R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   Complete novice needs advice (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/513602-complete-novice-needs-advice.html)

paulholman1980 05-15-2011 01:30 PM

Complete novice needs advice

Hi everyone

Iv just purchased a maverick strada xb evo s (It hasnt arrived yet)
This will be my first ever RC car
Im currently looking on ebay for battery packs to get the best performance from my RC car, but there are so many im just completely baffled.

I dont know if i should get a 7.2v or a 7.4v

Plus what is mAh?
And the c number on the end??

For example 7.4v 5000mAh 20c

What does all this mean??
And what is best for the model i have purchased.

Any advice would be massivly apprechiated

Thank you

Paul

RaceAce701 05-15-2011 02:18 PM

i would check out what ur local hobby shop has and talk to someone there that is knowlagable ebay is nice byt u can easily spent alot of money on junk most hobby shops carry good quality porducts that well supported by there manufacture

stephenianjames 05-15-2011 02:45 PM

Hi....welcome to the madness!

Firstly, good advice to check out your local hobby shop (LHS) as alot of ebay stuff is junk...I'm not referring to your car though, as I don't know what it is.

Re: the battery situation...it kind of gets complicated. The current battery technology is LiPo, which are nominally rated at 7.4v...their real voltage being closer to 8.4v when full charged. The mAh rating is the capacity of the battery...ie the amount of charge it holds, or in other terms the amount of gas in the tank'. The bigger the better. Lastly the 'C' rating is the discharge rate of the battery...ie how fast the battery can supply charge. Essentially faster motors will perform better with packs with higher 'C' rating. All of this is a simplification on battery technology...it goes deeper but that's basically it in a nut shell.