R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-12-2009, 10:14 AM   #6661
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

Not really... there are those that will do anything for a little bit of attention or exposure... I'm not really one of them

Should be a good interview though!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
Steve

Are you dissapointed that they chose to interview Tommy VuTong in the first issue of Radio Control Babes instead of you?

I mean really, Tommy freaking VuTong?

Mike,

Sounds good! I might be able to make it!


Quote:
Originally Posted by King of B Main View Post
Steve,

Race day is Jan 24,and 25th should be fun.....They have more info about the race on nitro onroad thread....Hope to see you there.
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 10:38 AM   #6662
Tech Elite
 
trdsupra88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southwest
Posts: 2,531
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to trdsupra88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Weiss View Post




Yeah, pretty much. Due to the fact I work at Novak Electronics most of the questions anymore are related to our products ... but feel free to ask anything you'd like... I usually do my best to give you an entertaining if not informative answer at least!
Sounds good, With a new touring car, should I set the camber and toe at 0 for a starting point or rummage through the factory drivers set-up sheets and average those out? Ill be running a TC5 with a GTX, 27t, rubber on asphault on a very small Hobbytown track(7-9 second laps).
__________________
I cut my own hair ☆
trdsupra88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 05:09 AM   #6663
Tech Master
 
Professor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sydney,Australia
Posts: 1,090
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default lipo cut off

hi steve

this may have been asked before but i will ask anyway,can u tell me if the gtb b/l speedy has an inbuilt lipo voltage cut off & if so what it is & can it be adjusted up or down ?

thanx graham
__________________
VBC RACING AUS--HOBBYWING--RC MAKER--
MAD GRAPHICS--BITTY DESIGN
Professor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 01:41 PM   #6664
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

I usually run 1.5 or 2 degrees of camber front and rear... depending on how the car is handling.

0 toe out in the front is a good starting point... I usually run just a tick of toe out ... 0.5 degrees.

Hope this helps!


Quote:
Originally Posted by trdsupra88 View Post
Sounds good, With a new touring car, should I set the camber and toe at 0 for a starting point or rummage through the factory drivers set-up sheets and average those out? Ill be running a TC5 with a GTX, 27t, rubber on asphault on a very small Hobbytown track(7-9 second laps).

Graham,

The newer GTBs/SS GTBs all have internal lipo cut off. The cut off is fixed however at 6.25 V.

The easiest way to tell if your GTB has the cut off or not is to check the programming. With everything on, press and hold the button down until you see red and amber light up together, this is the color code for the lipo cut off. One blink denotes the cut feature is off, two blinks denotes the feature is on.

Hope this helps!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Professor View Post
hi steve

this may have been asked before but i will ask anyway,can u tell me if the gtb b/l speedy has an inbuilt lipo voltage cut off & if so what it is & can it be adjusted up or down ?

thanx graham
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 02:08 PM   #6665
Tech Master
 
Professor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sydney,Australia
Posts: 1,090
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default gtb

hi steve

thanxs for the info on the gtb cut off helps me out a lot

graham
__________________
VBC RACING AUS--HOBBYWING--RC MAKER--
MAD GRAPHICS--BITTY DESIGN
Professor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 02:14 PM   #6666
Tech Elite
 
trdsupra88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southwest
Posts: 2,531
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to trdsupra88
Default

Thanks, we start racing in March so I will figure it out before then...
__________________
I cut my own hair ☆
trdsupra88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 02:46 PM   #6667
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,997
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

What up Steve.......how ya been bro?
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 06:35 PM   #6668
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Dorset,UK
Posts: 128
Default

