Wiki Posts
Search

Buying Parts in Adelaide & Recommendations - Im new to all this

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2004, 12:07 PM
Tech Initiate

Arrow Buying Parts in Adelaide & Recommendations - Im new to all this

Hi All,
I would like to know where the best place in Adelaide is to buy equipment for someone like myself wanting to start out in the RC Racing.

Also what would you suggest is the best to start out with nitro or electric. Idealy would like to spend $500 but can give or take $200.

Also which racing is there more of (on-road or off-road)

Please let me know, if you have any advice as well please let me know.

Cheers, Mark
Old 09-12-2004, 01:05 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

First off- where is the closest track to you?? Where do you plan to race??

Now go there and watch them race, ask a few questions? What do the fast guys drive? What car does the shop carry alot of spares for?? What classes are available to race in??

For the most part you will get a few answers....

Off-road/dirt oval- most guys will drive a B4, T4, RC10GT, XXX, XXXT, or XXX-NT..... which are all good choices because Associated (B4,T4,GT) and Losi (XXX cars).... As for classes they will all be detrmined by chassis (buggy/truck, gas truck) and powerplant (stock/modified/brushless electric, or nitro)...occasionally they will have a beginners class that only allows for a specific slower motor so that you can learn to drive.....

On-road- gets a little trickier, but not much. For electric most guys will drive a TC3, XXX-S, Pro 4, or X-ray. All parts are readily available for each except for the X-ray at the moment, but that will be changing soon. Agian the classes are determined by chassis (electric or nitro) and the powerplant (agian stock/ modified/brushless electric) and there may also be a spec beginners class too, however sometimes this classis is also limited to a specific chassis.