R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-08-2004, 09:19 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 77
Default Turbo 35 GFX Smoking... Help!

Hi,
I have a brand new Turbo 35 GFX. I have been out of racing for about ten years. I received my first "new" stock motor today and tried it on my motor run function. I tried it at 5v and it was pulling close to 20 amps (my old green machine pulls about 4 amps) Does this sound right? The motor was really screaming and seemed fine. It had probably been running less than a minute. All of the sudden I hear a pop and smoke starts billowing out of the Turbo 35. The motor kept running and the unit continued to function, but I disconnected it right away.

I'm pretty sure I need to send it in, but what happened? The fuses were not blown. Did I roast it running a stock motor at 5v? I guess things have changed since I've been out of racing for so long... Thanks for any help.

James
Yankey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2004, 09:24 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
pink pac man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: RATED X RACING Canberra,Australia
Posts: 894
Default

it could have done what my tv did if you havent used it for a while and a spider climnes through the air holes and you using it for a while then the spider walkes onto some thing and shorts it out blowing it up
pink pac man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2004, 09:25 PM   #3
Tech Champion
 
Matt Howard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Abilene TX
Posts: 5,952
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Uh...I would send it in ASAP. If the fuses haven't blown and you have smoke billowing out of it there is a definite problem. You didn't do anything wrong by running your motor at 5V, and if the motor pulls too many amps you're supposed to get an error message that say's something like "Amps too high" on your screen.
__________________
Official member of The Guild of Calamitous Intent and proud supporter of Conjectural Technologies.
Serpent S411 LE kit #192
RCTech #361
Matt Howard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2004, 10:09 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

Yes it will cutoff the power to the motor if it's pulling too many amps. It sounds like the motor was getting 12v if it was really screaming. I've seen this happen on a gfx before, unplugging it/re-setting it fixed the problem. I think it's actually 20 amps that the gfx cuts off at. Send it in asap.
fatdoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2004, 11:29 PM   #5
Registered User
 
ritchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,044
Default

while were talking gfx, i just got a brand new one. i'm not real crazy about the directions. seems they could have been more instuctive, anyway, i was reading in one on the mags that did a review and the author talked about "reving" up a motor using the dial to adjust voltage, mine doesn't adjust with motor running only before . is it suppose to be adjustable with motor running or did i read it wrong??
ritchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 07:21 AM   #6
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like a blown fet in the charger...

20A from a stock...WOW....

Sounds like the motor has issues also...

www.competitionelectronics.com

For repair on any Competition Electronics product ship to the following address

Competition Electronics

Att: Service

3469 Precision Dr.

Rockford, IL 61109



Include a brief note explaining the problem along with a return street address (no PO Box) and a daytime phone number. No RA# is required. We will call you with the charges when repairs are finished. Payment can be made with a Visa, Master Card or you can send us a check or money order. Include a copy of the sale receipt for warranty repairs. Normal turn-around time is 5 working days.



Some problems may be due to an operating consideration that needs further explanation. If you have any questions about your product call us between 8:00-4:00 Monday thru Friday central time at 815-874-8001 FAX 815-874-8181.
__________________
Tre's
TnT-Fx Custom Graphics
www.tnt-fx.com
Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 07:30 AM   #7
Tech Addict
 
onebeatuptc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Outside Peachtree city in GA
Posts: 552
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to onebeatuptc3
Default

one thing, check to make sure the fuses used are the correct fuses also, and not ones of a higher amperage. It could have drawn too high and the higher amp fuses didnt pop.
onebeatuptc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 11:00 AM   #8
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ritchie
while were talking gfx, i just got a brand new one.
Congratulations!!

- jaYBee
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 11:06 AM   #9
Registered User
 
ritchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,044
Default

TRES. did you miss this question.







Quote:
[i]Originally posted by ritchie [/
while were talking gfx, i just got a brand new one. i'm not real crazy about the directions. seems they could have been more instuctive, anyway, i was reading in one on the mags that did a review and the author talked about "reving" up a motor using the dial to adjust voltage, mine doesn't adjust with motor running only before . is it suppose to be adjustable with motor running or did i read it wrong??
ritchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2004, 11:15 AM   #10
X2
Tech Regular
 
X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England
Posts: 340
Default GFX smoking?

I have never heard of this, what does it smoke? roll ups, cigars?
X2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 07:02 AM   #11
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

ritchie: it stated he heard a pop and puff of smoke....

With a blown FET, the CE chargers tend to send line voltage through the leads if this happens...

12V....

But, 20A on a stock motor,

WAY to high....


__________________
Tre's
TnT-Fx Custom Graphics
www.tnt-fx.com
Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 07:09 AM   #12
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 492
Default

if you send the charger in , also send the motor with it. CE customer service has been excellent for me. They do not overcharge you. they fix it. the problems i have had with my chargers has been user related LOL.
baih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 09:28 AM   #13
Tech Master
 
Fatboy Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Coming soooooon
Posts: 1,052
Default

Same ting happened to me today, but I was discharging my pack with 8.3V left in it at 30amps. I saw some smoke being blown out of the vents on the side. I checked the fuses and some how melted a bit, they are 20amp fuses, and wondering why it didn't blow up. Is my GFX T35 busted already?
Fatboy Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 09:56 AM   #14
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 77
Default

The wierd thing for me is that my old stock motor and an old 12T modified ran normally...so I'm not sure about the 12 volt theory. I ran the "20 amp" stock motor for about six races (after it blew up the GFX) and it ran fine.

I did blow a fuse before. It was the one for the power supply (the single one). One of the leads slipped off at the power supply while a battery was charging. I replaced it with a 15 amp one because I did not have another 20 at the time. Maybe this is why I had the problem... Thanks for the help.

James
Yankey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 01:59 PM   #15
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 492
Default

i am beginning to wonder if you had the motor hooked up backwards.
baih is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to quit smoking ??? asw7576 Chat Lounge 139 12-08-2010 12:41 AM
smoking esc (xcelorin) matthewh Micro and Mini Scales 64 09-25-2009 03:43 PM
Smoking Motor calavera Rookie Zone 28 09-10-2007 12:00 PM
Smoking your tires ajg Electric On-Road 7 07-29-2004 09:03 AM
smoking tires...... wilson_bryant Nitro On-Road 18 07-20-2003 09:57 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:07 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net