Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
broke my first set of arms >

broke my first set of arms

broke my first set of arms

Reply

Old 10-02-2004, 04:01 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 499
Unhappy broke my first set of arms

well i ran my rtr tc3 into my moms front wheel of her car and snapped the left front arm in half, so i order some more of tower, i got factory team front suspenshion arms, on the description it says that thier "carbon fiber construction" are the stock rtr arms carbon fiber i was wondering so when i get the one arms is plastic and the other is carbon fiber?
kh15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 04:04 PM
  #2  
Tech Addict
 
j240z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Everybody to the limit!
Posts: 651
Default

The factory team arms are different from the rtr arms. The factory team carbon arms are stiffer and will break even more easily if you hit something. If you're going to be bashing in parking lots and driveways I would recommend sticking with the regular plastic suspension parts.
j240z is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 07:00 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 499
Default

oh that sucks i just have to make sure i dont hit anything to hard,
thats all tower hobbies had

and the pin that holds the block on the end of the arm, when i slide it in its pretty snug, so what is that little grub screw for should i tighten it so the pin doesent pull out
kh15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 07:07 PM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3stocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: TN, America
Posts: 869
Default

don't worry about them being more fragile, every arm I have bought from AE that was graphite has been twice as strong as the composite ones (the stock ones) and believe me, I have hit stuff and jumped off into stuff at pretty high speeds and with a bunch of strength
tc3stocker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 07:12 PM
  #5  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 499
Default

yea i'm about to buy some aluminum ones to they even make them for a tc3?

and anyone know about the pin that holds the block on
kh15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 07:15 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Default

Originally posted by kh15
and the pin that holds the block on the end of the arm, when i slide it in its pretty snug, so what is that little grub screw for should i tighten it so the pin doesent pull out
The grub screw is for holding down the pin so it doesn't slide out. Make sure the pin has a little indent or groove (or flat side) so that the screw actually has something to grip onto, instead of a round surface.
DOMOisCOOL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 07:16 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Default

Originally posted by kh15
yea i'm about to buy some aluminum ones to they even make them for a tc3?

and anyone know about the pin that holds the block on
Do not buy aluminum arms.

When you break the plastic or carbon graphite arms, they break, and are cheap to replace compared to the aluminum ones. And plus, aluminum ones bend which are much worse.
DOMOisCOOL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 07:38 PM
  #8  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 499
Default

okay thanks but i dont think they will slide out anytime soon i took the grub screw out and still had to put the arm in my vice while i tapped the pin out
kh15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 09:21 PM
  #9  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 499
Default

is the hole for the droop screw on my new arms gonna be pre-treaded? if not its gonna be a pain to tread those grub screws into untapped holes
kh15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 09:25 PM
  #10  
Tech Master
 
Speedie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,844
Default

The arms do not come pre threaded but it isnt too hard to get them in just do it before you install it so you can do it on a flat surface.
Speedie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 09:34 PM
  #11  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: canton,ohio
Posts: 61
Smile

i broke my first a arm today on my tc3 but i also bent the hinge pin how hard are the titanium ones to bend would it be worth spending the extra 10$ and just get titaniums instead of the stock ones?
Aadolf is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 09:41 PM
  #12  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,154
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

If I understand correctly... you said you had to put your arm in a vice and tap your hinge pin to get it out of the arm.....then you have a slightly bent hinge pin.....or a tweaked arm......they should "almost" fall out of the arm on their own weight if you hold the arm on it's side.....consider getting the factory team hinge pin set...there way stronger as well as having a polished surface....I think they're around 9 bucks.......and like the others said....the aluminum arms are not a good idea
Joe B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 09:47 PM
  #13  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,154
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The titanium hinge pins, like the lundsfords ones, are litteraly like butter.....They will bend even just from slight taps...In my experience about the only places they somewhat last ,is in the outer hubs in the front and rear because of being so short.....when I first ran them years ago ....and they bent so quickly and easily.....I contacted lundsford and "they" even said not to use them on the inner arms for the tc3.....now thats pretty bad
Joe B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 11:49 PM
  #14  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 499
Default

it must have been the arm because i rolled the pin across my table and it was smooth, does it matter wether or not the pin is tight or not just as long as it holds the arm on?
kh15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 12:40 AM
  #15  
Tech Master
 
Speedie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,844
Default

I would just buy the standard cheap pins and polish them yourself. I chuck them up in my cordless drill and use 200 grit sandpaper to polish them.
Speedie is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service