Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
aligning brush hoods >

aligning brush hoods

aligning brush hoods

Old 09-14-2004, 07:14 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 499
Default aligning brush hoods

is thier anyway to do this without a tool or do i need to buy the tool?
kh15 is offline  
Old 09-14-2004, 07:25 PM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (15)
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,378
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default Re: aligning brush hoods

Originally posted by kh15
is thier anyway to do this without a tool or do i need to buy the tool?
I can't do it without a properly sized tool. The tool allows me to "see" where I have both hoods equally aligned.
Still Bill is offline  
Old 09-14-2004, 07:43 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
dontfeelcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where there's smoke there's a tyre
Posts: 1,726
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

another way to do it, or some might say the proper way to do it, is to get some old brushes, file the faces flat, then put them in the motor, spin them, if the hoods are aligned properly then there should be a line in the middle of the brush, if not then you need to move that hood so that the line is in the middle of the brush
dontfeelcold is offline  
Old 09-14-2004, 07:49 PM
  #4  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (15)
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,378
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by dontfeelcold
another way to do it, or some might say the proper way to do it, is to get some old brushes, file the faces flat, then put them in the motor, spin them, if the hoods are aligned properly then there should be a line in the middle of the brush, if not then you need to move that hood so that the line is in the middle of the brush
I tried to file a set of brushes flat by hand and was unsuccessful. Seems as though you would have to have some form of very accurate brush jig to employ this concept.
Still Bill is offline  
Old 09-14-2004, 07:53 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
 
azenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 1,479
Default

could you cut the shunt off the other end (file that flat) and solder the shunt or some wire to the curved face of the brush, and use the back of the brush to do this?

I read on big jims site that the optimal hood alignment doesnt put the centre of the brush on the comm rather it should be off to a small degree to account for movement or something (cant remember but its on his site)
azenis is offline  
Old 09-14-2004, 08:08 PM
  #6  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (15)
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,378
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by azenis
could you cut the shunt off the other end (file that flat) and solder the shunt or some wire to the curved face of the brush, and use the back of the brush to do this?

I read on big jims site that the optimal hood alignment doesnt put the centre of the brush on the comm rather it should be off to a small degree to account for movement or something (cant remember but its on his site)
A creative idea; but, the shunt wire would still be inbedded within the other end. No telling the damage that would do to your comm.

You are somewhat correct about what you read on Big Jim's site. The brushes get cocked in the hoods when they are aligned straight across from each other. Therefore, you are losing a small amount of timing; unless, you cock the hoods appropriately.

I don't use an alignment tool to set the hoods straight across from each other. I use the tool to counteract lost timing from the brushes being cocked in the hoods due to the rotation of the armature's commutator against the brushes.
Still Bill is offline  
Old 09-14-2004, 08:34 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
 
azenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 1,479
Default

Makes sense to me (this is new territory for me)
azenis is offline  
Old 09-14-2004, 08:38 PM
  #8  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (15)
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,378
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by azenis
Makes sense to me (this is new territory for me)
Just so you know...All the Monster "Pro" Stocks seem to have their hoods aligned straight across from each other.

But, don't tell anyone...he, he...
Still Bill is offline  
Old 09-14-2004, 08:40 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
 
azenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 1,479
Default

Yes I noticed that too. When I got it, i pulled the brushes out to have a look at them, cos it said on the pack it was "tuned" and run in and all, so i tohught i would see what the brushes were like , and there was a small wear mark on them and it was not in the centre...
azenis is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 01:09 AM
  #10  
Tech Master
 
Speedie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,844
Default

Every monter stock pro Ive gotten has had terrible brush hood alignment out of the box. I dont use a tool to align them I simply eyeball down the sids of the brush hood on both sides till they are perfectly centered. Most people tell me that its impossible to do it that way, but it works great for me. It takes some patience but it works.
Speedie is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 02:38 AM
  #11  
DJB
Tech Regular
iTrader: (17)
 
DJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 499
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

hey guys why do racers align brush hoods anyway?? is it to get more rpm?? and whats the easiest way to do it??
DJB is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 05:34 AM
  #12  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
dontfeelcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where there's smoke there's a tyre
Posts: 1,726
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

we do it for a miniscule amount of power that will never be noticed (depending on how bad the hoods were aligned originaly)
dontfeelcold is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 05:42 AM
  #13  
Tech Master
 
azenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 1,479
Default

It would be interesting to compare dyno results between a motor out of the box and one that has had the brush hoods done
azenis is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 06:56 AM
  #14  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (15)
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,378
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by DJB
hey guys why do racers align brush hoods anyway?? is it to get more rpm?? and whats the easiest way to do it??
Try going to Big Jim's website for more info about proper brush alignment. You will find it on the web at "bigjimracing.com". Look at his tuning tips. He also has an interesting string on another website; but, I have forgotten where to look for that.

Last edited by JRX-S Bill; 09-15-2004 at 07:02 AM.
Still Bill is offline  
Old 09-15-2004, 07:10 AM
  #15  
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

BJ forum - www.rccars.com/forums
fatdoggy is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.