R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-22-2011, 08:47 PM   #1
Boa
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 79
Default 100MPH Serpent 966e

Guys, I'm having difficulty getting my 966e into the 100MPH range. Is there something that I'm doing wrong? I'm using MMM 2650kv 4s Lipo and the gearing is stock. Any advice would be helpful guys
Boa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 09:12 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
ozzy-crawl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Forde A.C.T
Posts: 990
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boa View Post
Guys, I'm having difficulty getting my 966e into the 100MPH range. Is there something that I'm doing wrong? I'm using MMM 2650kv 4s Lipo and the gearing is stock. Any advice would be helpful guys
more voltage
a mate has a serpent he converted some time back neu 1415 1y (2200kv) on 6s
to get the same rpm with a 2650 you would need 5s
ozzy-crawl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 03:18 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
MrUnlimited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,465
Default

Why not 6s lipo, I have seen guys running that in their 1/8 onroad.
__________________
U5 Formulaboat 1/8 hydroplane - MHZ138 AQUAMANIA - Axial Exo Terra - Tamiya Avante - LC Racing EMB1 - Atomic AMZ 4WD Touring car
MrUnlimited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 09:28 AM   #4
Boa
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 79
Default

Thanks guys for your help and I would love to run it on 6s, but they can't fit inside the car. How do you mod the chas so it will run off 6s? 5s won't even fit in there, so I used 2 SP to create 4s
Boa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 07:52 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Missle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cinci, OH
Posts: 112
Default

First I must admit that I've not had the honor of purchasing this car yet, but judging from the company web site, it states a 2800kv and higher motor as well as two 2S 4800 packs so I'm sure you could get two 3S 3000kv packs in there? So if you don't want to go with a higher kv motor, then get the smaller but higher voltage packs. Also, are you doing this for track racing or high speed runs?
Missle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 08:02 PM   #6
Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,183
Trader Rating: 27 (97%+)
Default

Not sure on this particular car, but looking at it on the website, it looks like one bad machine!! i kinda want one...

Some more info would be needed on the gear ratios in the car to findout what would be needed to attain 100mph..

Im damn close to 100mph in my SC8E with a 2200 kv motor, 6s battery, and 23/44 gearing

How close too 100mph are you right now on 4s?

Also, id be careful with the suggestion of smaller MAH batteries, these will have a lowered ability to provide sufficient amperage, makes the possibility of puffing, or blowing a lipo much easier.
__________________
2-FTSC10,MMP-3800------------1989FormulaWS6, 496 efi bbc+tko600
4-SC8E,MMM-2200 -------------1992Camaro Z28, 402" LSx TT+4l80e
1-SC-R,MMP-3800 --------------2000TransAm, HCI ls2+4l60e
1-SC8E,Baja xl-2200 ---2000Firebird <slow daily driver!
Owner/operator---Zero To 60 Performance!
FTSC10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 08:12 PM   #7
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: 1
Posts: 2
Default

paylaşım için teşekkürler. iyi çalışmalar.
__________________
[URL="http://www.mrnreklam.com"]promosyon[/URL]
mrnreklam4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 08:34 PM   #8
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,222
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

^^^ that's what happened to the last guy who wanted to go 100mph with a 10lb rc car
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 05:24 AM   #9
Tech Adept
 
Missle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cinci, OH
Posts: 112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FTSC10 View Post
Also, id be careful with the suggestion of smaller MAH batteries, these will have a lowered ability to provide sufficient amperage, makes the possibility of puffing, or blowing a lipo much easier.
Two years ago that may have been true, but now with packs at 50C and higher, you most definately will have enough "push" (aka amp) to exceed the needs of your power system. For example, a GOOD 3K pack at 50C maxes at 150amp (or 120A if you use the 80% rule) which would be 3600 watts/4.9 HP (using 24V) whereas a 50C 4S 4800mah pack would max at 240amp which would be 3552 watts/4.8 HP (at 14.8V). Now remember most ESC's can't sustain 240A as well as the extreme heat difference of 240A vs 150A.
So, a 6S 3000mah pack vs 4S 4800mah pack
6S 3000mah 4S 4800mah
50C 150A vs 240A
HP 4.9 vs 4.8
Del V 24v vs 14.8v
rev. 2600kv 62,400 vs 38480
Temp Hot vs Inferno

Now that example uses MAX numbers and does not account for losses in effeciency ect....
Also, you've got to remember that you'd actually be pushing a lot less amperage per cell as you go up in the number of packs (unless you make the mistake of not gearing appropriately).
Missle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 08:01 AM   #10
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
Default

X2
xagtho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 11:52 PM   #11
Boa
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 79
Default

Thanks guys for your help, but I want to do speed runs. I have no clue how fast it is now, but I would guess upper 80's.
Boa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 10:32 AM   #12
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,222
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boa View Post
Thanks guys for your help, but I want to do speed runs. I have no clue how fast it is now, but I would guess upper 80's.
on 4S, probably closer to 60
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 08:28 PM   #13
Boa
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 79
Default

abailey21, I thought 80's because when I was at the track with the gas 966 my 966e was dead even on the straight. I thought those cars were in the 80MPH range
Boa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:55 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net