R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-25-2008, 11:09 AM   #6511
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 43
Default

Hi Steve, Your not done yet sir LOL! I am a long time fan of Novak products and have had good luck with them. Recently Traxxas has come out with the waterproof ESC's & such and I was wondering if Novak was going to offer any waterproof versions of your ESC's. I want to set up a truck to run this winter on ice/snow and want to have a "factory" setup rather than a cobbled up deal with ballons/sealer around everything. I don't want to have to buy someone else's stuff if Novak has a brushless waterproof lipo capable ESC. Thanks.
monsterbft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 11:33 AM   #6512
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

I will pass your comments along down the chain of command! We have discussed it quite a bit and we have been always moving towards this sort of goal.

Most of our ESCs now are what we call "water resistant" ... with some gasketing to help keep them "splash proof"

Quote:
Originally Posted by monsterbft View Post
Hi Steve, Your not done yet sir LOL! I am a long time fan of Novak products and have had good luck with them. Recently Traxxas has come out with the waterproof ESC's & such and I was wondering if Novak was going to offer any waterproof versions of your ESC's. I want to set up a truck to run this winter on ice/snow and want to have a "factory" setup rather than a cobbled up deal with ballons/sealer around everything. I don't want to have to buy someone else's stuff if Novak has a brushless waterproof lipo capable ESC. Thanks.
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2008, 01:11 AM   #6513
Tech Regular
 
s13evo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 361
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Loose orange wire

Help, can anyone show me how to get the orange wire back onto the white tab.

<a href="http://s216.photobucket.com/albums/cc100/S13evo/?action=view&current=Image005.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i216.photobucket.com/albums/cc100/S13evo/Image005.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket"></a>






s13evo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2008, 05:29 PM   #6514
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

Your best course of action is to send it in to us to repair/replace.

It would be possible for you to pry up the white tab and remove the connector socket and try to reinsert the wire into the socket, and using a tiny little bit of solder you might be able to fix it yourself.... but this might prove difficult considering the soldering aspect.
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 03:05 PM   #6515
Tech Elite
 
Dan the Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Perth, W.A
Posts: 2,006
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

I want to change the wiring on my GTX, just wondering what temperature to set my soldering station to in order to NOT damage it
__________________
|-ē-|Hot Bodies Pro 5|-●-|The "F109X"|-ē-|

If you don't have clean bearings, good transmission and a perfect car, trust me when I say this...someone else does.
Dan the Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 03:42 PM   #6516
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

Dan,

I usually set my iron for 800 F. Bare in mind that you need to use a good medium sized tip to have effetive heat transfer!

The trick is to pre-tin things...make sure that you add a little solder to the tip to help aid in heat transfer as well!

Don't leave the iron on anything in particular for too long either!
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 01:28 AM   #6517
Tech Master
 
edwintklee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: wonderfull place called, MALAYSIA.
Posts: 1,592
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Weiss View Post
Dan,

I usually set my iron for 800 F. Bare in mind that you need to use a good medium sized tip to have effetive heat transfer!

The trick is to pre-tin things...make sure that you add a little solder to the tip to help aid in heat transfer as well!

Don't leave the iron on anything in particular for too long either!
good advise.....i always do like that too....
but i am only using hakko trigger type soldering gun, pre heat it, just tab not more than 10 sec, after solder, please cool down the esc.
__________________
I am a Red Star, Blue Star, Fans......
edwintklee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 09:37 AM   #6518
Tech Regular
 
minimusprime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: OC CA
Posts: 265
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Steve,

I've got a 13.5ss I run at bcr. I recently picked up a 13mm rotor for it to help with handling heat on the extreme heat days. Typically I run a 4.3-4.5 final ratio. How will my gearing have to change to accomodate for the new rotor?
__________________
"I personally do not believe in luck. I believe luck is just an excuse for people that have failed in their mission to accomplish something." Allen McNish
minimusprime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 11:43 AM   #6519
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

Usually when I go to a 13 mm rotor I gear up 2 teeth on the pinion.

