v2 adaptor

Old 10-02-2004, 03:27 AM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
pink pac man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: RATED X RACING Canberra,Australia
Posts: 894
Thumbs up v2 adaptor

i just bourght one of the v2 endbell adaption kits for stock and 19t motors from stormer hobbies and im wandering what sort of power increase am i looking at if i put it on my reedy quad mag[also ordered from stormer] and if any1 has had any problems with it ........................also i have no idea[from looking at pics] where you whould solder the wires can any1 tell me where they go or if a orion v2 endbell will even fit on a reedy quad mag



sorry if there is already a v2 thread

Last edited by pink pac man; 10-02-2004 at 03:37 AM.
pink pac man is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 03:58 AM
  #2  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 139
Default

Reedy motors are based on Yokomo cans, and the endbell-kit for Yokomo-motors vill fit. I believe that a V2 endbell on the Quad Mag Spec motor will increase RPM, wich probably is a good thing for this über-torque motor
Erlend is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 04:24 AM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
pink pac man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: RATED X RACING Canberra,Australia
Posts: 894
Default

ive run into a slight problem the endbell adaptor is bushinged and the reedy quad mag is bearinged...................................sh*t
pink pac man is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 04:26 AM
  #4  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 139
Default

Try to switch the bushing with the bearing that came with the Quad Mag?
Erlend is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 04:42 AM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
JDXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Re: v2 adaptor

Originally posted by pink pac man
i just bourght one of the v2 endbell adaption kits for stock and 19t motors from stormer hobbies and im wandering what sort of power increase am i looking at if i put it on my reedy quad mag[also ordered from stormer] and if any1 has had any problems with it ........................also i have no idea[from looking at pics] where you whould solder the wires can any1 tell me where they go or if a orion v2 endbell will even fit on a reedy quad mag



sorry if there is already a v2 thread

You solder the wires to that gold rounded plate where the brushes go in.

Jon
JDXray is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 04:46 AM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
pink pac man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: RATED X RACING Canberra,Australia
Posts: 894
Default

thats a quere place to put the wires and ill guess il have to try to take the bearing out and switch it
pink pac man is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 04:51 AM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
JDXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by pink pac man
thats a quere place to put the wires and ill guess il have to try to take the bearing out and switch it
Yes alittle weird but no biggy. As for getting that bearing out, you can use an allen wrench or something with a big head that will cover most of the bearing and take a hammer and slightly tap it out.
JDXray is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 04:55 AM
  #8  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
pink pac man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: RATED X RACING Canberra,Australia
Posts: 894
Default

altho i dont want to risk it im gonna have to do that
pink pac man is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 05:03 AM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
JDXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by pink pac man
altho i dont want to risk it im gonna have to do that
Well do it anyway you like.
JDXray is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 05:06 AM
  #10  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
pink pac man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: RATED X RACING Canberra,Australia
Posts: 894
Default

i ment tap the bearing out [you method is fine that what im gonna use]
pink pac man is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 09:07 AM
  #11  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (13)
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,169
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I thought the v2 conversion wasn't really for the big com of the 9mm reedy motors? It will make for a weird brush overlap. They were designed to have the laydown brushes to get the correct overlap. Anyways, let us know how it works.

-Korey
Korey Harbke is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 12:24 PM
  #12  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: AZ
Posts: 256
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

You can only put them on the Reedy PT and TI as they have the smaller comm. They will not work on the KR.....
ultragraffics is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 02:31 PM
  #13  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (2)
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,073
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Sushi Boy
I thought the v2 conversion wasn't really for the big com of the 9mm reedy motors? It will make for a weird brush overlap. They were designed to have the laydown brushes to get the correct overlap. Anyways, let us know how it works.

-Korey
Correct, from the ads & other comments I've heard, the V2 endbell kit is only designed for standard-size commutators, so the big-comm Reedy motors are not a good idea to try it on(their diameter when new is frequently over .350" & the V2conversion kit mentions only using it on comms of .300" diameter & smaller)....
Grizzbob is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 03:25 PM
  #14  
Tech Regular
 
Hardriven RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Aartselaar Belgium
Posts: 345
Default

Using a V2 endbell will gain you NO rpm and NO torque! Only thing you will gain is that you can get away with skimming the com for the entire race. Thats all, don't let anyone tell you different.
Don't always believe the adds! All company's are in bussiness to earn money (nothing wrong with that) but they sometimes try to sell us stuff that has no advantage.

Regards
Hardriven RC is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 06:53 PM
  #15  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
pink pac man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: RATED X RACING Canberra,Australia
Posts: 894
Default

ok so from what ive hard i cant put it on my reedy quad mag[i didnt buy it for the reedy anyway] so in fact that saves me a lot of time and effort cos i wanted to put it on my hellfire so i dont have to buy brushes every race metting and it cools down faster sweeet thanks guys ....................altho i will try it on the reedy to see if it works ill post back and tell you how it went
pink pac man is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.