R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-18-2005, 08:48 PM   #226
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

you are correct, 60% or more are people with problems. But think about this how many of us post randomly that our stuff is working? i don't remember ever posting that my trc foams are working as described. I don't remember posting that my hudy wrenchs are still working after 1 year of ownership. let me see, my walmart pit light is still running and I never posted on walmart's site that all is fine. most of these thread are information gathering threads. you post a problem and hope that other people have found a resoltution.

I probably am the most active poster on the spektrum thread. I had a problem with mine and then went to horizon's tech support to get it resolve. I had no luck and started posting, hoping this forum would provide me with some resolution. I tried all the home remodies. Finaly I got intouch with the right guys at horizon (from these forums) and found that I truely just had a defective rx. not one with a bug, but one wit a problem bind button. I recieved a new rx almost 4 weeks after purchasing the spektrum. installed the new rx and put it on the track this weekend. Had a problem in the first qual. found that my rx pack was shorting. fixed the problem. and the spektrum worked flawless all weekend long. horizon does have units that need a "bug" fix. not sure what those number are. They had a total of 7 units that were defective as mine. I would guess that they have more then 10000 units out there. so as far as beign MS, that is 7 out of 10000. I don't think, and actually I "know" MS does not have that good of a track record.

The problem that we have accepted in new technology is that we don't expect 100% when it first comes out. And 100% is not always attainable. But I do believe horizon is working toward that. I got a call from teh product manager of spektrum and he appologized to me for my problems and explained that under normal conditions, the rx has been returned to the customer in 1-2 weeks. mine was special and if he was not out promoting the spektrum at all the hobby shows, he would have addressed mine sooner. so it was just bad timing.

If you do have a problem with spektrum, I encourage you to get with horizon. If that has not helped, ask the tech to escalate the problem. They will resolve your problems.
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 09:18 PM   #227
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Post

You think you actually know the number of defective ones like yours... now that's laughable ... but your point was noted -JB
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 11:03 PM   #228
Tech Elite
 
TonyWest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Waldorf, MD
Posts: 2,875
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default Well I would like to say my spektrum works fine

its great. I love a guy asking me what freq I am on. And I respond with a grin spektrum. or see some guy scrambling for a free freq or yelling to the annoucer somone cut on channel 65.
__________________
WALDORFRC.com
301-932-9193
Team Associated / AKA / Byrons Fuel / Futaba
TonyWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 11:05 PM   #229
Tech Elite
 
TonyWest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Waldorf, MD
Posts: 2,875
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default Nomadio

I held one this weekend. It seems solid. If you can get over the weird feel of the wheel placement and the look of the radio this might be an option.
I myslef will be waiting for the new M 8
__________________
WALDORFRC.com
301-932-9193
Team Associated / AKA / Byrons Fuel / Futaba
TonyWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 11:07 PM   #230
Tech Elite
 
kevink2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Glendale, Calif.
Posts: 2,154
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JayBee
You think you actually know the number of defective ones like yours... now that's laughable ... but your point was noted -JB
Not really. Everyone that I know that has tried one has had problems, including myself.
kevink2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 11:16 PM   #231
Tech Elite
 
TonyWest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Waldorf, MD
Posts: 2,875
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default It seems like more electric guys are having issues

When guys ask me questions about it I tell them if you have glitching problems with your current equipment the speckturm wont fix your problem. Have you ever noticed it is always the same people who always get radio hits.

There is one guy at my track that has been racing for years and I dont think his motor has ever stayed on for a whole qual.
__________________
WALDORFRC.com
301-932-9193
Team Associated / AKA / Byrons Fuel / Futaba
TonyWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 11:54 PM   #232
Tech Champion
 
danjoy25's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,149
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

I got mine yesterday and after a few packs and 3 heats of indoor racing the system was faultless. I did the capacitor/receiver trick right away as I always do anyway.
__________________
Awesomatix A800 & A800X/ Mugen MTX-5 / 3 Racing F113 / Kyosho RB5 / Kyosho Mini-Z
danjoy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 01:52 AM   #233
Tech Elite
 
Ray Murray's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hackistan
Posts: 3,638
Default

Just curious guys, are any of the tracks you're racing at still impound your DSM radios???

Just trying to figure out if this is something that should still be done with DSM users or not.

Thanks.
Ray Murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 02:54 AM   #234
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Adelaide..
Posts: 3,414
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to v0rtex Send a message via AIM to v0rtex Send a message via MSN to v0rtex
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ray Murray
Just curious guys, are any of the tracks you're racing at still impound your DSM radios???
The ones that dont understand the technology probably will..