Hi Steve, i've just crossed to the orange side and got myself a GTB 1710-L after reading countless threads about the dreaded magic smoke i found this one. The esc i've bought is a factory remanufacured product and i'm wondering if i should have a diode on the rx cable as i don't or has the fix been done internally now?
Regards Paul.
BILKO1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 11:08 PM   #6669
Tech Master
 
racer x 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: im 4rm a far away place called 1st
Posts: 1,825
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Dumb question is it safe to run any brand brushless motor with my GTB?
__________________
Matt Bell
Mugen MRX5 Ae R5.2 X6^3 M11x All powered by Speedtech Rc
racer x 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 11:12 AM   #6670
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BILKO1 View Post
Hi Steve, i've just crossed to the orange side and got myself a GTB 1710-L after reading countless threads about the dreaded magic smoke i found this one. The esc i've bought is a factory remanufacured product and i'm wondering if i should have a diode on the rx cable as i don't or has the fix been done internally now?
Regards Paul.
I am fairly certain that all the latest remanufactured ESCs have the internal fix now, but I will have to recheck once back at work this week.

Quote:
Originally Posted by racer x 1 View Post
Dumb question is it safe to run any brand brushless motor with my GTB?
You should be able to run any sensored brushless motor with your GTB... I would pay attention to what wind you use with how many cells... for instance, I would not recommend running someone else's 2.5 turn with a 2S lipo

I'd say anything from 3.5 and up should be fine.
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 03:32 PM   #6671
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Dorset,UK
Posts: 128
Default

Thanks for the response Steve, if it is internal as i suspect could you find out if there is a way to be 100% sure please? Maybe the number on the barcode or the way the componants are laid out that you can see through the bottom cover.
Regards Paul.
BILKO1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 04:04 PM   #6672
Tech Addict
 
Adam?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ohhh, that guy...
Posts: 639
Default

It's good to know that even with all these fancy new motors coming out, I can still throw in my trusty old Novak 13.5 and it'll run right with them, or even be .1 faster. And, imagine that, you can even buy replacement rotors for them!

The only thing you guys are missing is a "bling" series with more easily adjustable timing and some sexy new looks. :-)
Adam? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 09:42 AM   #6673
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

Bilko,

Just PM me the serial number on your ESC and I should be able to figure out if it has it or not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BILKO1 View Post
Thanks for the response Steve, if it is internal as i suspect could you find out if there is a way to be 100% sure please? Maybe the number on the barcode or the way the componants are laid out that you can see through the bottom cover.
Regards Paul.
Thanks for the compliments Adam! We're very proud of our motors! And don't worry...we never stop working around here

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam? View Post
It's good to know that even with all these fancy new motors coming out, I can still throw in my trusty old Novak 13.5 and it'll run right with them, or even be .1 faster. And, imagine that, you can even buy replacement rotors for them!

The only thing you guys are missing is a "bling" series with more easily adjustable timing and some sexy new looks. :-)
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 11:23 AM   #6674
Tech Master
 
rcterp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: No mans land.
Posts: 1,032
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Power Cap question - I believe the XBR used a smaller power cap. Would it be effective to use the smaller power cap on the GTB only running a 1s (3.7v) lipo with a 13.5 motor?
__________________
Φ
Glitter Lidz - "My driving doesn't shine but my lid does!!"
rcterp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 11:43 AM   #6675
Tech Elite
 
stitchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,794
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default yellow ring

Hi Steve,

The new TCS rules for GT2 stipulate that we need a yellow ringed 17.5. I have the old 17.5 with a black ring.

Without buying a new motor just to get the yellow ring, is there an easier way?

Thanks!
__________________
Speedtechhobbies.com
stitchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STUFF FOR SALE """"LQQK """" EZRC R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 03-13-2007 07:20 PM
"""NEW""" Collari .21 3 port buggy motor lc21-b3 goneRVing R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 12-20-2006 06:25 PM
STUFF FOR SALE """"LQQK """" EZRC R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 10-22-2006 09:49 PM
""" XRAY FK05 """ excellent cond/super clean/stock evostyle R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-29-2006 10:04 PM
Let's send Steve Weiss (Evicerator) to Cleveland!!! TeamButter Electric On-Road 8 11-02-2004 11:32 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:18 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net