R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 09-12-2001, 07:18 PM   #1
Tech Initiate

Reverse ESC for Newbie?

I'm new to this hobby... don't have a lot of time to practice, but find when I do that I get stuck on the track alot, and need to walk out and retrieve my car. If I had an ESC with reverse, I think I could get more practice time in, since I could back out of where I'm stuck and drive away.... make sense? I know you can't use an ESC with reverse for racing... are there ESCs that allow you to disable reverse? If so, which ones should I be looking at and how much $$$ will I need to hide from my wife?
Thanks!
Rocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2001, 07:28 PM   #2
Regional Moderator

Just remember not to install diode for brake....
daniz24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2001, 07:33 PM   #3
Tech Master

Send a message via AIM to AE_Racer

well, I had a Novak Reactor and used it a while with no problems, but i've never had probs with Novak speedos..the Super Rooster i've heard is also good...
AE_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2001, 07:34 PM   #4
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)

from rcca apr 2001 issue - reversing esc guide:
futaba mc230cr ($55), mc330cr ($75)
keyence ao7rz ($140), ao7 ($120)
novak super rooster ($ 130), rooster ($80), reactor ($95)
LRP F1 pro reverse ($ 120), F1 super reverse ($95), F1 reverse ($70), Runner ($60)

it is still better to get high end forward/brake only esc's for racing because they have higher specs than top of the line reversing esc's. but if you must have reverse and you want to race, go for the high end reversing esc's with no motor limit (LRP F1 pro reverse, Novak super rooster, keyence a07rz and a07r)
marvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2001, 07:34 PM   #5
Tech Master

Send a message via AIM to AE_Racer

forgot to add, im positive both of those have reverse disable option..
AE_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote