Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Cobra AC tire lathe motor replacement >

Cobra AC tire lathe motor replacement

Cobra AC tire lathe motor replacement

Old 10-02-2004, 08:31 PM
  #1  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: IN , usa
Posts: 29
Default Cobra AC tire lathe motor replacement

I bought a cobra tire lathe to turn down my t4 tire foams and i ended up burning up the motor. but i was just wondering if any one knows of a motor that i could put in there that has about the same speed but more power to cut through thicker foam. i have heard that the motor that is in it is the same as a sweaper motor is this true ?
thanks for your time
taylor
rccarsrrad is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 08:59 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (23)
 
ALBERTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Posts: 2,986
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Default

any 55 turn slave motor will work.. If you need to get it done. use any junkey stock motor. I had the delux with the belt drive when the motor and belt took a dump I used a stock motor 100spur and a 30 pinion. In a pinch ya gotta whats needed. Good luck, ALBERTO
ALBERTO is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 09:05 PM
  #3  
JKA
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,000
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

If it is the AC version (plugs into the outlet rather than a power supply) the DO NOT use a stock or 55 turn motor. If its the AC version you must use an AC motor. Cobra has replacement on their website http://www.teamcobra.com/cobra/tirelathes.htm

I also toasted an AC motor! lol
JKA is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 09:07 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (23)
 
ALBERTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Posts: 2,986
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Default

doh!!!!!!!!!
ya what he said !!!!!
ALBERTO is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 09:24 PM
  #5  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: IN , usa
Posts: 29
Default

yea well to but an another stock AC motor is kinda like the last option i really want one with more power. right now my foams are missing 1/2 the foam in some places yet a was able to get 3rd in a main out of about 15-20 other trucks but i dont think they are going to last many more nights
tay
rccarsrrad is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 01:00 AM
  #6  
Tech Adept
 
akrcracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 200
Default

I have a Ac version. The motor works fine. What kind of cutter do you have?? I use a typhoon coarse carbide burr. It cuts tires down very fast.

Last edited by akrcracer; 10-03-2004 at 01:07 AM.
akrcracer is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 03:12 AM
  #7  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (3)
 
rattlr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 92
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

akrcracer where did you get carbide cutter at
rattlr2 is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 03:41 AM
  #8  
Tech Adept
 
akrcracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 200
Default

You can go to www.micromark.com. Part #81961 or "81962 fine"probably will cut better than snakecutter. I also heard you can get burrs from lowes too about the same prices. But if you get one from micromark, you will start getting their catalog. I think its cool.

Last edited by akrcracer; 10-03-2004 at 10:10 PM.
akrcracer is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 08:02 PM
  #9  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: IN , usa
Posts: 29
Default

im using a snake skin cutter cutting green t4 foam tires
rccarsrrad is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.