R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-13-2004, 09:30 PM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
Hasee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 49
Do I need to install capacitors on d6 motor?

I was wondering if i need to install the tiny capacitors that came with my gt7 on a trinity d6 7t motor.
Hasee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2004, 09:36 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dallas,Texas
Posts: 459
Default

no
mtc3od is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2004, 12:35 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
Wency_TA03R-PRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The so called planet EARTH !!!
Posts: 1,087
Exclamation

How about the schotty diode that comes with the GT7?. Does it need to be solder on the motor terminals for better motor performance?. Just asking....
Wency_TA03R-PRO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2004, 09:55 PM   #4
Tech Initiate
 
Hasee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 49
Post

schotty diode = capacitor?
Hasee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2004, 10:11 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

Hasee - No a diode is basically a electrical one-way valve that stops spikes during braking. Capacitors clean out the electrical noise created by the motor. Generally you run 3 caps(+ to -, + to can, - to can) and one schotty diode(silver strip on +). Most trinity motors come with caps pre-installed.
fatdoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2004, 10:33 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
nick51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: seattle, WA
Posts: 507
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nick51
Default

novak sells a schotty diode harness which is much better than just 1 diode, plus you dont have to change the diode from motor to motor
nick51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motor Capacitors skibum91 Electric On-Road 2 03-01-2007 10:34 AM
Motor Capacitors rcarmchl Rookie Zone 1 07-03-2006 11:19 AM
Motor Capacitors???????? rusty_dagger Rookie Zone 4 01-27-2006 02:55 PM
Capacitors and diodes how to install Snitch Electric On-Road 1 11-09-2004 06:35 PM
motor capacitors danjoy25 Australian Racing 0 07-08-2004 07:13 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:08 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net