Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Battery Bars or Braid... >

Battery Bars or Braid...

Battery Bars or Braid...

Old 10-08-2004, 01:02 PM
  #16  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Silver Cup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Belagio
Posts: 3,730
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Exclamation 1st degree burn

I kinda figured that, I've got myself one time with soldering brushes on the motor endbell. One time is all it takes.
Silver Cup is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 01:24 PM
  #17  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Talking Re: 1st degree burn

Originally posted by Silver Cup
I kinda figured that, I've got myself one time with soldering brushes on the motor endbell. One time is all it takes.
Yeah - Use needle nose pliers
John Fontaine is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 01:26 PM
  #18  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigain
Posts: 8
Default

I noticed this thread up here today about braid.

I have been using braid on all my team packs for a couple years know.
We have special braid that has more strains then some of the others.

I agree it lowers IR. I believe this greatly due to the fact that braid has more surface area then bars.
Also because it is more flexible and allows for a tight solder joint to the cell.

I will post a pic of our braid up here in a bit.

If anybody wants to try some shoot me an email and we can work something out.

Jeff M
OTEC racing
JeffM is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 01:27 PM
  #19  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Silver Cup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Belagio
Posts: 3,730
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: 1st degree burn

Originally posted by John Fontaine
Yeah - Use needle nose pliers
Definately!!
Silver Cup is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 03:06 PM
  #20  
Tech Apprentice
 
vaiogeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 59
Default Braid

I've been using braid for a while too. You can also find unshielded braid in Radio Shack or other store used for de-soldering - called Solder Wick.

I found that some of the hi-fi shops carry high quality thick gauge braid for stereo systems - very high copper content stuff. I've used that with nice results.

When soldering remember that your solder is going to try to "wick" up the braid so hold on to it very close to the solder joint with needle nose plyers or with a soldering heatsink clamp (very handy little item).
vaiogeek is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 03:14 PM
  #21  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Silver Cup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Belagio
Posts: 3,730
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Re: Braid

Originally posted by vaiogeek
I've been using braid for a while too. You can also find unshielded braid in Radio Shack or other store used for de-soldering - called Solder Wick.

I found that some of the hi-fi shops carry high quality thick gauge braid for stereo systems - very high copper content stuff. I've used that with nice results.

When soldering remember that your solder is going to try to "wick" up the braid so hold on to it very close to the solder joint with needle nose plyers or with a soldering heatsink clamp (very handy little item).
Does the highcopper content do anything for internal resistance?
Silver Cup is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 04:14 PM
  #22  
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

Does the highcopper content do anything for internal resistance?
No, current flows on the outside, not the inside of an object... The more surface area you can provide the more current you can flow... I always used braid until recently.... Just couldn't find it and was too lazy to look hard...
vtl1180ny is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 05:54 PM
  #23  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Silver Cup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Belagio
Posts: 3,730
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Ok very good then. Thanks for the info.
Silver Cup is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 07:33 PM
  #24  
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 244
Default

i always use braid on my reiciver packs but never thought of using it on the actual pack
T Allen is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 07:36 PM
  #25  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Silver Cup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Belagio
Posts: 3,730
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Any particular reason

Originally posted by T Allen
i always use braid on my reiciver packs but never thought of using it on the actual pack
Just curious, How come?
Silver Cup is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 07:47 PM
  #26  
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 244
Default

prolly because everyone used bars
T Allen is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 07:54 PM
  #27  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Silver Cup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Belagio
Posts: 3,730
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Talking Me too

Originally posted by T Allen
prolly because everyone used bars
I have exactly the same excuse. Are you considering it now?
Silver Cup is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 07:27 AM
  #28  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigain
Posts: 8
Default

I have attached a pic of the braid we having been using.
See my previous post for more info.

Later,
Jeff
JeffM is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 07:30 AM
  #29  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigain
Posts: 8
Default

Opps file was too big.
Attached Thumbnails Battery Bars or Braid...-dsc04233.jpg  
JeffM is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 07:43 AM
  #30  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Silver Cup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: The Belagio
Posts: 3,730
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Talking Braid my Batts

Cool, do you flare out the end like that and then tin it?
Silver Cup is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.