Wiki Posts
Search

High Speed set up

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2011, 09:56 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default High Speed set up

I was hoping some of you could offer your suggestions on a high speed car setup. Like what Car? Mamba system or Tekin RS Pro or RX8 for appropriate scales ...motor Turn size?? Gearing? I'd like to achieve 60-100Mph while keeping the esc/motor the most expensive part. I own several 2S 5200Mah 30C lipos but willing to purchase more powerful batt's if need be-3S 4S, whatever it takes to light it up. Let me know, thanks in advance!
Old 01-29-2011, 10:09 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)

I have an old TC3 with a Mamba Max Pro/5700 that can easily do 60+mph. It is a pretty cheap overall setup that can go extremely fast. I can run it on 2S and its pretty quick.. on 3S its very fast and on 4S its nearly un-controllable it has so much speed I also have a TC4 with the same motor/esc and it works great although it is a bit heavier (but still VERY fast). Unfortunately, these setups build up a lot of heat so I have to run multiple cooling fans on the motors and ESCs or the temps get too high for my comfort level.

Just remember, the faster you go, the more you will break stuff. These old TC3/TC4s are tough, but once you get up over 70+mph, when you hit something, lots of stuff gets broke Luckily, the chassis/parts can be found pretty cheap compared to some of the newer cars.
Old 01-30-2011, 08:45 AM
Tech Elite

Torque steer has always been an issue with the TC3 and 4. They could never seem to hold a line when going sraight. I don't know how well they do on speed runs with such low turn motors, but I know mine never tracked straight with a 17.5. I can only imagine it would exasperate the problem ten fold with an even faster motor.

I would look into getting a belt car for this kind of thing. Or better yet, a Pan car.
Old 01-30-2011, 01:55 PM
Tech Rookie

Originally Posted by Funky
on 4S its nearly un-controllable