Boost is Dead

Old 04-20-2011, 07:21 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Originally Posted by L.Fairtrace
17.5 boosted is too fast for the beginner and/or avg racer to run on a weekly basis on indoor carpet tracks in the USA with boards as barriers.

All it results in is broken parts frustration and eventually quitting the hobby.

Slower classes are necessary. 17.5 boosted is faster than 19 turn was 4 years ago.
In TC, I totally agree. 12th scale, not so much. JMO.
Old 04-20-2011, 07:31 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default Complete noob

OK so you know what I think and this is coming straight from someone wanting to start on road and coming from off road. I have actually started but just beginning.

I want to run a sedan as a beginner, not have to run a 21.5 GT class. I want to start with all the same gear that I can grow into. I do not want to have to learn in 21.5 GT and then step up to 17.5 and have to buy a new motor and new bodies.

The problem is this, at least at my track. There is no true beginner 17.5 class. The 17.5 n/t guys are sponsored drivers and are sickly fast. Boost and non-boost are all great. It is the chance to work your way up to mod and I think that should be the goal.

There needs to be better regulations on who goes in what class. For me I think 17.5 n/t should be for beginners. They get the realistic TC look, they can grow into there gear without buying new stuff when they want to step up to 17.5 timing. Then I think you go from there.

That is my $.02.
Old 04-20-2011, 07:32 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)

Originally Posted by CypressMidWest
In TC, I totally agree. 12th scale, not so much. JMO.
I'm with you buddy. 17.5 blinky 12th scale is not very exciting.

I never ran 13.5 blinky 12th scale but I'm guessing its going to be similar speeds of 17.5 boosted.
Old 04-20-2011, 07:38 AM
Team EAM

Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)