it would flex like hell unless you added a topdeck too.
Buy a BMI!!!
X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 03:04 PM   #4
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: farmington, mi
Posts: 695
Send a message via AIM to greencactus3
Default actually

to make things exactly the same, youd need to cut AND drill the holes in the same stroke... as in one program. (CNC)
a bandsaw and a drill press probably wont be enuf.
and of course, test it out with wood or sumthing first of course.
greencactus3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 05:17 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
Chill Will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: The Dirty South
Posts: 804
Default

Yeah, just but a BMI and be done with it.
Chill Will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 05:33 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Brandon Melton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 2,506
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Brandon Melton
Default

Not to discourage your project, but when I was in school, we had to take a class that was in CAD or ProE or other forms of software before we ever got to the "machining". If you want to do it as a project, you could have the program (drawings) already made for the machine to do the work. Not sure how in depth your machines are, at my university, if you had a project more involved than just spinning stuff on the "Smithys", the staff and professors would spend extra time with you showing you the operation of the CNC stuff. But to just take a piece of CF and start cutting and drilling by hand would be worthless.

If it's something you have an interest in and you need something for credit in your class, go for it, but if it's just something "to do", then you'd be better off just buying one.
__________________
Team Associated~Reedy~Werks Racing~Pro-Line~Competition Suspension Inc.~Schelle Racing Innovations
Brandon Melton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 11:24 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
Speedie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,844
Default

Are you using a CNC machine to do the work? Somewhere I have a drawing with all the correct dimensions youll need Ill try to find it in my disorganized mess of a PC.
__________________
www.victoryhobbies.com Greenbay, Wisconsin
Speedie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2004, 07:25 AM   #8
Tech Addict
 
crACkeD ChaSsiS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Getting practice 1/10 stock onroad
Posts: 632
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to crACkeD ChaSsiS Send a message via Yahoo to crACkeD ChaSsiS
Default YES CNC MACHINES(TC3 CARBON FIBER)

SpeediePHATT--------- yes im using cnc machines.!!ok i sent u a pm so msg me there r here



Steven
crACkeD ChaSsiS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2004, 07:53 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

Why send him off to buy something??? He's got a class in school... Got the machinery.... Just don't copy it to a T....
vtl1180ny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2004, 02:32 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
Speedie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,844
Default

Here is the dimension ya needed. What are your plans for the motor mount?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tce chassis drawing.jpg (78.1 KB, 202 views)
__________________
www.victoryhobbies.com Greenbay, Wisconsin
Speedie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2004, 02:48 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: farmington, mi
Posts: 695
Send a message via AIM to greencactus3
Default oh nice

heh. you have any dimensions like that for other chassis? well, the motor mount would probably be easy once you get dimensions. maybe ill look into doing the same kind of thing too. heh. if only our cnc was more than 3dof. wish it had at least 4. then i can probably make most of a chassis lol.
greencactus3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2004, 09:45 PM   #12
Tech Addict
 
crACkeD ChaSsiS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Getting practice 1/10 stock onroad
Posts: 632
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to crACkeD ChaSsiS Send a message via Yahoo to crACkeD ChaSsiS
Default answer

um i have no idea yet on the motor mount maybe just the stock one.r some after market one y u have ny ideas??k ty very much lmk

Steven
crACkeD ChaSsiS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2004, 09:01 AM   #13
Tech Master
 
Speedie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,844
Default

Well the stock one will not work. Unless you can mill it off of an old chassis and atach it to yours. If you want to use the original cam then I think the IRS or warpspeed mount would work. Accept the warpspeed is backwards. You could get one from a BMI and eliminate all the weight. The motor mount also has the rear input shaft bearing holder in it.
__________________
www.victoryhobbies.com Greenbay, Wisconsin
Speedie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2004, 09:02 AM   #14
Tech Master
 
Speedie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,844
Default

__________________
www.victoryhobbies.com Greenbay, Wisconsin
Speedie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2004, 11:52 AM   #15
Tech Regular
 
HK Racing Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ravinia, Il
Posts: 251
Send a message via AIM to HK Racing Joe
Default

get a BMI it'll make life easier
HK Racing Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F201 Tuned chassis car with full 3R graphite chassis gearhead R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 03-31-2006 09:10 PM
TC3 Oval Chassis Graphite Chassis Conversion Tornado_Racing Electric On-Road 77 03-14-2005 10:05 PM
Graphite Chassis for XXX-S rctoyguy R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 6 01-13-2005 08:19 AM
TC3 Graphite Chassis GSR40 Electric On-Road 10 01-22-2004 04:10 PM
Does the TC3 Graphite Chassis Kit come with droop screw adjustment arms and chassis? ixlr8nz Electric On-Road 4 04-13-2003 10:34 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:09 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net