R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-19-2008, 05:27 PM   #6421
Tech Elite
 
a_main_attendee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colorado, USA, The land of the free and the home of the brave!
Posts: 2,880
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Steve, i am sure that this has been asked many times before, but i'm sure you can hold out for one more dumb question-

Why do novak motors have fixed (static) sensor wires where nearly every other company has detachable sensor wires? This was a huge turnoff to me when i was in the process of going brushless (no offense to novak's products, as i ran them before i went BL). Thanks for your time

-Kyle
__________________
Support your local tracks!--|--e-teamhobbyplex.com--|--corrc.org--|

NNFaN Paints - Add some pride to YOUR ride.
a_main_attendee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 05:40 PM   #6422
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,996
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Steve- Good luck in Vegas bro.
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 08:14 PM   #6423
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

Hey Kyle,

The short answer is that we didn't like how easy it was for that second connector to come unplugged or be damaged durring opperation... We definately like the idea of being able to replace/customize the harness.

Don't worry though, your ideas aren't new to us... and we are always working on something new

Quote:
Originally Posted by a_main_attendee View Post
Steve, i am sure that this has been asked many times before, but i'm sure you can hold out for one more dumb question-

Why do novak motors have fixed (static) sensor wires where nearly every other company has detachable sensor wires? This was a huge turnoff to me when i was in the process of going brushless (no offense to novak's products, as i ran them before i went BL). Thanks for your time

-Kyle
Thanks Clint!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by STLNLST View Post
Steve- Good luck in Vegas bro.
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 07:38 AM   #6424
Tech Elite
 
LOSI123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gold Coast-Australia
Posts: 2,616
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

.

Last edited by LOSI123; 08-22-2008 at 04:08 PM.
LOSI123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 08:54 AM   #6425
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

Fixed
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL

Last edited by Steve Weiss; 08-22-2008 at 09:06 PM. Reason: per request
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2008, 07:44 PM   #6426
Tech Regular
 
kavadni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 328
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Steve,

I've just ordered my first lipo race pack. I currently use a GTX.
In races there won't be a problem.

1. During practice is there a danger of damaging the lipo?
2. Does Novak sell a device, or can you recommend one if needed to ensure correct cutoff?

3. Can you tell me the difference betwen the 'normal' GTB and the 'SS' GTB?

The existence of the 'SS' model implies that the 'normal' has issues?

Kevin
kavadni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 04:24 PM   #6427
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

Kevin,

The only danger to your pack is over-discharging it during practice. The GTX does not have an internal cut off.

You can purchase one of our 2 Cell Smart Stop LiPo cut off Modules though! The part # is 5470.

The "normal" and "SS" versions of the GTB are VERY similar. The only difference is that the SS version switches its transistors on and off faster than the standard GTB. This can result in slightly lower temperatures when used with a DSM system and modified motors. Most other applications will not see a large difference.

There are no problems or issues with the GTB that the SS version "addresses".

Quote:
Originally Posted by kavadni View Post
Steve,

I've just ordered my first lipo race pack. I currently use a GTX.
In races there won't be a problem.

1. During practice is there a danger of damaging the lipo?
2. Does Novak sell a device, or can you recommend one if needed to ensure correct cutoff?

3. Can you tell me the difference betwen the 'normal' GTB and the 'SS' GTB?

The existence of the 'SS' model implies that the 'normal' has issues?

Kevin
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 04:42 PM   #6428
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,224
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Steve,

Is it you that owes me a beer in Vegas or me that owes you
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 05:23 PM   #6429
Tech Champion
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 8,996
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
Steve,

Is it you that owes me a beer in Vegas or me that owes you
How about you both buy Charlie one....
STLNLST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 07:20 PM   #6430
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

If we both buy charlie a beer then he's liable to go running around the casino in a fit!

Adam, I don't recall exactly... but one of us probably owes the other something! We'll get it ironed out!
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2008, 05:20 AM   #6431
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,224
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Actually something cool happened last night, so I now owe you one, I'll explain later

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Weiss View Post
If we both buy charlie a beer then he's liable to go running around the casino in a fit!

Adam, I don't recall exactly... but one of us probably owes the other something! We'll get it ironed out!
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2008, 03:25 AM   #6432
Tech Master
 
edwintklee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: wonderfull place called, MALAYSIA.
Posts: 1,592
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Weiss View Post

You can purchase one of our 2 Cell Smart Stop LiPo cut off Modules though! The part # is 5470.
steve, how are you, just need some guidance, the lipo cut off modules,

how can i be sure that it works 100%? does it cut off at 6v on the dot?

is there any method to test the lipo cut off to confirm its working?

thanks in advance for your feedback
__________________
I am a Red Star, Blue Star, Fans......
edwintklee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2008, 10:58 AM   #6433
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

Edwintklee,

The smart stop should start "blipping" and cut off at 6.25 volts.

The only real way for you to check it would be to have a variable voltage power supply that you could start out at a "high" level (around 7V) and then slowly reduce the voltage to the system to the 6.0 V range and make note of when the cut off interrupts the throttle response.

Quote:
Originally Posted by edwintklee View Post
steve, how are you, just need some guidance, the lipo cut off modules,

how can i be sure that it works 100%? does it cut off at 6v on the dot?

is there any method to test the lipo cut off to confirm its working?

thanks in advance for your feedback
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2008, 03:50 PM   #6434
Tech Master
 
racer x 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: im 4rm a far away place called 1st
Posts: 1,825
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Hey Steve

thanks for setting my esc at the summerslam!!!!


Matt
__________________
Matt Bell
Mugen MRX5 Ae R5.2 X6^3 M11x All powered by Speedtech Rc
racer x 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2008, 08:45 PM   #6435
Tech Fanatic
 
tpczx6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fremont CA
Posts: 845
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Hey Steve
I have my gtb cell in my 1/12 scale and after about 1 min of running the motor stops running I have stearing but no power to motor. I look at the esc and the amber and red led are flashing. If I turn off the car and switch back on its works again for about 2 min again then same thing. I have reset it and found it has switch from program 4 back to program 1 again. I reset it to 4 and car shut down again after 1 min and it reset to program 1 again. let me know if you have had that issue before??

Tim
__________________
RcAmerica--Xray---Hudy----KO PROPO USA---ORCA---GRAVITY RC
Motiv------Apexrc----- AVID
SWEEP Racing USA
Mike's Hobbyshop in Dallas (RIP)
Nor-Cal Hobbies [The Race Place]
tpczx6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STUFF FOR SALE """"LQQK """" EZRC R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 03-13-2007 07:20 PM
"""NEW""" Collari .21 3 port buggy motor lc21-b3 goneRVing R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 12-20-2006 06:25 PM
STUFF FOR SALE """"LQQK """" EZRC R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 10-22-2006 09:49 PM
""" XRAY FK05 """ excellent cond/super clean/stock evostyle R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-29-2006 10:04 PM
Let's send Steve Weiss (Evicerator) to Cleveland!!! TeamButter Electric On-Road 8 11-02-2004 11:32 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:03 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net