I would start there and see how it goes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by minimusprime View Post
Steve,

I've got a 13.5ss I run at bcr. I recently picked up a 13mm rotor for it to help with handling heat on the extreme heat days. Typically I run a 4.3-4.5 final ratio. How will my gearing have to change to accomodate for the new rotor?
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 03:19 AM   #6520
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: SWEDEN
Posts: 13
Default

Hey Steve

Have had problems emailing you and tech at Novak so im trying my luck here, hope you can help me.

I have a "old" Novak SS5800 system and Im wondering if I could hook up a 17,5SS PRO motor to the old SS ESC?

Thanks in advance

/Fredrik
Heimdal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 07:27 PM   #6521
Tech Apprentice
 
nunga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: brisbane australia
Posts: 61
Default half dead motor

Hi Steve,

Can you help please.

I have the novak GTB brushless system with the 13.5 motor. I ran one race meet with no dramas, Now, itís the second meet, and today didnít even get started. The motor wonít start unless pushed. It seems to have a dead spot. Rotate the motor 60 deg it will start no worries and 120 deg same. Back to original position and no go. When it will go, it stutters, like a car with one cylinder out, rough. This is my first novak product and its not off to a good start.
Thanks.
nunga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 08:14 PM   #6522
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

Heimdal,

Sorry about the email problems!

Your Super Sport ESC shouldn't have any problems running the 17.5 pro motor!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heimdal View Post
Hey Steve

Have had problems emailing you and tech at Novak so im trying my luck here, hope you can help me.

I have a "old" Novak SS5800 system and Im wondering if I could hook up a 17,5SS PRO motor to the old SS ESC?

Thanks in advance

/Fredrik
Nunga,

Have you tried another motor with your ESC? The reason I ask is because It would help narrow down whether the problem is with the ESC or the motor itself!

Double check the sensor harness and make sure it's fully plugged into the ESC.

Also make sure that the motor phase wires are wired in correctly and not shorted out by mistake.


Quote:
Originally Posted by nunga View Post
Hi Steve,

Can you help please.

I have the novak GTB brushless system with the 13.5 motor. I ran one race meet with no dramas, Now, itís the second meet, and today didnít even get started. The motor wonít start unless pushed. It seems to have a dead spot. Rotate the motor 60 deg it will start no worries and 120 deg same. Back to original position and no go. When it will go, it stutters, like a car with one cylinder out, rough. This is my first novak product and its not off to a good start.
Thanks.
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 01:20 AM   #6523
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: SWEDEN
Posts: 13
Default

Sweet, many thanks Steve!
Heimdal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 02:36 PM   #6524
Tech Apprentice
 
nunga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: brisbane australia
Posts: 61
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heimdal View Post
Sweet, many thanks Steve!
Thanks steve,
The sensor plug is ok, but i don't have a spare motor,now. There is one on its way but I won't see it for a week or so.
will get back to you when it arrives.
Cheers.
nunga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 02:38 PM   #6525
Tech Apprentice
 
nunga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: brisbane australia
Posts: 61
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Weiss View Post
Heimdal,

Sorry about the email problems!

Your Super Sport ESC shouldn't have any problems running the 17.5 pro motor!



Nunga,

Have you tried another motor with your ESC? The reason I ask is because It would help narrow down whether the problem is with the ESC or the motor itself!

Double check the sensor harness and make sure it's fully plugged into the ESC.

Also make sure that the motor phase wires are wired in correctly and not shorted out by mistake.
oops.

Thanks steve,
The sensor plug is ok, but i don't have a spare motor,now. There is one on its way but I won't see it for a week or so.
will get back to you when it arrives.
Cheers.
nunga is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STUFF FOR SALE """"LQQK """" EZRC R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 03-13-2007 07:20 PM
"""NEW""" Collari .21 3 port buggy motor lc21-b3 goneRVing R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 12-20-2006 06:25 PM
STUFF FOR SALE """"LQQK """" EZRC R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 10-22-2006 09:49 PM
""" XRAY FK05 """ excellent cond/super clean/stock evostyle R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-29-2006 10:04 PM
Let's send Steve Weiss (Evicerator) to Cleveland!!! TeamButter Electric On-Road 8 11-02-2004 11:32 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:32 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net