Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Ni-Cd's and Super Brain 969 >

Ni-Cd's and Super Brain 969

Ni-Cd's and Super Brain 969

Old 09-27-2004, 10:17 AM
  #1  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 74
Default Ni-Cd's and Super Brain 969

I just got into the RC hobby this summer, building a TC3 and buying a E-Maxx and a Revo.

I had my first tourcing car race a week ago and another coming up this weekend, as well as I plan on racing indoors all winter.

I have 5 packs of Team Orion 2400 Ni-Cd Rocket Packs. I had to start somewhere. I also have a Super Brain 969 Pro charger. I also built a 20amp bulb discharger.

Can anyone give me some tips on using the Super Brain with these packs? As well as any tips on keeping the packs at their best.

What should I be doing the day before the race to the batteries?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I plan on moving up to 3300 NiMh soon, but not just yet.
Galactik is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 08:25 PM
  #2  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 74
Default

*Bump*
Galactik is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 03:24 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: IN MY OWN HAPPY PLACE
Posts: 1,600
Default

what i would do is have all your packs discharged down to 5.4 then charge them the day of the race and discharge them when you done and leave them discharged untill the next time you plan on using them
Javen13 is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 06:48 PM
  #4  
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ROAR HAD ME BANNED FROM RC TECH.
Posts: 2,025
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

With that charger I've found it's best to charge at 4.5amps (it's max output) and let it select the peak voltage cut off. If it finishes charging a pack and the pack is not warm then adjust the peak voltage so it will charge the pack a little longer.

Adjust it a little at a time and you'll figure out what the best setting is. With mine once I ran the packs awhile the charger auto selected the peak cut off just fine and seems to charge them without issue, I just have to bump up the output when I plug the charger in initially.
Desolas is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.