R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-25-2004, 07:18 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
onebeatuptc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Outside Peachtree city in GA
Posts: 552
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to onebeatuptc3
Default Tc3 Composite Drive Shaft

Do they still make a composite driveshaft for the tc3 anymore? All i ever see is the aluminum ones lately, so i was wondering if the composite is still made.
onebeatuptc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2004, 07:50 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Sal Amato's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Long Island ,New York
Posts: 2,192
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

I don't think so ,I've seen after market ones cant remember where though
__________________
360 RC SPEEDWAY 2.0

AWESOMATIX USA-SANWA--BSR--TEAM SCREAM --SWEEP RACING USA--TQ WIRE--ROCHE USA--LRP
Sal Amato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2004, 07:54 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Sal Amato's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Long Island ,New York
Posts: 2,192
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default drive shaft

Oh yeah noW I remember SPEEDTECH http://64.70.208.72/speedtechrc/373.html
__________________
360 RC SPEEDWAY 2.0

AWESOMATIX USA-SANWA--BSR--TEAM SCREAM --SWEEP RACING USA--TQ WIRE--ROCHE USA--LRP
Sal Amato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2004, 08:00 PM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bath/Bristol Area, UK
Posts: 203
Default

Composite Driveshaft? Do you mean the one you get with the RTR, Racer and Team kits? if so then yes
Andy M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2004, 08:07 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
Charlie O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Corona, Ca
Posts: 739
Default

I was told they were only making the aluminum shaft, i like the comosite because it is 3 grams of rotating mass less than the aluminum shaft.
Charlie O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2004, 08:34 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Olympia Fields, IL
Posts: 601
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Why does everybody run the aluminum shafts ???? The composites are way lighter and seem to be very durable.
PhatPat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2004, 08:45 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
onebeatuptc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Outside Peachtree city in GA
Posts: 552
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to onebeatuptc3
Default

i looked at my shaft and its even got a carbonfiber look to it. I think we should convince AE to bring them back (im asking about this because i got another tc3, but its missing the driveshaft, so i have to buy a new one) My only guess for getting rid of it was its flexibility which i guess could be a problem if your car is flexible. O well, maybe ill have to put a WTB or somethign soon.
onebeatuptc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2004, 02:51 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

the carbon fiber driveshafts are no longer made.
They are much lighter and can take bending.

But the downside is that they were very expensive.
lee82gx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2004, 09:40 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
TPhalen's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brookfield, CT
Posts: 2,793
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

If you remember, the carbon driveshafts were a three piece unit....the center, hollow shaft and the two, press-fit and epoxied ends. Yes, it was light. Yes, it was very strong. Durability was good, unless you had a big crash. This would sometimes stress the drivetrain enough to break the epoxy, causing your end piece to spin inside the shaft. Car handling would be off. Would you know, maybe, maybe not, but you'd be scrambling trying to find the 'stink' in your car, not knowing its as simple as replacing the shaft. Plus, once we found that there were no problems with an aluminum shaft, we just started using those.

No plans on releasing (re-releasing) the carbon shaft....sorry guys.
__________________
Tony Phalen
UF1 Team Lotus/Renault
RCDriver.com
CompetitionX.com
R Sector / F1 Paint Labs
TPhalen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 12:47 PM   #10
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Iceland
Posts: 588
Default

If small stone got stuck and touched the carbon shaft it could cut the shaft in 2 pieces in one main.
andsetinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 01:08 PM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
Charlie O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Corona, Ca
Posts: 739
Default

If it touched enough two cut the shaft into you would probably notice the car being really sluggish & feel like the brakes were on, & by the way the aluminum shafts bend quit easily, never had a problem with the carbon shafts even when i did get a rock stuck in it.
Charlie O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 01:30 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default

Associated no longer offers this profuct. You can buy C/F drive shafts from other manufactures that fit the TC3. When I found out that Associated no longer offered this product, I went out and bought all I could find.
I bought the Aluminum unit and tested it out the last half of the race year last year and I was actually suprised at what I found. For the new, higher RPM motors (Monster/BS2), the Aluminum units were FASTER, even though they are heavier.
When I used a P2K2 or MVP the slight edge went to the C/F drive shaft. Not 100% sure but it may have to do with the fact that at higher RPM, the C/F shaft seemed to distort (or no longer rotates straight). In the middle of the C/F shaft, it seemed to bend outward, away from the center line of the chassis where the Aluminum shaft, no matter how high the RPM seemed straight.
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2004, 05:50 AM   #13
Tech Regular
 
johnnywhopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Rome, NY
Posts: 371
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Charlie O
If it touched enough two cut the shaft into you would probably notice the car being really sluggish & feel like the brakes were on, & by the way the aluminum shafts bend quit easily, never had a problem with the carbon shafts even when i did get a rock stuck in it.
my servo wire was laying against the shaft one time, and i didn't notice it untill it had worn through the shaft. definately wasn't bound, and definately alot less friction than a rock, but it wore through anyway.
__________________
Team CRC, Spektrum, Hobbywing, JDJ Vinyl Graphics, Moby Graphix, Black Art, Power Push
johnnywhopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2004, 06:08 AM   #14
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Mobile AL
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to JakeDaSnake
Default

My friend just bought a racer kit and his came with a cheap looking aluminum shaft it looked like it was hollow aluminum with 2 pins sticking through each end... looked like crap to me... but my LHS still has 3 compsite shafts in...lol

Later
Jake
JakeDaSnake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2004, 10:33 AM   #15
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,531
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

If you guys need older parts like this and are having trouble finding them, try www.greatlakeshobbies.com

There website is kind of a pain to go through, but prices are fairly reasonable and you can find older stuff there in stock.

Funny, I just sold one of those composite drive shafts and about 4 sets of NIB composite CVD bones on ebay.
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Belt Drive vs shaft drive vic88my Nitro On-Road 16 11-10-2007 08:26 AM
shaft drive vs. belt drive plz help pH1L Rookie Zone 1 06-07-2007 05:32 AM
Belt Drive versus Shaft Drive SUNA Nitro On-Road 20 03-28-2006 09:04 PM
Belt drive versus shaft drive...pros and cons of each? AttackDonut Rookie Zone 21 01-02-2005 05:23 PM
Belt drive or Shaft Drive tc3wood Electric On-Road 4 12-03-2004 07:57 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:25 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net