R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 12-06-2007, 10:30 PM   #5656
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber

Hi Diane,

Sorry to hear you're having some trouble with your sytem but I think I have a few ideas as to what might be going on.

First of all, youhave the 13.5 pro motor which comes with the sintered rotor... if your racing buddies have the older 13.5's that have bonded rotors your motor will feel like it has much more cog to it than theirs. The sintered rotor is a much stronger magnet and causes a stronger "bind" like what you are feeling.

Because of this higher magnetic strength, the motor usually as to be geared up to get the same top speed as the bonded rotor... I would bet if you geared up a few more teeth your problems would go away.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LadiesFirst View Post
Hi Steve,
I am new to brushless, but not new to RC. I have been racing OFFROAD since 1990 off and on. An RC friend of mine told me to ask you about my problem (even though this is an onroad string).

About two weeks ago, I purchased a new Novak GTB 13.5 SS Pro system for my Losi truck. The track where I race is small and the highest pinion they allow for stock brushless is 19T. I run a Losi MF1 truck with 88 tooth spur.

I installed the brushless system a couple of nights ago (everthing is presoldered) and took it out to practice at the off road track tonight. I also have the Spectrum radio and receiver and adjusted the radio accordingly with what adjustments it allows (no expotential). I first did the one touch programming for the ESC. I then changed the profile to #2, as I wanted to use reverse while practicing. I then also dialed in about 21% drag brake.