We have a big meet coming up next month, im sure they'll impound them then.

Even still, its probly best to just comply and let them impound it anyway.

Quote:
Originally posted by Ray Murray

Just trying to figure out if this is something that should still be done with DSM users or not.
IMHO, no. The technology prevents the problems of the old system, as you no-doubt already know.
__________________
;)
v0rtex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 04:37 AM   #235
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JayBee
I'm starting to think these Spektrum systems are garbage, I mean, I know folks who got the 'supposedly' GLITCH-FREE second batch systems and they're still having problems. I don't care what the excuse is... research & development means just that, RESEARCH IT THEN DEVELOP IT! It seems like there is ALOT of wasted time and money by Horizon fixin' and returning these items to people. How long has this been going on, I mean DAMN, maybe they should've waited 6months and addressed these problems after putting these systems into the hands of a few more everyday drivers.
Sorry for the vent but I've been following this thread and a couple of others and 60% or more of the comments are how these systems are not working. Why does the customer have to figure out compatibility issues? I think the Microsoft analogy is SPOT-ON...Oh, and have nice day -JB
I guess since I have moved into the plug and play era I guess I was expecting too much. I bought a GE 2.4 cordless phone with 2 handsets. I didn't have to send it back to get it programed, find out if it was the new or old version, or install "caps" in the handsets. I didn't have to not use it while standing on carpet or too close to the microwave. Aparently GE had worked out the problems with the technology before they sold them. I guess I was expecting the same from Horizon. If it needs a "cap" to work, after 6 months of being on the market why don't they install one internally or give you one with the Futaba version that just came out?
Bret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 05:56 AM   #236
Tech Elite
 
TonyWest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Waldorf, MD
Posts: 2,875
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default You know for guys that are skeptical just dont buy it

If you want to continue taking chances on someone cutting on there radio or waiting in line for a clip then go right ahead. It just seems to me that the guys that are against the spektrum truly want to run the system themselves and are just upset because they can't.
I you run electric with it you have to add a cap, so what. If you run a novak speedo you need a skotty diode and the big cap. LRP has had recals on there charger and I just sent back a FMA charger in which tech guy said they just blow up sometimes and we dont know why.
__________________
WALDORFRC.com
301-932-9193
Team Associated / AKA / Byrons Fuel / Futaba
TonyWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 06:01 AM   #237
Tech Adept
 
SlickZero.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: FL
Posts: 110
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Can you tell me what capacitor this is and how do I install it?
SlickZero.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 08:21 AM   #238
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SlickZero.com
Can you tell me what capacitor this is and how do I install it?
in this thread, there are a couple of guys that have installed cap. they have the info on how to install them. Also I heard that horizon is putting together a cap just for those esc that have low bec voltages.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthre...&pagenumber=18
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 01:04 PM   #239
Tech Elite
 
PitCrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Seattle Indoor Raceway
Posts: 2,129
Default

Its a compatability issue.

Does Apple software run on a PC.....no.

So certain servos draw too much current for the speedo to run the servo and reciever at the same time. That ins't Spektrums fault. Yeah, they should have tested it with those speedos. Maybe it worked for them.

Why is it that I have some motors that glitch. Or they have burned up cause T didn't weld the tabs good enough. Or there were holes not drilled in some of the parts in my kit.

Isht happens. So put in the capacitor, its $5 and it works fine. Does you GE phone work with a panasonic home base?
PitCrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2005, 01:24 PM   #240
Tech Elite
 
L.Fairtrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Beyond the Wall
Posts: 3,772
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to L.Fairtrace
Default

what kind of plugs do the recievers use?
__________________
Awesomatix USA - EaMotorsports - RocheUSA - MonTech - Sanwa - BSR Racing Tires - TQ Wire - Solaris Racing Tires - Side Piece Racing

180 and 360 Raceway. Best on the East Coast. Take your pick
L.Fairtrace is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RC Technology Ray Lan Singapore R/C Racers 49 03-14-2007 07:30 PM
FINALLY! A radio system with "modern" technology twerp Singapore R/C Racers 4 10-16-2004 06:28 AM
Wow... New Technology! Super Steve Electric On-Road 129 05-03-2004 02:36 PM
New dyno technology ccm399 Electric On-Road 6 01-23-2004 05:26 PM
GT7 Setup and Technology coolrcdad Electric On-Road 46 08-20-2003 03:33 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:55 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net