R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-02-2004, 03:57 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 147
Default AMB Timing loop

I have a question for anyone who has built a timing loop for and amb system. I am putting a loop in for a new track but the track changes from 8 foot lanes for road course to 10 foot lanes for oval. How can I build the loop so I dont have to buy two loops?
JimMcClure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 04:03 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: England
Posts: 257
Default

If I understand you correctly, you have 2 different options, and the timing loop will be in 2 places? If so, don't run it under the track, make a "bridge" about 12ins wide, 2 foot high and if it's made of thin wood / perspex, won't interfere with the drivers view of the car. This could be made adjustable with a hinged portion to extend for the wider track.
TraceRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 05:13 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
onebeatuptc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Outside Peachtree city in GA
Posts: 552
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to onebeatuptc3
Default

I would say make it out of pvc, and with that, you would be able to add extensions to one end to make it just 2 feet longer. But But i would also say, make it about 2 feet high, and 12 inches wide.
onebeatuptc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 05:58 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Scrubb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 834
Default

Just buy a second loop
Scrubb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2004, 10:45 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 147
Default

We already have a bridge loop that can change from 10 to 8 feet, just thought it would really clean the track up putting it under the carpet.
JimMcClure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 12:01 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
nashrcracer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: LA - Lower Antioch
Posts: 4,911
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

whoa!!! I'll find out the resistor to use but just put down 18ga speaker wire and put the resistor that i'll find the part number for from radio shack! like $2 you can have as many loops as you want and you won't pay $300 from AMB
__________________
RC50 As you come into this world, something else is also born. You begin your life, and it begins a journey towards you. It moves slowly, but it never stops. Wherever you go, whatever path you take, it will follow never faster, never slower, always coming. You will run, it will walk. You will rest, it will not. One day, you will linger in the same place too long you will sit too still, or sleep too deep. And when, too late, you rise to go, you will notice a second shadow next to yours. Your life will then be over.
nashrcracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 12:32 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Neil Rabara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lone Star
Posts: 4,821
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JimMcClure
We already have a bridge loop that can change from 10 to 8 feet, just thought it would really clean the track up putting it under the carpet.
Under the carpet is better than on top of it. However, you may need another loop if you are going to do oval.
Neil Rabara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 08:28 PM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 147
Default

Yeah nashrcracer, If you could find out what is at the end of the loop that would be covered by the carpet that would be great. I was thinking it was a diode but that was just a guess.
JimMcClure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 08:35 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,580
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

At the end of the official AMB loop is a resistor (i.e. the little black box). You could go to rat shack and get one but the cool thing is you don't need it. Just run cheap 14 guage wire. It will work fine.
kcobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 08:59 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
RC Scoring Pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Elm Grove, WI (Milwaukee area) USA
Posts: 2,010
Default

Look on www.sgrid.com, Nitro Offroad Racing, item #200. I think I remember people saying the new loops from AMB no longer have a resistor. Just use 18 ga. wire or so.
__________________
RCScoringPro.com

Official software of: ROAR Nationals, IIC, Cactus Classic, Indoor Champs, Reedy Race and Trackside Hobbies in Brookfield, WI!
RC Scoring Pro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 09:23 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,628
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

WE have the newer amb system and we run 2 loops under the carpet for road and oval tracks as well as a 3rd loop that goes to our micro track. ITs simple speaker wire and we used deans connectors to attach each loop separately at the main amb wiring. We run oval and micro on 2 tracks on the same night.
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2004, 09:26 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Joel Lagace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,628
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Update: on our micro track we went under the carpet but we plan to change it to a bridge over top because the wire is noticable when the cars run over it. Its not major but it is annoying
__________________
"Without Rules its just Backyard Bashing!"
www.rcottawa.com
Joel Lagace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2004, 07:35 AM   #13
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Joel Lagace: do you use the same coax and black box?
__________________
Tre's
TnT-Fx Custom Graphics
www.tnt-fx.com
Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2004, 08:08 AM   #14
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 338
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Post Bury the loop

At the "Gate" in Cleveland, we buried the loop by using a router to cut a small slot for the wire. I don't know what surface you have below your carpet, so that might not work. We have our carpet laid on vinyl tiles. Just a thought!!
brianrice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2004, 04:35 PM   #15
Super Moderator
 
Brandon Rohde's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Green Bay, WI / Lake Forest, CA
Posts: 840
Default

If you go to Radio Shack, get 18 gauge speaker wire and a pack of 5 watt, 420 ohm, 1% tolerance resistors. It will cost about $3 for everything. This is what I have run at our track for the last 7 years because I tilled up our original loop by accident, and we have never once had trouble with it. If you look in the AMB Manual, these are the specs they give for the loop and resistor.
__________________
Brandon Rohde
LiveRC.com and LiveTime
Brandon Rohde is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference b/tween ESC timing and timing on motor? Loverc Electric On-Road 8 04-11-2008 05:45 PM
## AMBRC Timing Detection Loop ## Seyruuen R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 11-25-2007 10:09 PM
AMB Loop pc9840 Electric On-Road 9 10-01-2007 09:28 AM
Timing loop bridges FWR Racing Forum 6 09-17-2005 12:08 AM
AMB Loop diagram..... Tres Electric On-Road 10 06-05-2004 06:06 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:18 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net