R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-02-2011, 06:44 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default Does anyone not run a servo saver?

I'm considering not running a servo saver for my TC. Anybody doing this with success?
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 08:02 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I like the direct feel of the car without a servo-saver, but you need to be careful. One good hit and say bye-bye to your servo gears. What servo are you running and do you hit a lot of stuff? Is your track forgiving if you clip a turn/corner? I like running without a saver, but on some tracks I'll run one. Usually the Tamiya Black saver with an aluminum horn (a must for this saver).
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 08:53 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

I'm trying to run a mini servo with my photon but it's profile is too low so the conventional 12th scale servo saver won't allow me to lay it flush. Maybe there are other servo savers out there. I'll look around.
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 09:42 PM   #4
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,519
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Dont do it Pakk.
racenut123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 09:51 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 276
Default

I am using a bls451 in my TC6 without saver for long time. Mini servo I don't think it is a good idea.......
__________________
http://www.gpm-parts.com
gpm-parts.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 10:02 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

lol i know.....
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 04:47 AM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
UrabusDenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 790
Default

It depends ... For example , we run 1/10 outdoors on a really large track with nothing to hit , so nobody has a servo saver . On indoor 1/18 carpet however it's a different story . I destroyed 2 servos on my M18 last year even though I have an Atomic servo saver ( which needs an American screw , I don't know how to explain it in English , hope you understand ... )
UrabusDenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 07:09 AM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Robert_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Netherlands, Sweet Lake City
Posts: 500
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Pakk

A good friend of mine is running a 12th scale servo in his TC for almost a year now. It works great for him. I dont like the feeling of it, but I'm not sure, maybe I didn't test enough.

Im running no servo saver for years in My TC. Outdoors that's really no problem. I'm using a plastic servo horn for indoors, so whit a good hit, the plastic teeth in the horn get destroyd instead of the servo. It works for me

Regards
Robert
__________________
Sponsored by: Schumacher Racing and Dualsky
Supported by: Shepherd Benelux and Thunder Tiger.
Robert_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 07:30 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Thanks guys.

I ended up sanding the chassis down a bit to allow the servo saver to clear. Looks like bad weather for us this weekend and big off road race the next, so I might not be able to test it for a few weeks.

As far as the 12th scale servo deal, some of these smaller servos exceed normal sized and low profile servos. I picked up a cheap one from ebay for $30. Specs are something like .08 and 70oz or torque. Being that my TC weights less than 50oz, that should be enough, at least on paper it should be.
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 09:17 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
seaball's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,303
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to seaball
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pakk View Post
I'm trying to run a mini servo with my photon but it's profile is too low so the conventional 12th scale servo saver won't allow me to lay it flush. Maybe there are other servo savers out there. I'll look around.
use the associated saver from the mgt kit. strong as balls. you may even want to remove the outter spring. test it with servo powered up. ideally, the saver's 'break torque' exceeds the servo torque, but not the holding power.

__________________
*** The Gate II - Home of Mike Wise ***
seaball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 01:32 PM   #11
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 66
Default

Or a Kimbrough servo saver They're awsome and doesn't tend to wear out like some other do...
Skynet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 02:37 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
locked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,758
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hey Pakk. I wouldn't run with no servo saver on a Photon. Even with an upgraded alloy bellcrank, the corrugated end piece of the bellcrank that the steering linkages connect to is still plastic and can break pretty easily, even with a servo saver. A friend of mine broke 3 in a weekend and then switched cars because of it. They don't sell just that piece, so you have to buy a complete replacement plastic bellcrank set. Fortunately, I've only had one break ever. I use a Kimborough servo saver on one of my cars and a TOP servo saver on my other one. I like the TOP servo saver. The Kimborough medium rubs the chassis without some modification. The TOP one does not.
__________________
Dave Locke
Team PerformanceHobbies.ca | ORCA RC | Bodies by Brandon | Team Meeting
XRAY T4'15 x2 | XRAY XB4 | XRAY XB8E | XRAY XB8

Last edited by locked; 06-04-2011 at 01:32 AM. Reason: cognitive flatulence
locked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 06:40 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: oakville
Posts: 318
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default saver

I have a top photon too. I was running mine with out. I destroyed the gears sets in two of my orion LPF servos. I also run a cougar SV offroad. There is a mod out to get a saver in there which I should have done it. As I lost another orion in a hit. I am hoping the savox gear sets will work to fix these. I running tamiya ones now... No more issues..
__________________
TLR 22
Desc410r
zleader_99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1/12 forum ovalnator Electric On-Road 46185 Today 11:05 AM
Schumacher Mi4 Woz Electric On-Road 3944 11-15-2017 07:21 AM
Schumacher Corner meche Electric On-Road 27727 07-20-2015 08:38 PM
Does TT-01 has a potential? Blackwrench™ Rookie Zone 343 10-25-2013 08:31 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:00 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net