Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Ask Steve "The Evicerator" Weiss >

Ask Steve "The Evicerator" Weiss

Ask Steve "The Evicerator" Weiss

Reply

Old 11-18-2007, 10:12 PM
  #5566  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 134
Default

steve will the 13.5 motor work with ko vsf-1 c2 esc?
fred71 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 08:09 PM
  #5567  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fred71 View Post
steve will the 13.5 motor work with ko vsf-1 c2 esc?
No, that is a esc for brushed motors. You will need brushless speedo like a Novak GTB or an LRP Sphere to run a brushless motor.
AdrianM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 03:43 AM
  #5568  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (44)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,208
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

1. Can the GTB Spread Spektrum be used with non-Spektrum receivers? How about Futaba's PCM receiver?
Will there be any degradation in response rate?

2. Is there a way to disable the lipo cut-off?

Cheers.
wyl03 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 09:31 AM
  #5569  
The Evicerator
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,143
Default

The GTB Spread Spectrum should be used ONLY with DSM 2.4 GHz radio systems. No FM, no AM, no PCM.

The lipo cut off can be toggled between on and off


Originally Posted by wyl03 View Post
1. Can the GTB Spread Spektrum be used with non-Spektrum receivers? How about Futaba's PCM receiver?
Will there be any degradation in response rate?

2. Is there a way to disable the lipo cut-off?

Cheers.
Steve Weiss is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 08:32 AM
  #5570  
The Evicerator
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,143
Default

Tire Chunker,

You're correct, we only shim the pinion side. We never shim the opposite end.
Steve Weiss is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 08:45 AM
  #5571  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
Tire Chunker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,241
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default 10.5 Shims

Steve,

For the BL motors do you only shim the pinion side to take up play? Do you need any shims at the other end?
Tire Chunker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 08:49 AM
  #5572  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (36)
 
abailey21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,225
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I heard Bob is keeping steve SO BUSY that Bob is actually responding to these questions on here


Originally Posted by burito View Post
@Steve: I bought a Novak Crawler 55t motor and can not keep up with the guys with the 3.5t LRP motors, I think your product is no good...

How's everything chap? Does Bob keep you busy?
abailey21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 08:59 AM
  #5573  
Tech Addict
 
burito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 511
Default

@Steve: I bought a Novak Crawler 55t motor and can not keep up with the guys with the 3.5t LRP motors, I think your product is no good...

How's everything chap? Does Bob keep you busy?
burito is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 09:01 AM
  #5574  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
Tire Chunker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,241
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Steve Weiss View Post
Tire Chunker,

You're correct, we only shim the pinion side. We never shim the opposite end.

What a quick response--answers before I ask. Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Thanks


Tom
Tire Chunker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 09:05 AM
  #5575  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (36)
 
abailey21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,225
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I heard Bob is keeping steve SO BUSY that Bob is actually responding to these questions on here


Originally Posted by burito View Post
@Steve: I bought a Novak Crawler 55t motor and can not keep up with the guys with the 3.5t LRP motors, I think your product is no good...

How's everything chap? Does Bob keep you busy?
abailey21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 09:09 AM
  #5576  
The Evicerator
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,143
Default

Hey Reto!

I dunno what to say... I guess we will have to do some major tuning work on our 55 crawler motor to get it up to speed!

Everything is going pretty well...been very busy with work, school, racing, and life in general!

How are things over there...? Staying busy for sure I bet!

Originally Posted by burito View Post
@Steve: I bought a Novak Crawler 55t motor and can not keep up with the guys with the 3.5t LRP motors, I think your product is no good...

How's everything chap? Does Bob keep you busy?
Steve Weiss is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 02:58 PM
  #5577  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
tfrahm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,099
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

An unfair question, but I'll ask anyway...

We may be getting a carpet track locally, and they are talking about starting some 4-cell 13.5 oval classes... That sounds good, but I would want to get the 4-cell ESC for it's light weight, etc... HOWEVER -- I mostly run 6-cell (sedan, offroad truck/buggy, etc.)...

If I buy the 4-cell GTB could I get away with using it for 13.5 or 10.5 with 6-cells or is it strictly 4-cells only? (I figure as cool as a GTB stays for 13.5 and 10.5, it just might work?)....

I had to ask...
tfrahm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 03:32 PM
  #5578  
The Evicerator
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,143
Default

Tfrahm,

We don't recommend running the 4 cell GTB with 6 cells in any application... Sorry!

Originally Posted by tfrahm View Post
An unfair question, but I'll ask anyway...

We may be getting a carpet track locally, and they are talking about starting some 4-cell 13.5 oval classes... That sounds good, but I would want to get the 4-cell ESC for it's light weight, etc... HOWEVER -- I mostly run 6-cell (sedan, offroad truck/buggy, etc.)...

If I buy the 4-cell GTB could I get away with using it for 13.5 or 10.5 with 6-cells or is it strictly 4-cells only? (I figure as cool as a GTB stays for 13.5 and 10.5, it just might work?)....

I had to ask...
Steve Weiss is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 07:39 PM
  #5579  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
tfrahm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,099
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Steve Weiss View Post
Tfrahm,

We don't recommend running the 4 cell GTB with 6 cells in any application... Sorry!
No problem -- I just had to ask... I also need to look at 12th scale onroad, where room under the body is a problem -- I assume the switch to a flat aluminum "heatsink" like the 4-cell GTB, etc. is OK for the standard GTB...? (is the flat plate available separately?)

I also assume that changing the heatsink voids the warranty...? Any special tips and/or an official "How-To"?
tfrahm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 09:53 AM
  #5580  
The Evicerator
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,143
Default

Sorry about the delay in answering...was out of town for the holiday!

Switching to a flat aluminum heatsink for the standard GTB would be ok for lower load applications such as 1/12 because you don't need as much heat disipation.

No special tips except to be careful of the pad and the spacers underneath the heatsink...try not to damage them.

Originally Posted by tfrahm View Post
No problem -- I just had to ask... I also need to look at 12th scale onroad, where room under the body is a problem -- I assume the switch to a flat aluminum "heatsink" like the 4-cell GTB, etc. is OK for the standard GTB...? (is the flat plate available separately?)

I also assume that changing the heatsink voids the warranty...? Any special tips and/or an official "How-To"?
Steve Weiss is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service