R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-03-2004, 02:00 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: indiana
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to dasupacat
Default Novak or Rayspeed discharger...?

I need a dishcarger...I know all about the Novak, but don't know much about the Rayspeed discharger. Except that it's cheaper. Can anybody fill me in on which they prefer and some specs on it? does it discharge to .9v per cell? Do I have to moniter it? etc.
dasupacat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 03:19 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
Fire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 703
Default

the novak is pretty much the same as the rayspeed, except on the novak you can adjust the cut off voltage and on the rayspeed you can adjust the dsicharge rate
Fire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 04:25 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: indiana
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to dasupacat
Default

What amps can you discharge on Rayspeed?
dasupacat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 06:14 PM   #4
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 75
Default

i like the novak. i never use it as a discharger, i use a indi reator 30, and then the novak to equalize. this set up produces amazing results.
e money is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 07:10 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 208
Default

The major difference between the two is that you can place a fully charged pack on the Novak. The Rayspeed does NOT recommend doing this. However, I have taken a pack after a run and placed on the unit without any problems.

The Rayspeed has two modes. An equalizing mode and a conditioning mode.

The Equalizing mode discharges at 5A down to 0.9v
The Conditioning mode discharges at 1A down to 0.1v

There is NiMH and NiCD switch with a fixed 0.9v or 0.01v shutoff respectively on the battery type.

The unit comes with a nice fan and works as designed. I have been using the Rayspeed for three months without any problems. The Rayspeed unit uses thumb screws to make contact with the batteries the Novak unit uses tabs. Some people have complained that the screwed had worn out quickly, I put a tiny bit of dielectric lub on the screws and have not seen a problem.

The Novak is pain with certain pack configurations.

I race with others who have the Novak and we have swapped units a few times and I cannot say that either of us have seen a major difference between the two in terms of battery performance. They both do the same thing in that sense and they help keep the batteries matched.

The Novak units benefit is the adjustability -- it all depends how much more important that feature is to you to justify the extra cost.

I own two Rayspeeds and I have used the Novak for several weeks at a time and I would say they are both very good units its a matter of what features are important to you and how much you want to pay for them.
LeadFoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 08:21 PM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: indiana
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to dasupacat
Default

Cool. I think I might try that Rayspeed. Better bargain for me. I like that ut can discharge at 5A to .9v. I won't have to moniter will I?
dasupacat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 09:38 PM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 208
Default

dasupacat:

No, you will NOT have to monitor it. It also make a big "click" sound when it turns off and if you are close enough and its not too loud in your race pit you will hear it. Also, each cell has a light and as each cell hits the cut off you will see its light go off.
LeadFoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 10:08 PM   #8
Tech Regular
 
donoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Daly City, CA
Posts: 264
Send a message via Yahoo to donoman
Default

The best advice is to use the Search function.
donoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2004, 06:59 PM   #9
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: indiana
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to dasupacat
Default

Will the Rayspeed discharge a 4 cell pack?
dasupacat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2004, 07:14 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
picco007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: TX.
Posts: 1,814
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to picco007 Send a message via Yahoo to picco007
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dasupacat
Will the Rayspeed discharge a 4 cell pack?
Yes it will dischare a 4 cell pack. Just make sure the battery bar placement is correct which is self explanatory.
__________________
EA Motorsports
picco007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2004, 07:27 PM   #11
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: indiana
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to dasupacat
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dasupacat
Will the Rayspeed discharge a 4 cell pack?
srry bout the dumb ???'s ....so even though it doesn't have contacts for each individual cell like the novak.....it will discharge 4 & 6 cells
dasupacat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2004, 07:32 PM   #12
Registered User
 
ritchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,044
Default

yes
ritchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2004, 07:37 PM   #13
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 208
Default

dasupacat:

The Rayspeed Manual is online at the link below. Look under manuals

http://www.yokomousa.com/index3.htm
LeadFoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2004, 08:36 PM   #14
Tech Addict
 
Fire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 703
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dasupacat
srry bout the dumb ???'s ....so even though it doesn't have contacts for each individual cell like the novak.....it will discharge 4 & 6 cells
the contacts for the 2 cells that don't have individual screws are done thru the battary bars on your packs, so each cell are independent of each others when discharging. just 4 less screws to mess with
Fire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2004, 10:36 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
picco007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: TX.
Posts: 1,814
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to picco007 Send a message via Yahoo to picco007
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dasupacat
srry bout the dumb ???'s ....so even though it doesn't have contacts for each individual cell like the novak.....it will discharge 4 & 6 cells

don't worry, there are no dumb questions here.
__________________
EA Motorsports
picco007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rayspeed discharger emulberry Electric On-Road 2 09-30-2007 10:48 PM
RAYSPEED DISCHARGER TOEBSTER2 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 05-01-2007 02:43 PM
Rayspeed discharger II Fast R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 10 02-20-2007 11:09 AM
FS rayspeed discharger rai13 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 12-14-2005 01:21 PM
Rayspeed discharger P2 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 03-19-2005 08:40 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:43 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net