Servo noise

Reply

Old 04-17-2011, 05:11 PM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,621
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Servo noise

Hey guys im getting a noise from my servo when its in its idle position...is this normal ? how do u fix this? servo is a futaba 3004s
theatriks is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 05:35 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (89)
 
trerc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,821
Trader Rating: 89 (100%+)
Default

Completely normal, servos are noisy.
trerc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 06:33 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,621
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

really ? its just i have the same servo in another car and its dead quite
theatriks is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 08:49 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chi-Town West Burbs
Posts: 1,523
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by theatriks View Post
Hey guys im getting a noise from my servo when its in its idle position...is this normal ? how do u fix this? servo is a futaba 3004s
The Futaba 3004 is a low power[torque] servo and it is trying to find it's center[or neutral] point. It may be that there is some binding in your linkages/steering and the servo is straining to get back to center. Good Luck.
mooby64 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 08:54 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,621
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

but there free of anything every part has space to move so its not caught up on anything?
theatriks is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 03:23 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (89)
 
trerc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,821
Trader Rating: 89 (100%+)
Default

It's a $12 servo, pretty easy to replace it if you think somethings wrong with it...
trerc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 04:45 AM
  #7  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (10)
 
seanyboyrulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sydney
Posts: 445
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by trerc View Post
It's a $12 servo, pretty easy to replace it if you think somethings wrong with it...
seanyboyrulz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 10:04 AM
  #8  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,621
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

well it works fine just wondering if theres a fix to the noise it makes in neutral or just to leave it till she blows
theatriks is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 10:15 AM
  #9  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
snoopyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tunnel Hill GA
Posts: 5,046
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

If you have another one that is silent, swap it with the one that is giving the chatter and see if the quiet one is still quiet. See if the one that talks still has something to say under no load.
snoopyrc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 10:49 AM
  #10  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,621
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Good idea thanks snoop
theatriks is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service