Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Sanyo's new cells >

Sanyo's new cells

Sanyo's new cells

Old 10-06-2004, 02:10 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Des Moines Ia
Posts: 101
Default Sanyo's new cells

Does any one have any info on the "new" Sanyo 3600 cells. Are they in new shrink? Date codes? Are they avalible in the USA? Are there any testings avalible? Not that I wouldn't believe what Trinity says. I'm thinking about new cells. HAYWYRE
haywyre is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 02:30 PM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,915
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

The "new" RC 3600 is the old cell with tweaked chemistry and construction not a new cell

Same shrink was before

No date code info

They are not available in the US right now. Only Orion and GM have them in Europe and Yokomo in Japan.

All 10 drivers at the Last Japanese Nats used RC3600's...not one GP cell in the main. How's that for testing.

These cells will not hit the market until after the worlds. Expect them to cost ~25% more than GP3300 packs. They will be faster so you will have to get them no matter how expensive they are.

Be prepared to do do this all over again in ~4 months when GP's answer to the RC3600 comes out
AdrianM is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 03:20 PM
  #3  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,659
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

The battery wars begin again!
Jon Kerr is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 03:22 PM
  #4  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dallas,Texas
Posts: 459
Default

I thought they used the 3600 just so they could put more power down without worrying about dumping before the end of the race.
mtc3od is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 03:44 PM
  #5  
Company Representative
iTrader: (15)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,700
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

The current 3300 is more like a 3500 in most cases.

340 seconds @35 amps works out to 3300mah.

most cells these days that we are seeing is in the 350-365 range or 3500mah.

Adrian, We heard that they used the Sanyo cell because the higher resistance (higher AIR) made the 12th cars easier to drive at Yatabe with low turn motors.


Its hard to justify matching cells that are no better then what is offered now at a lower price.
Korgae is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 04:12 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,447
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I thought they only used the RC3600 batteries is because

1. It was 1/12th scale "Mod" and
2. It's an 8 minute run.

If it were stock, it would be a different story. That was my understanding. I dunno, not unless if you are talking about a whole new Sanyo 3600 cell.

The 3600's were taller than the GP3300's. But they were lighter.

They were recommended for offroad and pan cars. But not for Touring.

Of course maybe Adrian knows something we don't.. hehe..
JimmyMac is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 04:29 PM
  #7  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
gee-dub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fontana, CA
Posts: 622
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

i wonder if the organizations will step up to put cost and technology limitations on batteries.

kind of ironic that we regulate just about every facet of a motor, but when it comes to batteries we do little more than size and composition. of course on the flip side, the vast majority of tracks don't follow the letter of the law anyway.
gee-dub is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 05:57 PM
  #8  
Tech Addict
 
Fire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 703
Default

i guess it is hard to put limits on batts as size is the only thing that is obvious
Fire is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 06:02 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (70)
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Dallas,Tx
Posts: 3,671
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

The 2 packs I have are slower in stock.
They have about 25-30 seconds MORE runtime than my GPs but less voltage and alot higher IR.
They are ok in mod but I wont be using them in stock anytime soon.(NOTE) they were about $20.00 more PER pack as well.

Korgae is right.If GP gets their runtimes back up they are still the dominate cell and alot cheaper to the public even with their small price increase.Plus better performing.

Sanyo 3600's were used due to at the time GP's only showing about 420-430 runtime at 30 where as the 3600's were showing 450-465 runtime.That lil bit was helping and the Ir's were smoother.

My cousin is stationed over there and was in the Pits talking with racers on why they were running 3600's.

I hope this info helps.
TexRacer is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 06:18 AM
  #10  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,915
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Tex - You and everyone else has the old batch of 3600's. The new stuff is COMPLETELY diffrent. Low IR, High Voltage, High run time. We have guys running these cells in Europe. We know first hand about this.
AdrianM is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 06:24 AM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (21)
 
Jeff Werner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 2,359
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Are your drivers reporting how they compare to the GP's that they had been running? I am like everyone else kinda got ue to the great price/performance of the GP's.

Thanks

Jeff
Jeff Werner is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 07:07 AM
  #12  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (9)
 
ddesros2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Windsor, Canada-eh!!
Posts: 405
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

In stock and 19T classes the 3600 cells will provide no advantage. On a local level there is no need to run out and get the 3600 cells. I'm sticking with my 3300 GP's and I will still win races over guys with 3600's (because I practice )
ddesros2 is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 07:13 AM
  #13  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by AdrianM
The "new" RC 3600 is the old cell with tweaked chemistry and construction not a new cell

Same shrink was before

No date code info

They are not available in the US right now. Only Orion and GM have them in Europe and Yokomo in Japan.

All 10 drivers at the Last Japanese Nats used RC3600's...not one GP cell in the main. How's that for testing.

These cells will not hit the market until after the worlds. Expect them to cost ~25% more than GP3300 packs. They will be faster so you will have to get them no matter how expensive they are.

Be prepared to do do this all over again in ~4 months when GP's answer to the RC3600 comes out



You are incorrect about them being available in the US. Integy has them for sale, matched and ready to go. they are not premade packs so you will have to solder, but the numbers were great on the cells I got from them. like 650 sec and they were 1.174 volts which aren't the best but this pack I got last forever. Now for racing, I wouldn't bother unless your track is going to make the main 6+ minutes then go for them. I use mine mainly for practice and set-up you get the most of your practice runs and you can get much more data from your lap times that way. I have run these for 8 minutes before lap times showed any serious drop. I think it is time to increase the MAINS time to 7 minutes, I'm ready ARE YOU? LOL

Last edited by Mr. Shookie; 10-07-2004 at 07:32 AM.
Mr. Shookie is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 07:17 AM
  #14  
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,988
Default

Originally posted by shooky
I think it is time to increase the MAINS time to 7 minutes, I'm ready ARE YOU?
The fundamental problem with this argument is that the newbies who get a car for christmas will only get a 1500 pack or similar - they haven't got a hope of making a 7 minute race (some struggle to do 5!). It's disheartening enough that they are half the speed of the top racers - but if they never fininshed a race, they would be even more turned off.

EDIT: Just checked Integy's page, they must be 1.174 at 30A, because they are getting 1.24+ at 20A - that's pretty impressive numbers...
sosidge is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 07:24 AM
  #15  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (6)
 
Matt Howard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Abilene TX
Posts: 5,952
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

let's go race nitro. At least when GP releases a new cell all the matchers have a chance to get them at the same time, more or less. Sanyo always seems so secretive whenever they release something new that actually works. Maybe it has something to do with trinity being the only U.S. importer, I don't know.
Matt Howard is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.