Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
On-road noob looking for a starter car. >

On-road noob looking for a starter car.

On-road noob looking for a starter car.

Old 05-03-2011, 04:57 PM
R/C Tech Elite Member

Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Default On-road noob looking for a starter car.

Hey Guys. I'm a off-road veteran racer, but a total newb when it comes to on-road. I'm looking into getting an on-road racer for a GT class (17.5 or 21.5). What's a good car to get my feet wet with? I'm looking for a low cost starter car. Just something to test the waters with to see if I like it or not. I like realistic cars, so GT looks interesting. I was looking at the TC4 and the Tamiya TA-05. Are these decent starter cars? Lipo ready? I have a bunch of 2s lipos, so I would like to be able to use them.

I've already invested the bulk of my money into 1/8th scale off-road, so I can't break the bank with on-road.
Old 05-03-2011, 05:03 PM
R/C Tech Elite Member

Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)

I've got a nice Xray 007

http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-item...phere-esc.html

Its very easy to set up and handles just has good as the newer Xray's.
Old 05-03-2011, 06:15 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)

you could find a corally phi on here pretty cheapThey are great and with the right parts on them, are practically indestructable, the tamiya cars seem to break even on and easy impact, i ran one for two years.
Old 05-03-2011, 06:51 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

My TA-05 ver.II R has been very good to me. I'm a noobie racing VTA, it handles great and I haven't broken anything (and yes it takes some HARD hits)

* results may very!

Old 05-03-2011, 06:53 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)

Originally Posted by blade329