R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-10-2004, 10:05 PM   #16
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 768
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I saw one start to smoke while charging at the track last week. The guy took the cover off and there was no sign of where the smoke came from. Is that weird or what.
__________________
Shawn Plume
www.pmhobbycraft.ca
Frantic Racing (Est. 1988)
Ophidian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2004, 08:42 PM   #17
Registered User
 
ritchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,044
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tres
ritchie: it stated he heard a pop and puff of smoke....

With a blown FET, the CE chargers tend to send line voltage through the leads if this happens...

12V....

But, 20A on a stock motor,

WAY to high....


yes, i know what he asked as saw your responce to him, then i asked a different question and then quoted myself.

the question i had for you was, in a recent issue of a magazine they review the gfx. the author made it sound like he was able to rev up the motor while using the motor run in mode. my gfx doesn't do that, is it suppose to do that, or did i read the article wrong, thanks.
ritchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2004, 09:04 PM   #18
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

ritchie: ah....

Got ya...


Yes, you should be able to turn the dial while the motor is running and increase the voltage to the motor.

The same goes for the AMPS while charging.
__________________
Tre's
TnT-Fx Custom Graphics
www.tnt-fx.com
Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2004, 10:55 PM   #19
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Angry

DAMN ricthie, does that mean you have to it in?

- jaYBee
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2004, 02:12 AM   #20
Super Moderator
 
Brandon Rohde's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Green Bay, WI / Lake Forest, CA
Posts: 840
Default

Yankey,

We actually had a customer call in with that exact problem today... but I am guessing it may have been you At 5 volts, 20 amps is actually pretty common, especially if you are running Putnam brushes or the Black Magic brushes, both draw a lot of amps. There is no reason that should blow up the GFX though... the GFX should error out saying "motor amps too high." I would send it in asap and they will get you fixed up quickly.

For future reference, I would recommend not running the motor at more than 3 volts If a motor draws 20 amps at 3 volts, then you have some serious HP, or something is binding up.
__________________
Brandon Rohde
LiveRC.com and LiveTime
Brandon Rohde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2004, 02:16 AM   #21
Suspended
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Back That Thang Up!
Posts: 3,468
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default Re: GFX smoking?

Quote:
Originally posted by X2
I have never heard of this, what does it smoke? roll ups, cigars?

it smokes $100 bills...about 4 of them
403forbidden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2004, 03:13 AM   #22
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver Bc
Posts: 349
Default

I think sometimes the smoke comes from the capacitors. That is why you cant see where it is coming from cause they just vent a bit like a battery or sumthing and then stop.

I also had a T30 that smoked when I accidentaly plugged it to the power supply wrong. No fuses blew or anything just smoked. After that I tried the charger and it was still working fine from what I could find. I guess that these things have a smoking habit all that nicotine I guess
shortygy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2004, 07:09 PM   #23
Registered User
 
ritchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,044
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tres
ritchie: ah....

Got ya...


Yes, you should be able to turn the dial while the motor is running and increase the voltage to the motor.

The same goes for the AMPS while charging.
ok, thanks for the answer, i'll try it again, if its not working i'll check all the fuses. then check web site for warranty info, thanks again.
ritchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to quit smoking ??? asw7576 Chat Lounge 139 12-08-2010 12:41 AM
smoking esc (xcelorin) matthewh Micro and Mini Scales 64 09-25-2009 03:43 PM
Smoking Motor calavera Rookie Zone 28 09-10-2007 12:00 PM
Smoking your tires ajg Electric On-Road 7 07-29-2004 09:03 AM
smoking tires...... wilson_bryant Nitro On-Road 18 07-20-2003 09:57 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:22 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net