Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Steering Trouble? >

Steering Trouble?

Steering Trouble?

Old 04-13-2011, 09:43 PM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,621
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Steering Trouble?

Ok so i got a tamiya ta-05 v2 r and my servo doesnt turn my wheels right all the way its like the servo turns all the way but the arm isnt strong enough to push it all the way . I think the ball connect is too weak, does anyone know how to correct this?
theatriks is offline  
Old 04-13-2011, 10:37 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
 
Foxxrocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sonoma County
Posts: 2,018
Default

Sounds like something is binding the steering.
Foxxrocket is offline  
Old 04-13-2011, 10:44 PM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
jjfo80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: queensland australia
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

disconnect the servo and see if you can manually move the steering by hand all the way to full travel.... start thinking logic it will come easier that way
jjfo80 is offline  
Old 04-14-2011, 03:21 AM
  #4  
Tech Elite
 
Foxxrocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sonoma County
Posts: 2,018
Default

Originally Posted by jjfo80 View Post
start thinking logic it will come easier that way
+1

A little detective work never hurt anyone.
Foxxrocket is offline  
Old 04-14-2011, 03:15 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,621
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

yes it moves by hand i already tried that the servo moves that far too its when i conecct the rod the servo pushes the rod that way but it wont move the steering all the way
theatriks is offline  
Old 04-14-2011, 03:25 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (89)
 
trerc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,821
Trader Rating: 89 (100%+)
Default

Is it hitting the caster block?
trerc is offline  
Old 04-14-2011, 03:52 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by theatriks View Post
yes it moves by hand i already tried that the servo moves that far too its when i conecct the rod the servo pushes the rod that way but it wont move the steering all the way
OK so...

Without the servo connected you can turn the steering all the way left to right. Good that means there is no binding.

Here's a question for you...with the servo and steering link connected, AND with your radio on, you cannot turn it all the way to the right, using your transmitter...??

You need to look at a few more things:

Is your linkage from the servo to the steering rack long enough?

Is the servo horn centered properly?

Are your radio end point adjustments set @ 100% both ways?

So to set this up correctly do the following:

Turn on your radio without the steering linkage connected to the servo. Adjust your radio so that your end point adjustments are at 100% and your dual rate is at 100%. Then make sure the servo saver is centered on the servo....the manual should suggest at what angle the servo saver should be. You may not be able to get in on there at the perfect angle...don't worry...you can fine tune it later. Check the measurement of the turnbuckle that connects your servo saver to the steering rack. Again the manual should suggest the proper length. Reconnect your steering and try to turn left to right with your transmitter. You should be able to have your steering knuckle touch the C hub on both the left at the right side. If you find that your servo can travel further than your steering knuckle, dial back your end point adjustments until the knuckle barely touches the C hub.

Yes that is a lot to take in...just remember one step at a time.

This is a decent video to give you some background on what I am talking about, if you are unclear with some of the terms I used:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7m2_inOw2SE
PitNamedGordie is offline  
Old 04-14-2011, 03:57 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,621
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

got it thanks guys
theatriks is offline  
Old 04-14-2011, 05:04 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (89)
 
trerc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,821
Trader Rating: 89 (100%+)
Default

Well, what was it?
trerc is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.