R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-10-2011, 01:43 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
savtraxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Newcastle AUS.
Posts: 297
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to savtraxx
Default HB TC belt tensioning

how do you tension the belts on a HB TC...
__________________
petrol all the way
savtraxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 01:54 AM   #2
Tech Addict
 
rc_square24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by savtraxx View Post
how do you tension the belts on a HB TC...
There are cam rings on the front and rear bulkheads you can turn to tighten them.
rc_square24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 02:03 AM   #3
Tech Regular
 
savtraxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Newcastle AUS.
Posts: 297
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to savtraxx
Default

link to what to do? i cant even find it in the manuel i downloaded off HB.net..
__________________
petrol all the way
savtraxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 02:51 AM   #4
Tech Addict
 
rc_square24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Step 6 in your manual, when you put the two diff assemblies onto the bulkhead, you can rotate the cam ring part #61237 as they are eccentrics that tighten the belt tension.

Make sure each pair is on the same setting left and right.
rc_square24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 03:24 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
savtraxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Newcastle AUS.
Posts: 297
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to savtraxx
Default

im not sure how much slack is meant to be in an rc belt but they are way tighter now... how much is too much? hard to say over here..
but cheers!
__________________
petrol all the way
savtraxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 03:26 AM   #6
Tech Addict
 
rc_square24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

When you press on the belt, around 5mm. (For me)
rc_square24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 03:30 AM   #7
Tech Regular
 
savtraxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Newcastle AUS.
Posts: 297
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to savtraxx
Default

sounds about right , when fibres start coming through where the teeth are on the belt its ratshit right? replace it?
__________________
petrol all the way
savtraxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 04:12 AM   #8
Tech Addict
 
rc_square24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Well that depends on what you do with your car.

If you race then I would replace them. If not then just keep running them (thats if they don't make the car act / sound weird).

If they develop too much slack then it may wear other parts from drivetrain shock when power is applied. So use your judgement.
rc_square24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:01 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net