Like Tree1Likes

Reedy Sonic

Old 01-07-2012, 04:50 AM
  #166  
Tech Master
iTrader: (20)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,238
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

whats the stock rotor that comes with the 17.5?
goots is offline  
Old 01-07-2012, 05:08 PM
  #167  
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,004
Default

Originally Posted by goots View Post
whats the stock rotor that comes with the 17.5?
http://reedypower.com/products/details/956/
Rick Hohwart is offline  
Old 01-07-2012, 06:39 PM
  #168  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (103)
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,393
Trader Rating: 103 (100%+)
Default

Odd question for you Rick. I have two Sonic 17.5 motors. First one I bought has limited timing adjustment and runs awesome. I bought the V2 motor for the additional timing option. Problem with this motor is that it always smells like it's been overheated. Comes off the track between 140 and 160 but smells like it melted down. Runs good but not as quick as the other motor.
stiltskin is offline  
Old 01-07-2012, 08:20 PM
  #169  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,237
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I have a new version and noted it smelled overheated also. Usually 140-155 range to.
Brian L is offline  
Old 01-07-2012, 09:14 PM
  #170  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
maxepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Aliso Viejo, Calif.
Posts: 1,640
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Exclamation Rebuildable?

So are these motors rebuildable like the Novak Ballistic. In other words if I want to change the stator can I do it myself or do I have to have it done at Associated?
maxepower is offline  
Old 01-07-2012, 09:40 PM
  #171  
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,004
Default

Originally Posted by stiltskin View Post
Odd question for you Rick. I have two Sonic 17.5 motors. First one I bought has limited timing adjustment and runs awesome. I bought the V2 motor for the additional timing option. Problem with this motor is that it always smells like it's been overheated. Comes off the track between 140 and 160 but smells like it melted down. Runs good but not as quick as the other motor.
Originally Posted by Brian L View Post
I have a new version and noted it smelled overheated also. Usually 140-155 range to.
It is important to note that the latest version has a modified end plate with a repositioned pointer indicator. If you are running the same timing (indicator relative to the can screw) you are running too much timing. The new version should be set around 40-45 degrees.

Originally Posted by maxepower View Post
So are these motors rebuildable like the Novak Ballistic. In other words if I want to change the stator can I do it myself or do I have to have it done at Associated?
The stator can be changed by yourself but we do not offer them separately yet.
Rick Hohwart is offline  
Old 01-07-2012, 10:02 PM
  #172  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,237
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Timing is set at 40.
Brian L is offline  
Old 01-08-2012, 07:09 AM
  #173  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (103)
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,393
Trader Rating: 103 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Rick Hohwart View Post
It is important to note that the latest version has a modified end plate with a repositioned pointer indicator. If you are running the same timing (indicator relative to the can screw) you are running too much timing. The new version should be set around 40-45 degrees.
Thanks for the response Rick. I am aware of the added timing. I even swapped the plastic end cap from the old to the new to see where the pointer ends at full timing. I started at 40 degrees just like my current motor and gradually increased timing while checking temps. The motor never got hot and smelled odd from the very first run. I assumed that it was some kind of factory oil/lubricant that burns off after use. I'm very happy with my original motor. Several others have bought them since I started running it. Just curious why the second one smells so bad. I'm going to clean the motor and see if it goes away. Otherwise it will become a practice/backup motor. See you at the birds.
stiltskin is offline  
Old 01-08-2012, 05:32 PM
  #174  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (12)
 
GreenSC10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 647
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I'm a little confused, the indicator 0-40 right to left, which end creates the most power 40 or 0?
GreenSC10 is offline  
Old 01-08-2012, 06:14 PM
  #175  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
Buckaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 1,576
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by GreenSC10 View Post
I'm a little confused, the indicator 0-40 right to left, which end creates the most power 40 or 0?
What kind of 'power' are you looking for?

Although the relationship isn't always linear, the general rules of thumb are as follows:

Low timing = higher torque, lower rpm
High timing = lower torque, higher rpm

Most motors have somewhere around 28-30* of mechanical timing built into the design when the indicator is at the 0 or 'big line' reference mark, with somewhere between 4-8* for each line after that.

I believe somewhere on this thread the new scale and indicator of these motors indicate ACTUAL timing (although I may be wrong).

Edit: Found It!! (emphasis added)

Originally Posted by Sean Cochran View Post
Just so everyone is aware the new scale is supposed to be ACTUAL degrees of timing. So if you are on 20 that means you have 20 degrees of timing in the motor.
Buckaroo is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 05:10 PM
  #176  
Tech Master
iTrader: (20)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,238
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Rick Hohwart View Post
so it already comes with the high torque rotor.. Is there anyway to get more punch out of the motor?
goots is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 05:25 PM
  #177  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,702
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by goots View Post
so it already comes with the high torque rotor.. Is there anyway to get more punch out of the motor?
What vehicle/setup are you running? The setup I posted last page for my touring car has all the rip in the world.
geeunit1014 is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 05:32 PM
  #178  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 24
Default

This might be a stupid questions guys...
but this is my first brushless motor with adjustable timing...

does each line on the can represent 10degrees of timing?
goldsworthy1 is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 05:43 PM
  #179  
Tech Master
iTrader: (20)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,238
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by geeunit1014 View Post
What vehicle/setup are you running? The setup I posted last page for my touring car has all the rip in the world.
17.5 boost TC. I tried lots of fdr's, from 5.6 - 6.3 just wished it was a little more punchy. My last thought would be going to a torque rotor but its been cleared that it already comes with it. Looks like ill just drive the way it is.
goots is offline  
Old 01-09-2012, 07:09 PM
  #180  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,702
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by goots View Post
17.5 boost TC. I tried lots of fdr's, from 5.6 - 6.3 just wished it was a little more punchy. My last thought would be going to a torque rotor but its been cleared that it already comes with it. Looks like ill just drive the way it is.
What esc/settings are you using?
geeunit1014 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.