Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
How do I make a spool? >

How do I make a spool?

How do I make a spool?

Old 10-02-2004, 07:05 PM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,313
How do I make a spool?

I'm going to run mod on a tight track, so I need a spool for the Pro 4. No company has begun to distribute a spool for the Pro 4. Can someone describe to me the process for making a spool out of a standard Pro 4 diff? And advice or links would be greatly appreciated. Thanks Chad
ChadCapece is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 07:08 PM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
 
pink pac man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: RATED X RACING Canberra,Australia
Posts: 894
Default

just fill the diff with supa glue and try to take as mutch of the parts out.................rotating waight oh and buy another diff
pink pac man is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 07:26 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,355
Default

I wouldn't recommend CA glue, it makes your parts useless afterwards. Here's a pretty good way to "convert" your ball diff to a spool.
1. Remove the diff balls and diff rings.
2. Replace the diff rings with a piece of header card that is cut to the same size (that thin cardboard that the name/price/etc. of a part is printed on)
3. Screw the diff back down really tight.

(Note: there may be another/better way to build this.)

This way, the diff acts like a spool, but if forced, it will give a little, so you don't snap parts. Hope this helps.
micros_rock is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 07:27 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,313
Default

Thanks for your advice. Is there a way to bolt a diff shut? I've heard of this, but never been told how to do it?
ChadCapece is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 07:33 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
EDWARD2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 2,078
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Spool out already

check out www.teamorion.com they just posted a pro 4 spool that hpi came out with.

Edward
EDWARD2003 is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 07:34 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Nrctc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Summerville, SC
Posts: 2,541
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

HPI just released the spool for the Pro4.
Nrctc3 is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 07:39 PM
  #7  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 37
Default

whats the point of a diff anyway....... what does it do?
big_dave is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 07:42 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Nrctc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Summerville, SC
Posts: 2,541
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

The diff allows the outside tire to rotate faster than the inside tire to help it turn. The spool locks both tires.
Nrctc3 is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 07:44 PM
  #9  
Tech Fanatic
 
pink pac man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: RATED X RACING Canberra,Australia
Posts: 894
Default

cos when you turn a corner the outer wheel has to travel a larger curcumfrence than the inner wheel so the diff alowes the wheels to spin at different speeds when cornering......................................do you get it
pink pac man is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 07:45 PM
  #10  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 37
Default

could insuffcient grease on my diff be causing me to spin around corners........esp when im comnig out of apex........all i hear is a loud squeel and then im turned around lol. Yea i get it 100% ive jsut never really thought of it
big_dave is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 07:46 PM
  #11  
Tech Fanatic
 
pink pac man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: RATED X RACING Canberra,Australia
Posts: 894
Default

and a spool is a completly solid shaft with no diff action at all
pink pac man is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 07:48 PM
  #12  
Tech Fanatic
 
pink pac man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: RATED X RACING Canberra,Australia
Posts: 894
Default

man you guys post quik......................i pack the crap out of my diffs so i dont have to rebuild them all the time but it could be that your diff is to loose
pink pac man is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 07:53 PM
  #13  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: fl
Posts: 93
Default spool

go to hpi website they are getting ready to realease a spool for the pro 4
literw2 is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 07:57 PM
  #14  
Tech Fanatic
 
pink pac man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: RATED X RACING Canberra,Australia
Posts: 894
Default

is alread out look up the page or go to www.teamorion.com
pink pac man is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 08:04 PM
  #15  
Tech Addict
 
LosiRacerX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Pierce, Ne
Posts: 712
Default

so would you put the diff in the front or the back for a tc3
LosiRacerX is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.