R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-15-2004, 09:27 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,355
Send a message via AIM to micros_rock
Where to buy: GP3300 SP2's?

Does anyone know of shops that sell the Peak/TO 3300 SP2 cells? The cells are the ones that are 1.190-1.199v. I'm looking to get some new cells. Thanks.
micros_rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2004, 10:10 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
danjoy25's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,149
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Have not heard of the cell. The voltage are to high to be true. Are they 30 amp discharge or 20 like the Integy.
__________________
Awesomatix A800 & A800X/ Mugen MTX-5 / 3 Racing F113 / Kyosho RB5 / Kyosho Mini-Z
danjoy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2004, 10:11 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,355
Send a message via AIM to micros_rock
Default

They are 30A discharge. They have them at stormerhobbies, but I need somewhere that accepts paypal.
micros_rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2004, 10:25 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
FW-05RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,384
Default

wow does are some damn good specs
FW-05RR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2004, 10:27 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Kyew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 461
Default

Racing discharge simulation at 30 amps. tha'ts how you have your 1.19+ packs.
__________________
all we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us.......
Kyew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2004, 10:29 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
SlobbaTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 423
Default

Don't get caught up in the #'s that much, some companies, basically all, use totally or just slightly different matching processes from the next company. So if they use a different type machine or methods like they don't run out for whole 5000 seconds, one company now has new cell that they just take voltage for like the first 5 minutes in the discharge and that's what gets printed on the label, lower discharge rate, or use varying discharge rate throughout the 5000 seconds is another way to inflate the numbers. Basically problem is everyone does something different, no way to compare one brand to another or who is truely right but the most accurate to real numbers is the matchers that just use a straight discharge rate and no tricks. A 1.17 3300 is a great cell, the best I've seen personally that I believe to be correct are 1.18's, I don't think there are any real 1.19's out there let alone enough to be able to sell and not to hold back for that companies team drivers. It's all just marketing trying to fool people somehting is what it isn't. The GP3300 cell is only one type of cell, if GP improves it somehow it is made available to everyone, don't believe anything about only one comany having some special cell no one else can get from GP. This is a whole sore subject for me and a pet peev of mine about how companies fudge numbers or whatnot, if you took offense to what I had to say then keep on feeling happy paying extra for a number that isn't correct.
SlobbaTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2004, 10:42 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
burbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,152
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to burbs Send a message via Yahoo to burbs
Default

the battery company i run for, has done tons of cases of gp cells... they do not fudge the numbers. they are as true as they get... my matcher has yet to see a cell over 1.189.. im talking thousands and thousands of cells done...

if they were that readily available, he would have some... but he has never seen one..... and his batteries come from the same place everyone elses do...

you have to watch out to because some companies do not use a turbo matcher.. which is the standard in the US.. integy,orion , corrally, ect ect.. use a diff machine.. if u look at the integy web site, it even says.. our machine produces turbo matcher type numbers.... anyone can put any numbers they want on a cell.... they dont even need to match them... if u have a computer u can do what u want
burbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2004, 10:58 PM   #8
Tech Champion
 
danjoy25's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,149
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Talking numbers

Burbs: I totally agree

I think I will start buying my packs from Ebay for $24.95 and is guaranteed 1.17+
__________________
Awesomatix A800 & A800X/ Mugen MTX-5 / 3 Racing F113 / Kyosho RB5 / Kyosho Mini-Z
danjoy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2004, 02:31 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
Timmy_G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 1,193
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Timmy_G
Default Re: Where to buy: GP3300 SP2's?

Quote:
Originally posted by micros_rock
Does anyone know of shops that sell the Peak/TO 3300 SP2 cells? The cells are the ones that are 1.190-1.199v. I'm looking to get some new cells. Thanks.

good luck pulling those numbers on you're own turbo35.
__________________
Losi, JR Propo ,Spektrum, Novarossi, AT Racing Fuels
Timmy_G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2004, 06:32 AM   #10
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 101
Default

The othger thing is that the SP2 sticker is thought to be just a marketing gimmic. Becuase the latest batch of GP batteries are generally higher voltage than the previous batch, some companies have decided to rebadge as a new type of cell, when in fact all it is is the previous cell with slightly better figures

Best way to buy cells is try different ones of the same spec eg team packs, worlds packs and see which are the best and then continue to buy from that matcher - dont keep swapping based on "the numbers" as you cant do it!
__________________
Sponsored by Team Wave Online
www.teamwaveonline.com
stuartb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2004, 06:49 AM   #11
Tech Regular
 
Robfo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 288
Default

After speaking to a local orion team driver (through distributer) he swears that his new SP2 team cells are amazing and that they're a new type of cell.

What annoys me is that the people he tells are going to believe him and think that orion get cells that no one else can.

The best things about the SP2's are that in my LHS the top SP2'S are 60.99 and the old SP's (ie the same cells but just from the batch before) are 30!!! for the top spec cells. Oh well its a shame that i just got some new cells from the states as i might have had some of the SP's at that price.

The SP2's had 1.195 stickers on them (what a con)
Robfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2004, 07:38 AM   #12
Tech Champion
 
John Tag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Huntersville, NC
Posts: 8,925
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

The 1.19 could be because ther using a lavco matching system and not the standard turbo matcher #s your use to seeing ,a lavco 1.19 is compared to a turbo matcher 1.17
__________________
www.express-motorsports.net for all your motor needs
Multi time National Champions,Reedy Champs,Vegas Champs,Birds, Champs,[email protected]

Team Associated-Express Motorsports-Trinity-Reflex Racing-A Main Hobbies-ProtekRC
John Tag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2004, 10:36 AM   #13
Moderator
 
MarkA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 9,006
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by John Tag
The 1.19 could be because ther using a lavco matching system and not the standard turbo matcher #s your use to seeing ,a lavco 1.19 is compared to a turbo matcher 1.17
That's true.

Peak/Orion=Lavco=inflated #'s. I've seen that an Orion 1.195 will cycle out to around a 1.174 using CE numbers. Still a good pack but don't get too excited about seeing the big number on the label.
MarkA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2004, 11:13 AM   #14
Tech Fanatic
 
Chill Will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: The Dirty South
Posts: 804
Default

I heard that the new batch of GP3300s are going to be better from a battery sponsored driver.
Chill Will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2004, 11:29 AM   #15
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,935
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MarkA
That's true.

Peak/Orion=Lavco=inflated #'s. I've seen that an Orion 1.195 will cycle out to around a 1.174 using CE numbers. Still a good pack but don't get too excited about seeing the big number on the label.
Actually Team Orion and Peak use CE equipment.

One thing that most people don't realize is that voltage enhancement processes used by different manufacturers are unique.

Unlike run time, you should expect some voltage differences from matcher to matcher.
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
( 2 ) KYOSHO 777 SP2's KING HEADZ Troy Pinkston R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 16 05-25-2007 12:49 PM
GP3300 rays_tt Australia For Sale/Trade 0 07-24-2006 06:06 AM
Gp3300 Sp Veteq Electric On-Road 2 11-24-2003 12:38 AM
1.13, 1.14, 1.15, 1.16, 1.17, ?.?? Gp3300 warlord385 Electric On-Road 60 09-08-2003 03:01 PM
Smc Gp3300 MDawson R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 05-01-2003 10:57 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:11 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net